Asian American and Pacific Islander (AAPI) Film and Television

Housed at the UCLA Film & Television Archive, includes archival masters and invaluable extended interviews and production outtakes from the award-winning independent filmmaker's landmark documentaries Forbidden City, USA (1989), Coming Out Under Fire (1994), Hollywood Chinese (2007) and many others.

"Since 1993, the Archive has housed close to twenty items related to James Wong Howe donated by his family, including several 35mm and 16mm prints of his home movies, interview recordings, and a 16mm short he directed, “Dong Kingman” (1953)."

"The unique films in this collection, shot by Japanese American amateur filmmakers, date from the 1920s to the 1960s. These home movies capture a wide variety of subjects, including family celebrations, cultural events, people at work, leisure activities, and vacations. The collection also contains rare footage of United States World War II internment camps filmed by Japanese Americans who were incarcerated in the camps."

The UCLA Film & Television Archive seeks to preserve and restore unique films produced by the Vietnamese production company, My Van, from 1925-1975.

"This collection consists of film scripts that closely follow the depiction of Asian characters in Hollywood film history. It includes drafts, revisions, and final shooting scripts of film screenplays dating from 1929-2003. The scripts illustrate portrayals of Asians by Caucasian actors, as well as Asian American actors."