L.A. Rebellion: A Cinematic Movement (KCET Artbound)
L.A. Rebellion: A Cinematic Movement (2023)
Episode 3, season 14 of the KCET series Artbound.
"Following the Watts Uprising, UCLA’s School of Theater, Film and Television enacted affirmative action policies to increase enrollment of students of color in its film program—a group historically underrepresented in the student population. The “ethno-communications” initiative to recruit students from Black, Asian, Chicano and Native American communities became a movement known as 'LA Rebellion.'"
LAist + KCET ARTBOUND Screening Series
Tuesday, October 24, 2023 7:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Film and Video Titles at the UCLA Film & Television Archive
A significant portion of the work produced by this esteemed group of filmmakers, including UCLA student films, independent shorts, theatrically-released motion pictures and television projects—as well as select interviews—is available for onsite research viewing by appointment at the Archive Research and Study Center, located in Powell Library on the UCLA campus. To arrange onsite research viewing, please contact the Archive Research and Study Center.
The UCLA Film & Television Archive is pleased to be able to make the following Project One films available as part of its ongoing “L.A. Rebellion” initiative.
A Day in the Life of Willie Faust, or Death on the Installment Plan (1972) Director: Jamaa Fanaka
Daydream Therapy (1977) Director: Bernard Nicolas
Hidden Memories (1977) Director: Jacqueline Frazier
Hour Glass (1971) Director: Haile Gerima
The Kitchen (1975) Director: Alile Sharon Larkin
Medea (1973) Director: Ben Caldwell
Rain (Nyesha) (1978) Director: Melvonna Ballenger
69 Pickup (1969) Director: Thomas Penick
Ujamii Uhuru Schule Community Freedom School (1974) Director: Don Amis
Interviews
L.A. Rebellion filmmakers and others discuss the movement in clips from a vintage UCLA student-produced television program and in other conversations in these online interviews.
Ben Caldwell on UCLA's "The View" (c. 1979)
L.A. Rebellion filmmaker Ben Caldwell is interviewed about his film, I & I: An African Allegory (1979). Excerpted from "The View," a UCLA student cable program (c. 1979).
Julie Dash on UCLA's "The View" (c. 1979)
L.A. Rebellion filmmaker Julie Dash is interviewed by Barbara McCullough about her film The Diary of an African Nun (1977). Excerpted from "The View," a UCLA student cable program.
Haile Gerima interviewed by Jan-Christopher Horak (2010)
L.A. Rebellion filmmaker Haile Gerima is interviewed by UCLA Film & Television Archive Director Jan-Christopher Horak after a screening of his film Teza (2008). Footage courtesy of the UCLA School of Theater, Film and Television.
Barbara McCullough on UCLA's "The View" (c. 1979)
L.A. Rebellion filmmaker Barbara McCullough is interviewed about her film Water Ritual #1: An Urban Rite of Purification (1979). Excerpted from "The View," a student cable program (c. 1979).
See Also!
- UCLA Film and Video CollectionsGuide to physical media and streaming media collections on the UCLA campus.
- Black Film ArchiveCurated by Maya Cade, Black Film Archive lists every Black film made between 1915 and 1979 that is currently streaming with descriptions and contextual information.
Selected Streaming Video
"[T]he chronicle of a slaughterhouse employee's daily struggles and the emotional baggage he carries home. Burnett once said of the film, '[Stan’s] real problems lie within the family, trying to make that work and be a human being. You don’t necessarily win battles; you survive.'"
UCLA students, staff, and faculty access through Kanopy. Log into the campus VPN or proxy server to view video.
"Searching for steady work, Charlie (Nate Hardman) views his chronic unemployment as a kind of spiritual trial. But selling a few catfish can’t sustain a family of five while his wife, Andais (Kaycee Moore), works to support them with dignity. Unable to face his own failures, Charlie finds solace in an affair that threatens his marriage, children, and everything he holds dear."
UCLA students, staff, and faculty access through Kanopy. Log into the campus VPN or proxy server to view video.
"This critically acclaimed drama from filmmaker Julie Dash (DAUGHTERS OF THE DUST) takes place in 1942 at a fictitious Hollywood motion picture studio. Mignon Duprée, a Black woman studio executive who appears to be white, and Ester Jeeter, an African American woman who is the singing voice for a white Hollywood star, are forced to come to grips with a society that perpetuates false images as status quo."
UCLA students, staff, and faculty access through Kanopy. Log into the campus VPN or proxy server to view video.
"At the dawn of the 20th century, a multi-generational family in the Gullah community on the Sea Islands off of South Carolina – former West African slaves who adopted many of their ancestors’ Yoruba traditions – struggle to maintain their cultural heritage and folklore while contemplating a migration to the mainland, even further from their roots."
UCLA students, staff, and faculty access through Kanopy. Log into the campus VPN or proxy server to view video.