Skip to main content

Choosing and Using Library Databases

UC-eLinks

is your friend! This gold button will help you get the article. Here's what it will do:

  • Try to find the article online. If that doesn't work it will...
  • Provide you with a link to automatically search the UCLA Library Catalog for print copies. And if that doesn't work it will...
  • Provide you with a link to the interlibrary loan form, where you can request a copy from another library.

If the database you're using doesn't have UC-eLinks buttons, you can copy and paste the info into UC-eLinks Citation Linker.

About Interlibrary Loan

You don't need to know what library has the item you're looking for. The system will find a library for you and send a request for them to scan the article and e-mail it to you. It usually takes less than a week, sometimes less than a day. And it's free!

Print, Email, or Download Your Results

Most databases offer the option of printing, downloading, or emailing your results.

  • Select items of interest by checking the boxes next to the citations.
  • Once you have selected all your items, click on the print, email, or download option and follow the on-screen directions.

A few databases require you to first save items to a folder or bookbag. Then you can print or email the folder/bookbag's content.

Citation Management Software

If you're using a program like Endnote or Zotero to manage your citations, many databases allow you to export directly into your citation lists.

Notification Services

For long-term research, most databases have notification services that will automatically alert you (by e-mail or a custom rss feed) when a new article or book is added to the database which fits your chosen search criteria.

Notifications services provide an excellent method of keeping up-to-date with new publications in a field, by an author, or in a journal title.

Check the Help menu of a database to find out if it offers a notification system and, if so, how to use it.