Getting started with Journal articles
- Anatomy of a Scholarly ArticleInteractive display of the key elements of a scholarly journal article.
- Distinguish Between Popular and Scholarly Journals (from UCSC)Chart points out the distinctions between popular and scholarly periodicals.
When searching for publications in Spanish, for Central American journals, and/or publications by scholars in Central America check these databases: Redalyc, Scielo, HAPI and CAMJOL. Other databases will have materials primarily in English.
Journals
- Latino Studies
This journal explores the local, national, transnational, and hemispheric realities that influence the Latina and Latino presence in the United States. Latino Studies presents an international research agenda that builds bridges between the academic and non-academic worlds, and promotes mutual learning and collaboration among all the Latino national groups. - Journal of Latin American Cultural Studies
Journal of Latin American Cultural Studies publishes articles on Latin American culture and on theoretical and historical approaches to cultural production in Latin America, including Caribbean, Latino/a and other diasporic, trans-regional formations. - Journal of Latin American Studies (Cambridge University Press)
Journal of Latin American Studies presents recent research in the field of Latin American studies in economics, geography, politics, international relations, sociology, social anthropology, economic history and cultural history. Regular features include articles on contemporary themes, specially commissioned commentaries and an extensive section of book reviews. - Hispanic American Historical Review
This link opens in a new window
Pioneered the study of Latin American history and culture in the United States and today, stands as the most widely respected journal in the field. - Latin American Perspectives
- This link opens in a new window
Discusses and debates the political economies of capitalism, imperialism, and socialism in the Americas offering a vital multidisciplinary view. - Journal of Latino/Latin American Studies (JOLLAS)
JOLLAS is an interdisciplinary, international, and peer-reviewed online journal housed at the University of Nebraska at Omaha. The journal seeks to be reflective of the shifting demographics, geographic dispersion, and new community formations occurring among Latino populations across borders and throughout the Americas.
Databases
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes worldwide publications on literature, language, linguistics, folklore, film, television, and theater from 1923 to the present. See also the MLA Directory of Periodicals.
- Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes journal articles about Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States. Articles are drawn from more than 500 key social science and humanities journals. Produced by the UCLA Latin American Center.
- SciELO This link opens in a new windowThe objective of SciELO Social Sciences English Edition is to contribute to the promotion of international access to Latin American scientific journals in Social Sciences. Its main characteristic is to make available English full texts, at no charge to the public, in order to increase Latin America Social Sciences visibility and accessibility.
- RedALyC: Red de Revistas Cientificas de America Latina y el Caribe, Espana y Portugal This link opens in a new windowFull-text searchable electronic journal archive of social science, humanities, natural and physical science journals produced in Iberoamerica.
- Central American Journals Online (CAMJOL)This website supports the online publication of Central American journals. There are 58 journals now listed on CAMJOL.
- DialnetBibliographic citation database from the University of Rioja.