Librarian/Curator for Slavic, Eastern European and Eurasian Studies
Box 951575
Los Angeles, CA 90095
Home
This guide serves as a portal for resources relating to Estonia, Latvia, and Lithuania. It contains links to various scholarly resources, including books from the UCLA library catalog; reference sources like online dictionaries, encyclopedias, and bibliographies; databases and indexes; e-book and journal collections; and online archives, image repositories, and maps. Please note that while some resources are freely available, others are subscription services provided by the UCLA Library, so remote access may be necessary when accessing from off-campus.
Left to Right: Traditional Lithuanian Lino Cut (via), Latvian Folk Costume (via), Estonian Folk Art Embroidery (Priit Halburg).
Call Numbers and Search Terms
Selected Call Numbers for Baltic Studies
- DK 502 - DK 505: Estonian, Latvian, Lithuanian, and general Baltic history
- PG 8000s: Lithuanian language and literature
- PG 9000s: Latvian language and literature
- PH 600s: Estonian language and literature
- M: Baltic choral music
- N-ND: Baltic art and architecture
Search Terms for Baltic Studies
- Estonian poetry
- Art - Latvia
- Latvia - Civilization
- Estonia - Social life and customs
- Baltic States - History
- Lithuanian literature
Connecting from Off-Campus: VPN and Proxy Tutorials
The Library's online subscription resources can always be accessed from computers and wireless networks on campus. However, off-campus access is restricted to current UCLA, students, faculty, and staff who have set up their computer using one of the methods below. Click on the other tabs to see how four Bruins got their computers set up and ready to go for remote access!
If you need further assistance, you can contact UCLA Digital & Technology Solutions IT Support at (310) 267-4357 or help@it.ucla.edu. They provide 24/7 phone support.
-
Virtual Private Networking (VPN)A program you can download and install, or use the built-in version on many computers or mobile devices. VPN software must be logged on manually before you access a restricted site, but works for all programs on your computer. It stays connected until you log off.
-
UCLA Online Proxy ServerA simple browser setting which will automatically divert you to a UCLA logon page when you first access a restricted site.
VPN on Mac with Natalie
"I chose VPN for my mac because I need to be able to access the full text of articles on different browsers." - Natalie, Environmental Science
VPN on Windows with Michael
"I chose VPN because I like the security it provides and the control it gives me as a user to manually enable or disable it when I'm browsing online." - Michael, Public Affairs
VPN on Chromebook with Nadia
"I chose VPN because it is really simple to use!" - Nadia, Public Affairs
Proxy on Mac with Kate
"I chose Proxy because I prefer logging in through a web browser without having to download any software on my computer." - Kate, Ethnic Studies