Why Dictionaries?
You want to sure you are using the correct word to express your ideas. If you are not sure, you should check the definition in a dictionary.
- Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Includes the complete text of the Oxford English Dictionary, 2nd ed. plus quarterly updates of new and revised entries. Trace the origin and history of words and their meanings in this etymological dictionary.
- Merriam Webster OnlineA commercial site that has both a dictionary and thesaurus.
Online Music Reference
Use these reference books to provide an overview of your topic, define terms, and list recommended readings. If connecting from home, make sure your computer is configured for off-campus access.
- Oxford History of Western Music This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text of Richard Taruskin's The Oxford History of Western Music with notes, bibliographies and further readings for all 69 chapters. Includes a great deal of content on classic Western dance and its relation to music, especially ballet. - Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Oxford Music Online is the access point for Grove Music Online and other Oxford music reference resources, including The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, 2nd Edition (2001), The New Grove Dictionary of Opera (1992), and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, 2nd Edition (2001) and updates.
Why Encyclopedias?
Encyclopedias are a good place to start if you need an overview of a topic you are unfamiliar with. They will often include a bibliography of sources that you can consult for more information. The links below lead you to a selection of encyclopedia titles/collections that might be relevant to your assignments. The links are to groups of titles from a single publisher--you can select those that seem appropriate to your topic.
In both of these sources, you can search for terms such as "rock music" to find overview articles or the name of a singer. You will see some of the same articles in the results lists from each search. You can also find citations to other resources that might be useful for your research.
- Gale E-Books (formerly Gale Virtual Reference Library) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Online encyclopedias, dictionaries, and specialized reference sources, primarily in the social sciences and humanities. - SAGE Knowledge This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
E-books and reference works in the social sciences. Includes scholarly monographs, reference works, handbooks, series, professional development titles, and more. Includes books published by both Sage and CQ Press. UCLA subscribes to only a small fraction of the books available, and not all content from Sage.