- Academic Search Complete
Designed specifically for academic institutions, this is the world's most comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database. The database includes many articles on South Asia and on Asia in general.
- Bibliography of Asian Studies
Includes citations to Western-language periodical articles, monographs, chapters in edited volumes, conference proceedings, anthologies, Festschriften, and so on, from 1971 to the present. Monographs are included up to 1991. Search tips: In many cases, you may want to browse the subject classification or use Browse BAS by country-subject. To locate monographs published after 1991, consult WorldCat (see link below).
Includes some peer-reviewed journals, discussions, book reviews, etc. The resources emphasizes South Asia and India. To access the material, you will need to register, but the registration is free.
A particularly strong reference in the humanities. Many entries are in French.
- Gale Virtual Reference Library
Provides access to online encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other specialized reference sources.
- Historical Abstracts
Covers topics in the history of the world, excluding the United States and Canada, from 1450 to the present. (Access provided to 6 simultaneous users at a time.)
- IBZ (Internationale Bibliographie der Zeitschriftenliteratur = International Bibliography of Periodical Literature)
A German index that includes European publications on South Asia.
- MLA International Bibliography
Provides sources on literature, language, linguistics and folklore, from the 1920s to the present.
- Official Publications of India
Government documents relating to pre- and post-independence South Asia, from two major collections within the British Library--the Oriental and India Office Collections and the Official Publications Section of the former British Museum.
- Oxford Reference Online
A multi-part database of the online versions of Oxford University Press texts. Each topical division contains the searchable version of the latest edition of published dictionaries and encyclopedias.
- Reference Universe
Indexes the entries for thousands of print and electronic reference books.
- Sards 3
Contains bibliographic references to South Asia research articles published in journals, collective volumes, conference proceedings, Festschriften, and so forth.
- South Asia Union Catalogue (SAUC)
The SAUC aims to develop an historical bibliography of materials printed in South Asia from 1556 to the present. In addition, it will serve as a union catalogue, in which libraries throughout the world that own copies of South Asian imprints will register their holdings.
- South Asian American Digital Archive (SAADA)
Provides access to stories of South Asian Americans reflecting the range of experiences of the South Asian diaspora in the United States, including those who trace their heritage to Bangladesh, India, Nepal, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, and the many South Asian diaspora communities across the globe.
WorldCat enables you to search the Online Catalog of the Library of Congress for books, web resources, and other material worldwide. Includes citations for books, journals, manuscripts, maps, music scores, sound recordings, films, computer files, newspapers, slides, videotapes, etc., in a variety of languages.