A-Z Databases

Includes NAACP Papers, federal government records, organizational records, and personal papers regarding the 20th Century Black Freedom Struggle. The collections in this category include documentation on the major events of the civil rights era, such as the Montgomery Bus Boycott, Freedom Rides, March on Washington, Civil Rights Act of 1964, the Selma to Montgomery March, and other events spanning the full 20th Century.

Features interviews with leading Indian film personalities who contributed to the shaping of the ‘Golden Age’ of Hindi cinema and beyond. Includes supplemental photographs and movie posters. Focuses on Hindi cinema, the industry producing Hindi/Urdu language films popularly known as ‘Bollywood’.

UC-wide trial to selected History Vault modules, including content derived from primary source digitized microfilm that is cross-searchable. Modules include Civil Rights and the Black Freedom Struggle; Southern Life, Slavery, and the Civil War; American Indians and the American West; American Politics and Society; International Relations and Military Conflicts; Women's Studies; Workers, Labor Unions, and Radicals; Latinx History; Revolutionary War and Early America. 

A detailed view of U.S. foreign relations during the period from the years immediately before the outbreak of World War I through the end of the Vietnam War.

Explores over four centuries of Mexico's history from c.1500 to 1929, covering a vast range of Mexican history from Spanish colonization and the formation of New Spain through the Mexican War of Independence to the Mexican Revolution. The predominantly Spanish-language material is a combination of print, manuscript and photographic collections sourced from The Bancroft Library at the University of California, Berkeley.

Consists of nine modules: Slavery and the Law; Slavery in Antebellum Southern Industries; records focused on the Slave trade and other legal issues pertaining to slavery; four modules of Southern Life and African American History, 1775-1915, Plantation Records; a module on the Civil War entitled "Confederate Military Manuscripts and Records of Union Generals and the Union Army"; and Reconstruction and Military Government after the Civil War. Slavery and the Law features petitions on race, slavery, and free blacks that were submitted to state legislatures and county courthouses between 1775 and 1867.

A collection covering the origins, expansion, and growth of the Olympic Games, and the global history of sport. Includes a range of sources including correspondence, official reports, newsletters, and film footage. Documents the history of sport and its relationships with culture, society, business, media, and politics between the 1890s and 1990s.

Explores the daily lives of workers and consumers, offering a social and cultural history of department stores during a period in which they were adapting to evolving consumer needs, workers’ rights, and societal shifts, with a focus on life on the shop floor. Sources include company archives, trade journals, and union records.

Collection of documents from six of London’s principal livery companies, spanning the years 1450 to 1750. The records provide insights into life in early modern London, covering a broad variety of themes as well as reactions to key historical events such as the Reformation, the English Civil War, the Great Plague, and the Great Fire of London.

Records of suffrage organizations and other women's rights organizations; personal papers of women's rights advocates, many of whom were involved in the suffrage movement; and records on women at work during World War II. There are five modules in this category. The largest module in this category consists of the records of the National Woman's Party, League of Women Voters, and the Women's Action Alliance.

Contains collections from archives across the UK and Ireland for the study of the lives and experiences of lesser-known women in their own words. Spanning a date range of 1600-1968, the resource offers avenues to explore the differing conditions in which women have lived in the UK and Ireland during the last four centuries, from experiences of wartime, witch trials, suffrage and feminist movements, to the everyday lives lived.

Focus on workers and the American labor movement since the Civil War. Workers, Labor Unions, and the American Left in the 20th Century consists of federal government records and has strong coverage of strikes and radical labor unions in the first half of the 20th Century. Labor Unions in the U.S., 1862-1974: Knights of Labor, AFL, CIO, and AFL-CIO, consists of records sourced from the Wisconsin Historical Society, Catholic University of America, and the AFL-CIO.