Skip to Main Content

Resources for Artists

Instructional Media Collections and Services (UCLA Center for the Advancement of Teaching)

UCLA's central resource for the collection and maintenance of instructional media; collection of several thousand videotapes, laserdiscs, DVDs, CD-ROMs, films, and slide/tape modules as well as selected department, media labs, and study center collections

IMCS is administered by the Center for the Advancement of Teaching, and the collection is funded for instructional on-campus use. Although many holdings are also listed in the UCLA Library Catalog, researchers can search the more up to date IMCS catalog available directly from their website. Students must use these videos on site, although some will be available for streaming via course reserves.

UCLA Film & Television Archive

The UCLA Film & Television Archive holds over 350,000 motion pictures and 170,000 television programs, spanning the entire course of film and broadcasting history. The collection includes independent and studio-produced shorts and feature films, documentaries, local and network TV programming, commercials, news and public affairs broadcasts, LGBTQIA media, and 27 million feet of newsreels produced between 1919 and 1971. 

The Archive's catalog of holdings is distinct from that of the Library, and can be accessed via their homepage. Not all of the Archive's holdings are listed in the catalog, so contacting the Archive Research and Study Center directly about holdings and access is recommended.

UCLA Library

Individual libraries at UCLA hold some selectively acquired audiovisual material. These libraries include: Music, East Asian, Biomedical, Law (for Law students only), Arts, YRL, and SRLF.

Other Collections