A-Z Databases

Find the best library databases for your research.

Loading...

Need more research help? We're here for you.

chat icon  Chat with us online

email icon  Email us your quick questions 

person icon Connect with a subject specialist

The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.

1980s Culture and Society
New
  • Requires UCLA authentication This link opens in a new window

Compiles archival collections housed across the United States, United Kingdom, Australia, and Canada. Content ranges from zines, newspapers and ephemera, to oral histories, films and photographs. Grassroots materials produced by left-wing organizations and underrepresented groups are presented alongside government records and mainstream media to showcase the key social, cultural, and political concerns of the decade.

30 Dnei Digital Archive
New
  • Requires UCLA authentication This link opens in a new window

Founded in 1925 in Moscow and in print until its closure in 1941, 30 Dnei was an illustrated Soviet literary journal featuring fiction, essays, and poetry. It was most famous for the serialized publications of such Soviet literary sensations as Il’f and Petrov’s The Twelve Chairs and The Golden Calf.

Access Case Files Collection
New
  • Requires UCLA authentication This link opens in a new window
Collection of basic science, clinical rotation, medicine, and post-graduate level cases from the McGraw-Hill Case Files series. Includes anatomy, biochemistry, microbiology, anesthesiology, surgery, critical care, etc.
Africa and the New Imperialism: European Borders on the African Continent, 1870-1914
New
  • Requires UCLA authentication This link opens in a new window
Africa and the New Imperialism documents the period of rapid colonial expansion by European powers across the African continent during the late nineteenth and early twentieth century. Includes rare printed works, diaries and journals, correspondence, maps, photographs, and film footage.
AM Research Skills
New
  • Requires UCLA authentication This link opens in a new window
Includes hundreds of videos, essays, case studies and practice sources which introduce the key methods and approaches that scholars take when working with historical material. Features the modules "Research Skills Foundations" and "Interrogating Colonial Documents and Narratives."
American Committee on Africa: Liberation Movements, Solidarity and Activism
New
Archival records of the American Committee on Africa (ACOA) from 1953 through 1981 while the committee was under the leadership of George M. Houser. Covers the organization's mission to support African liberation struggles and inform the American public about African issues.
American Indians and the American West (via History Vault)
New Trial
  • Requires UCLA authentication This link opens in a new window

Several collections focusing on the interaction between American Indians and the U.S. government in the 19th and 20th Centuries, focusing on the 19th Century Indian Removal from 1832-1840, the U.S. Army and American Indians in the years from the 1850s-1890s, including detailed coverage of Indian Wars. The featured collections on the 20th Century are Records of the Bureau of Indian Affairs and records from the Major Council Meetings of American Indian Tribes.

American Politics and Society (via History Vault)
New Trial
  • Requires UCLA authentication This link opens in a new window

A wide range of 19th and 20th century material, including immigration records, papers of major historical figures (Thomas A. Edison, Robert La Follette, Supreme Court justices), major organizations (Vietnam War, Japanese American War Relocation Authority, Students for a Democratic Society) and much more.

Amnesty International Archives: A Global Movement for Human Rights
New
  • Requires UCLA authentication This link opens in a new window
Publishes the records of Amnesty International from the second half of the twentieth century. The material contains minutes, reports, correspondence, first-hand accounts, publicity materials and circulars relating to human rights violations of all kinds in all parts of the world. Amnesty International’s remit of campaigning for an end to human rights abuses means that this archival material inherently relates to the themes of oppression, cruelty and degradation.
Apartheid South Africa, 1948-1988
New
  • Requires UCLA authentication This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive coverage of the British files on the apartheid governments of South Africa from 1948 onward. These formerly restricted documents, sourced from the UK National Archives, provide in-depth analysis of events, international reaction and policy dilemmas, and numerous first-hand accounts and reports.
Architecture Design & Practice Online
New
  • Requires UCLA authentication This link opens in a new window
Includes over 200 ebooks focusing on studio design, technical detail, and professional practice. Part of Bloomsbury Visual Arts.
Archives of Sexuality and Gender (Gale Primary Sources)
New
  • Requires UCLA authentication This link opens in a new window
Digitized primary sources on social, political, health, and legal issues concerning gender and sexuality, and impacting LGBTQ communities around the world. Includes newsletters and newspapers, government documents, manuscripts, pamphlets, and more. Contributing repositories include: Kinsey Institute, British Library, Lesbian Herstory, Canadian Lesbian and Gay Archives, National Library of Medicine, and more. UCLA provides access to Parts I and II (LGBTQ History and Culture since 1940), Part III (Sex and Sexuality, Sixteenth to Twentieth Century), Part IV (International Perspectives on LGBTQ Activism and Culture), and Part VI (Community and Identity in North America).
Art Song Transpositions
New Trial
  • Requires UCLA authentication This link opens in a new window
Art Song Transpositions provides access to over 12,000 art songs and Baroque aria pdfs. Users may find transpositions that have been professionally translated into different keys.
Artforum Archive
New
  • Requires UCLA authentication This link opens in a new window
The backfile of Artforum, a magazine for coverage of international contemporary art. Covers June 1962 to 2020. Coverage spans all forms of contemporary art, including painting, sculpture, installation, body art, video/audio art, performance art, and more.
Black South African Magazines (via Africa Commons)
New
  • Requires UCLA authentication This link opens in a new window
Black South African Magazines brings together over 50,000 pages of extremely rare, yet historically significant magazines, written and targeted specifically for Black African audiences.
Bloomsbury and Faber Screenplays and Criticism
New
  • Requires UCLA authentication This link opens in a new window
Offers searchable access to screenplays, reference works, and books on cinema, including coverage of techniques for filmmaking and screenwriting. Part of Bloomsbury Screen Studies. UCLA provides access to core content and 2019-2023 annual updates.
Bloomsbury Dress and Costume Library
New
  • Requires UCLA authentication This link opens in a new window

Online collection for the study of dress and costume history, film and theatre costume, and costume design and construction. Contains e-books, reference works, and more. Includes The Bloomsbury Encyclopedia of Film and Television Costume Design. Part of Bloomsbury Fashion Central.

Bloomsbury History: Theory & Method
New
  • Requires UCLA authentication This link opens in a new window

Bloomsbury History: Theory and Method is an educational resource dedicated to historiography and the examination of historical theory and methods using a global approach. Discover 134 exclusive articles by authors based in 25 different countries, a 4-volume major reference work on the global history of historiography and 61 eBooks.

Brepolis Cross Database Searchtool
New
  • Requires UCLA authentication This link opens in a new window

This interface allows the user to search various Brepolis Latin full-text databases simultaneously, namely the Library of Latin Texts, Monumenta Germaniae Historica, Archive of Celtic-Latin Literature and the Aristoteles Latinus Database.

British Newsreels, 1911-1930: Culture and Society on Film
New
  • Requires UCLA authentication This link opens in a new window
Supplied by the British Film Institute and Imperial War Museums, British Newsreels, 1911-1930: Culture and Society on Film showcases a large collection of newsreels produced by the Topical Film Company and provides a glimpse into the early twentieth century - from everyday interests, such as sport and fashion, to coverage of key events, such as the First World War, the Suffragette Movement, and the establishment of the Irish Free State.
Broadcasting America
New
  • Requires UCLA authentication This link opens in a new window
This resource enables research into the development of mass broadcasting through the papers of pioneer David Sarnoff. Sarnoff’s work with RCA pushed the company to become a broadcasting, home media and technological powerhouse of the twentieth century. The bulk of the material spans the 1920s to the 1970s, representing the decades of David Sarnoff’s career at RCA. Some additional content covers pre-1920s broadcasting developments, and the final years of RCA before its sale in 1986.
Brockelmann in English: The History of the Arabic Written Tradition Online
New
  • Requires UCLA authentication This link opens in a new window

An English translation of Brockelmann's famous Geschichte der Arabischen Litteratur (GAL). Brockelmann's work offers bio-bibliographic information about works written in Arabic and their authors, with an emphasis on the classical period.

Business Plans Handbook
New
  • Requires UCLA authentication This link opens in a new window
Actual business plans compiled by, and aimed at, entrepreneurs seeking funding for small businesses. Presents sample plans taken from businesses in the manufacturing, retail and service industries which serve as examples of how to approach, structure and compose business plans. Part of Gale eBooks collection. UCLA owns volume 38 (2017) through volume 56 (2023).
Central Asia, Persia and Afghanistan, 1834-1922: From Silk Road to Soviet Rule
New
  • Requires UCLA authentication This link opens in a new window
This collection of Foreign Office files explores the history of Persia (Iran), Central Asia and Afghanistan from the decline of the Silk Road in the first half of the nineteenth century to the establishment of Soviet rule over parts of the region in the early 1920s. It encompasses the era of “The Great Game” - a political and diplomatic confrontation between the Russian and British Empires for influence, territory and trade across a vast region, from the Black Sea in the west to the Pamir Mountains in the east.
China and the Modern World: Imperial China and the West
New
  • Requires UCLA authentication This link opens in a new window
A primary source archive for researching the internal politics of China and Britain and their relationship. Digitized from the British Foreign Office Files held at the UK National Archives. UCLA provides access to Part 1: 1815-1881 and Part 2: 1865-1905.
Civil Rights and the Black Freedom Struggle (via History Vault)
New Trial
  • Requires UCLA authentication This link opens in a new window

Includes NAACP Papers, federal government records, organizational records, and personal papers regarding the 20th Century Black Freedom Struggle. The collections in this category include documentation on the major events of the civil rights era, such as the Montgomery Bus Boycott, Freedom Rides, March on Washington, Civil Rights Act of 1964, the Selma to Montgomery March, and other events spanning the full 20th Century.

Colonial Caribbean: Colonial Office Files from The National Archives, UK
New
  • Requires UCLA authentication This link opens in a new window
Makes available materials from 27 Colonial Office file classes from The National Archives, UK. Covering the history of the various territories under British colonial governance from 1624 to 1870, this resource includes administrative documentation, trade and shipping records, minutes of council meetings, and details of plantation life, colonial settlement, imperial rivalries across the region, and the growing concern of absentee landlords.
Conflict in Indochina: Foreign Office Files for Vietnam, Laos and Cambodia
New
  • Requires UCLA authentication This link opens in a new window
This collection of Foreign Office Files provides a comprehensive history of key events across Vietnam, Cambodia and Laos during a period of political upheaval, civil unrest and escalating conflict. Published in two sections, Conflict in Indochina explores the rising tension across Indochina after 1959. Collection is split into two sections: Crisis and Upheaval, 1959-1964 and Escalation, Reunification and Withdrawal, 1965-1979.
Dai Kanwa Jiten 大漢和辞典
New
  • Requires UCLA authentication This link opens in a new window
Also known as The Great Chinese-Japanese Character Dictionary. The database contains over 51,000 single characters and over 376,000 searchable vocabulary terms. Covers vocabulary from every major historical period, as well as from a wide range of subjects including Buddhist scripture, medicine and pharmacognosy, law, topography, and Chinese poetry written in Japan.
Dar-Almandumah
New
  • Requires UCLA authentication This link opens in a new window

Provides access to a series of databases with full-text content of Arabic scientific conferences, dissertations, and academic journals from 1921 to present day. Includes the following: EduSearch, HumanIndex, IslamicInfo, AraBase, EcoLink, and Mandumah Dissertations.

Disabilities in Society, Seventeenth to Twentieth Century (Gale Primary Sources)
New
  • Requires UCLA authentication This link opens in a new window

Demonstrates how society has interacted with and regarded individuals considered to have disabilities historically. Materials in this collection include books, pamphlets, periodicals, and manuscripts. Note: this database contains a content advisory. 

docLogica
New
  • Requires UCLA authentication This link opens in a new window

docLogica is a comprehensive, searchable database of disease characteristics and test accuracies. Users must register an account using their UCLA email address.

Donetsk and Luhansk Newspaper Collection
New
  • Requires UCLA authentication This link opens in a new window
The Donetsk and Luhansk Newspaper Collection incorporates 10 rare newspapers from the self-proclaimed Donetsk and Luhansk (Lugansk, in local spelling) republics of Ukraine. Coverage includes the period of military hostilities between the unrecognized states and the government of Ukraine (2013-2015).
East India Company
New
  • Requires UCLA authentication This link opens in a new window
Digitized India Office Records from the British Library. Containing royal charters, correspondence, trading diaries, minutes of council meetings and reports of expeditions, among other document types, this database charts the history of British trade and rule in the Indian subcontinent and beyond from 1600 to 1947.
Encyclopedia of Critical Understanding in Education
New
  • Requires UCLA authentication This link opens in a new window
Comprising 2000 entries, Brill’s Encyclopedia of Critical Understanding in Education is a fully searchable database presenting comprehensive and accurate portraits of the various disciplines related to critical thinking and understanding in Educational Research.
Encyclopedia of Turkic Languages and Linguistics Online
New
  • Requires UCLA authentication This link opens in a new window
Provides a systematic treatment of the Turkic languages from Old Turkic to the languages and varieties spoken today. Offers information on aspects of the languages of the Turkic language family and a synthesis of the research in the field of Turkic linguistics.
Environmental History: Conservation and Public Policy in America, 1870-1980
New
  • Requires UCLA authentication This link opens in a new window
Documents the emergence of conservation and environmental public policy in North America in the modern era from 1870 to 1980. Includes the papers of conservationists such as George Bird Grinnell and Joseph Trimble Rothrock, alongside material from government agencies such as the Bureau of Land Management and the Bureau of Reclamation.
Eustathius of Thessalonica, Commentary on the Iliad
New
  • Requires UCLA authentication This link opens in a new window
This online publication offers the complete critical edition of Eustathius’ Commentary on the Iliad by Marchinus van der Valk, printed in 4 volumes by Brill (Commentarii ad Homeri Iliadem pertinentes ad fidem Codicis Laurentiani editi, 1971-1987), as well as a new critical edition of Eustathius’ Commentary on the Odyssey, edited by Eric Cullhed (University of Uppsala) and S. Douglas Olson (University of Minnesota).
Eustathius of Thessalonica, Commentary on the Odyssey
New
  • Requires UCLA authentication This link opens in a new window
This online publication offers a new text edition of the Byzantine scholar and rhetorician Eustathius of Thessalonica’s Commentary on the Odyssey, composed during the latter half of the twelfth century CE.The Commentary collects material from a wide range of different sources which explain or expand on words, phrases and ideas in the Homeric epic.
French Revolutionary Opinions Online
New
  • Requires UCLA authentication This link opens in a new window
The French Revolutionary Opinions Online collection presents the entire corpus of all public interventions by representatives in the National Convention during the trial of King Louis XVI from November 1792 to January 1793. A six-volume compilation of speeches and interventions during the trial constitutes the nucleus of the collection.
Gazetteer of the Persian Gulf, Oman and Central Arabia Online
New
  • Requires UCLA authentication This link opens in a new window
The Gazetteer of the Persian Gulf, Oman and Central Arabia is one of the most important European primary sources for the study of the modern Gulf region from the 17th to the early 20th century. The Gazetteer offers the fullest account of the state of knowledge of the region in the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries, and as such is both an unique and important tool for researchers.
Global Think Tanks (via Policy Commons)
New
  • Requires UCLA authentication This link opens in a new window
A collection of objective, fact-based research from the world’s leading policy experts, think tanks, IGOs and NGOs: policy reports, briefs, analyses, working papers, and datasets.
Harimaze Nenpu: A Chronicle of His Life in Clippings
New
  • Requires UCLA authentication This link opens in a new window
The "Harimaze Nenpu" is a scrapbook containing a vast number of materials collected, organized, and preserved by Edogawa Rampo. The database contains more than 2,600 original documents, including Rampo's own notes, diaries, manuscripts, letters from writers and publishers, movie and theater pamphlets, press sheets, and clippings from domestic and foreign newspapers and magazines, all of which are attached to the pages with Rampo's comments.
Herald of Asia
New
  • Requires UCLA authentication This link opens in a new window
Published from 1916 to 1938 during the Taisho era, "The Herald of Asia" was a weekly publication that featured geopolitical, diplomatic, and financial news, contributions by prominent political and business figures, etc. Digitized by Japan Times.
Hindi Cinema: Histories of Film-making
New
Features interviews with leading Indian film personalities who contributed to the shaping of the ‘Golden Age’ of Hindi cinema and beyond. Includes supplemental photographs and movie posters. Focuses on Hindi cinema, the industry producing Hindi/Urdu language films popularly known as ‘Bollywood’.
History Vault
New Trial
  • Requires UCLA authentication This link opens in a new window

UC-wide trial to selected History Vault modules, including content derived from primary source digitized microfilm that is cross-searchable. Modules include Civil Rights and the Black Freedom Struggle; Southern Life, Slavery, and the Civil War; American Indians and the American West; American Politics and Society; International Relations and Military Conflicts; Women's Studies; Workers, Labor Unions, and Radicals; Latinx History; Revolutionary War and Early America. Alternative older interface portal for History Vault also available through 1/8/2025.

Indigenous Peoples of North America (Gale Primary Sources)
New
  • Requires UCLA authentication This link opens in a new window
Cross-searches collections from the U.S. and Canada, including manuscripts, book collections, newspapers from various tribe and Indian-related organizations, materials such as Bibles, dictionaries and primers in Indigenous languages. Covers 17th-20th centuries. UCLA provides access to Indigenous Peoples of North America, Part I and Indigenous Peoples of North America, Part II: The Indian Rights Association, 1882-1986.
Integrum Profi Central Press
New
  • Requires UCLA authentication This link opens in a new window
INTEGRUM™ Profi is the largest archive of mass-media sources from Russia and countries of the former Soviet Union with analytical tools. The archive contains Moscow and Russian regional newspapers and magazines, on-line, TV and radio sources as well as media sources from the CIS and some other countries with the archive of some of them back to the late 1980s - early 1990s.
TO ACCESS: Click the link, select interface (English interface windows-1251 encoding is selected by default), and click the grey "Enter (no registration)" button.
International Relations and Military Conflicts (via History Vault)
New Trial
  • Requires UCLA authentication This link opens in a new window

A detailed view of U.S. foreign relations during the period from the years immediately before the outbreak of World War I through the end of the Vietnam War.

Japan Chronicle Online
New
  • Requires UCLA authentication This link opens in a new window
Provides online access to the English-language newspaper Japan Chronicle Weekly (1900–1940). This collection also includes access to the Kobe Weekly Chronicle (1900-1901).
KinoDen
New
  • Requires UCLA authentication This link opens in a new window
KinoDen is an academic Japanese eBook service provided by Kinokuniya. The service offers high usability via its easy-reading viewer, preview function, and a full-text search function that covers even unpurchased eBooks. KinoDen offers a wide range of academic eBooks, including popular Japanese language education titles. Compatible with eBook reader app “bREADER Cloud Reader”.
Library of Latin Texts
New
  • Requires UCLA authentication This link opens in a new window
The LLT is the world’s leading database for Latin texts, offering texts from the beginnings of Latin literature down to the present day. The present version of the LLT contains more than 143 million words, drawn from 5,442 works and 5,084 diplomatic charters; 4,275 works are attributed to 1,316 authors; 1,167 figure under their titles 4,281 works are taken from the LLT-A, 1,161 works and the 5,804 charters from the LLT-B.
Mail on Sunday Historical Archive, 1982-2011
New
  • Requires UCLA authentication This link opens in a new window
The digitized editions of this Sunday paper offer analysis and commentary on politics and foreign affairs, popular culture, financial and business news, entertainment and sport, and represent a key part of the British media.
Market Share Reporter
New
  • Requires UCLA authentication This link opens in a new window
Provides compilations of reported market share data for companies, products, and services for the U.S. and international markets. Each of more than 3,600 entries per volume provides a descriptive title; data and market description; both SIC and NAICS industry code classification numbers; a list of producers/products along with their market share; citation of the original source(s); and more. Part of the Gale Directory Library. Access is for the 33rd edition (2023) and the 27th edition (2017).
Mexico in History: Colonialism to Revolution
New
Explores over four centuries of Mexico's history from c.1500 to 1929, covering a vast range of Mexican history from Spanish colonization and the formation of New Spain through the Mexican War of Independence to the Mexican Revolution. The predominantly Spanish-language material is a combination of print, manuscript and photographic collections sourced from The Bancroft Library at the University of California, Berkeley.
Mindscape Commons
New
  • Requires UCLA authentication This link opens in a new window
Mindscape Commons is the world’s first online resource for immersive and interactive content in mental health. It presents and documents nearly 200 VR experiences, as well as some serious games and apps, for teaching and research in counseling, social work, psychology, health sciences, and related programs.
Morgan & Claypool Publishers Synthesis Series
New
  • Requires UCLA authentication This link opens in a new window
The M&C Synthesis Series is a collection of lectures available online, including an electronic book format that synthesizes an important research or development topic, authored by a prominent contributor to the field.
Music Online: The Qwest TV Collection, Volume I
New
  • Requires UCLA authentication This link opens in a new window
Offers live music performances, covering the evolution of jazz and beyond - representing funk, soul, hip-hop, folk, indie, electronic, blues, and other world genres.
Muslims in Russia Online
New
  • Requires UCLA authentication This link opens in a new window
Collection that documents the Russian Muslim population from the period 1861-1918. It presents works written by and about Muslims, gathered from various libraries in Russia.
Neighborhood Change Database
New
  • Requires UCLA authentication This link opens in a new window
Neighborhood Change Database (NCDB) gives users instant access to US Census data from 1970, 1980, 1990, 2000, and 2010 at the census tract level. The NCDB contains 1970, 1980, 1990, and 2000 Long Form data and the 2010 Summary File 1 and 2010 American Community Survey (ACS) data with details such as: population, household, and housing characteristics, income, poverty status, education level, employment, housing costs, immigration, and other variables.

A user guide can be found here.
Nishō Gakusha Daigaku shozō, Yokomizo Seishi kyūzō shiryō
New
  • Requires UCLA authentication This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive database of material concerning Seishi Yokomizo (1902-1981), one of Japan's leading postwar mystery novelists, including writing in his own hand. Offers access across a huge collection held by Nishogakusha University comprising manuscripts, drafts, writing notes, memos, scenarios for books made into films, cuttings from books and magazines with corrections by Yokomizo, and more.
nkoda
New
  • Requires UCLA authentication This link opens in a new window
The world’s largest digital library of sheet music, with over 30 million pages of music ready to view, annotate and share. Search content, browse curated playlists and discover new music using unique smart technology. New individual users will need to create an account with nkoda to access content and features.
Noor Digital Library
New
  • Requires UCLA authentication This link opens in a new window
Noor Digital Library is a website affiliated to Computer Research Center of Islamic Sciences. It identifies and offers digital books of humanities and Islamic knowledge, with access to scientific texts and resources.
NoorMags
New
  • Requires UCLA authentication This link opens in a new window
Noor Specialized Magazines Website is among a series of websites launched by Computer Research Center of Islamic Sciences. It is intended to identify and electronically publish specialized journals on Islamic sciences and the humanities.
North American City Reports (via Policy Commons)
New
  • Requires UCLA authentication This link opens in a new window
Full text of surveys, budgets, statistical records, case studies, planning documents, training manuals, policy guidelines, reports, and news from the five hundred largest cities in North America. It also includes select materials from hundreds of related agencies and non-governmental organizations.
OnArchitecture
New
  • Requires UCLA authentication This link opens in a new window

OnArchitecture is an online library of architecture-related videos. OnArchitecture features streaming interviews with contemporary architects from around the world. The site also features video tours of important contemporary projects by many of the interview subjects.

OpenEdition Journals
New
  • Requires UCLA authentication This link opens in a new window
OpenEdition Journals is a journals platform for the humanities and social sciences. Founded in 1999 under the name Revues.org, it is now home to more than 500 online publications. Of our 200,000 articles, 95% are available in full-text access.
Oxford Bibliographies Online
New
  • Requires UCLA authentication This link opens in a new window
Annotated bibliographies for topics in multiple disciplines of the arts, humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Combines encyclopedia-style introductions with expert recommendations of the most important reference works, books, journals, and primary sources on the topic. The UC system subscribes to 29 subject area modules from Oxford Bibliographies.
Policy Commons
New
  • Requires UCLA authentication This link opens in a new window
Policy Commons is a one-stop community platform for research and grey literature from the policy experts, nonpartisan think tanks, IGOs, and NGOs. It covers many disciplines—agriculture, energy, pharmaceuticals, diversity, crime, history, area studies, economics, sociology, political science, health, climate, diversity, sustainable development, and more.
Power to the People: Counterculture, Social Movements, and the Alternative Press, Nineteenth to Twenty-first Century
New
  • Requires UCLA authentication This link opens in a new window
Showcases a range of ideas, initiatives, and social movements devoted to people-powered politics and organizing from the nineteenth through twenty-first centuries with subjects such as the civil rights movement, the 1960s counterculture movement, and other social movements in U.S. history. Paints a broad picture of the counterculture and many disparate organizations that represent this moment in modern Western history.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Korea Times
New
  • Requires UCLA authentication This link opens in a new window

Full page and article images with searchable full text from November 1950 to 2016.

Queen Victoria's Journals‎
New
  • Requires UCLA authentication This link opens in a new window
This resource reproduces as high-resolution color images every page of the surviving volumes of Queen Victoria's journals, along with separate photographs of the many illustrations and inserts within the pages. In addition, each page has been transcribed and re-keyed, allowing the journals to be searched.
Rav Milim
New
  • Requires UCLA authentication This link opens in a new window
The Rav Milim online dictionary includes 70,000 main entries covering all strata and styles of the Hebrew language, each with all of its inflectional forms, with clear explanations, sources and usage examples.
Sheng-ching Shih-pao 盛京時報 1906-1944
New
  • Requires UCLA authentication This link opens in a new window
Sheng-ching Shih-pao was a leading Japanese-owned Chinese newspaper. CNBKSY has digitized 105,000 pages of Sheng-ching Shih-pao, covering all pages from the first to final issue.
Small Business Sourcebook: The Entrepreneur's Resource
New
  • Requires UCLA authentication This link opens in a new window
Designed to facilitate the start-up, development, and growth of specific small businesses, as well as similar listings for general small business topics. Entries are provided on a state-by-state basis; also included are relevant U.S. federal government agencies and branch offices. The library currently owns the 40th edition (2023).
Sources Chrétiennes Online
New
  • Requires UCLA authentication This link opens in a new window
“Sources Chrétiennes Online” forms the digital, searchable counterpart to the well-known “Sources Chrétiennes” series, based in Lyon and published by Éditions du Cerf, Paris. By 2025, the database will incorporate the source texts from the more than 600 printed volumes, in Latin, Greek, Syriac, Armenian and Georgian, sided by French translations and allowing for targeted and filtered searches.
Southern Life, Slavery, and the Civil War (via History Vault)
New Trial
  • Requires UCLA authentication This link opens in a new window

Consists of nine modules: Slavery and the Law; Slavery in Antebellum Southern Industries; records focused on the Slave trade and other legal issues pertaining to slavery; four modules of Southern Life and African American History, 1775-1915, Plantation Records; a module on the Civil War entitled "Confederate Military Manuscripts and Records of Union Generals and the Union Army"; and Reconstruction and Military Government after the Civil War. Slavery and the Law features petitions on race, slavery, and free blacks that were submitted to state legislatures and county courthouses between 1775 and 1867.

The China Times 時事新報 1911-1949
New
  • Requires UCLA authentication This link opens in a new window
CNBKSY has digitized 147,000 pages of The China Times, from its beginning to its final issue.
The National Herald 神州日報 1907-1946
New
  • Requires UCLA authentication This link opens in a new window
The National Herald was the first large-scale daily newspaper founded by the revolutionaries of the late Qing Dynasty. CNBKSY has digitized over 63,000 pages of The National Herald.
The Olympic Movement: Sport, Global Politics and Identity
New
A collection covering the origins, expansion, and growth of the Olympic Games, and the global history of sport. Includes a range of sources including correspondence, official reports, newsletters, and film footage. Documents the history of sport and its relationships with culture, society, business, media, and politics between the 1890s and 1990s.
The Transformation of Shopping: Department Stores, Social Change and Consumerism, 1830-1994
New
Explores the daily lives of workers and consumers, offering a social and cultural history of department stores during a period in which they were adapting to evolving consumer needs, workers’ rights, and societal shifts, with a focus on life on the shop floor. Sources include company archives, trade journals, and union records.
Trade in Early Modern London: Livery Company Records, 1450-1750
New
Collection of documents from six of London’s principal livery companies, spanning the years 1450 to 1750. The records provide insights into life in early modern London, covering a broad variety of themes as well as reactions to key historical events such as the Reformation, the English Civil War, the Great Plague, and the Great Fire of London.
U.S. Intelligence on Asia, 1945-1991
New
  • Requires UCLA authentication This link opens in a new window
Provides declassified documents from the U.S. intelligence community in Asia during the Cold War (1945-1991).
Women's Studies (via History Vault)
New Trial
  • Requires UCLA authentication This link opens in a new window

Records of suffrage organizations and other women's rights organizations; personal papers of women's rights advocates, many of whom were involved in the suffrage movement; and records on women at work during World War II. There are five modules in this category. The largest module in this category consists of the records of the National Woman's Party, League of Women Voters, and the Women's Action Alliance.

Women’s Voices and Life Writing, 1600-1968
New
Contains collections from archives across the UK and Ireland for the study of the lives and experiences of lesser-known women in their own words. Spanning a date range of 1600-1968, the resource offers avenues to explore the differing conditions in which women have lived in the UK and Ireland during the last four centuries, from experiences of wartime, witch trials, suffrage and feminist movements, to the everyday lives lived.
Workers, Labor Unions, Progressives, and Radicals (via History Vault)
New Trial
  • Requires UCLA authentication This link opens in a new window

Focus on workers and the American labor movement since the Civil War. Workers, Labor Unions, and the American Left in the 20th Century consists of federal government records and has strong coverage of strikes and radical labor unions in the first half of the 20th Century. Labor Unions in the U.S., 1862-1974: Knights of Labor, AFL, CIO, and AFL-CIO, consists of records sourced from the Wisconsin Historical Society, Catholic University of America, and the AFL-CIO.

World Cities (via Policy Commons)
New
  • Requires UCLA authentication This link opens in a new window
World Cities preserves the full text of surveys, budgets, statistical records, case studies, planning documents, training manuals, policy guidelines, reports, and news from the world’s top 100 cities by population, capital cities with populations greater than 20,000 people, major cities in the Global South and cities with particular research importance.
World Governments (via Policy Commons)
New
  • Requires UCLA authentication This link opens in a new window
Over 4 million essential research documents from national, provincial, and state governments around the world, enriched and integrated on a single platform. Includes policy documents, government research centers, parliamentary debates and proceedings, and more.
Zhenben Full Text Discovery
New
  • Requires UCLA authentication This link opens in a new window
Indexes Chinese public documents and digitized collections developed by higher education and research institutions, with links to the freely available full-text materials on third party websites. Included are government documents published by Chinese central government and ministries, Chinese rare books from China Academic Digital Associative Library, Si ku quan shu from Japan Kanseki Repository, Overseas Chinese Archives digitized by the State Library New South Wales, historical newspapers from East View Global Press Archive, and digitized maps from the Hong Kong University of Science and Technology.
title
Loading...