Zines at UCLA
- Powell Library houses a collection of Zines as one of our Community Collections. This collection is particularly focused on Los Angeles zines and zines made by UCLA affiliates, including a lot of student work. These zines can be checked out! In order to browse for these zines in the UCLA Library Catalog, search "zines" as a subject heading, then limit search results to Powell as a UCLA location.
- Zines in Library Special CollectionsThis guide compiles finding aids for the collections of historical zines as part of their Punk Archive. You can request to view these in Special Collections (in the basement of YRL)!
Zines from the UCLA Community Collections
Zine Distros/Communities/Collections
- Ace Zine Archive"This is an online space dedicated to making ace and ace-related zines more accessible."
- Back Pocket Zines"back pocket press is a zine distro and community printing press established in ypsilanti, michigan in 2013."
- Brown and Proud Press“[Brown & Proud Press is] an artist collective of people of color with the intent to heal our communities.”
- Brown Recluse Distro"Brown Recluse Zine Distro was created to support and center zines written by people of color."
- No Shame Distro"No Shame Distro was founded in 2013 by two WOC with the intention to support and highlight POC in self-publishing and art."
- POC Zine Project“POC Zine Project's mission is to makes zines by POC (People of Color) easy to find, distribute and share.”
- Queer Zine Archive Project"The mission of the Queer Zine Archive Project (QZAP) is to establish a "living history" archive of past and present queer zines and to encourage current and emerging zine publishers to continue to create.”
- Sherwood Forest Zine LibraryBased in Austin Texas. Includes a virtual zine library.
- We Make Zines"We Make Zines is an online community for zine makers and readers.”
- Barnard Zine LibraryBarnard Zine Library has thousands of zines, some of which are available digitally.
- Papercut Zine Library"Papercut Zine Library is a free, volunteer-run browsing library with a collection of 16,000+ zines & independent media."
- Small Science"A collaboration of artists, students, scientists and anyone else who is seriously curious about the sciences, the Small Science Collective produces small zines and web comics on topics from ants to galaxies"
- Indigenous Zineopedia 1.0"A collection of printable Indigenous zines for distribution."
Zines in LA
- Zines in LAPLLos Angeles Public Library has over 600 zines in their holdings at seven branch locations.
