Skip to main content

Anthropology and Archaeology

General Online Reference Sources

What Are Reference Sources?

Reference sources are authoritative works that you can refer to for quick information. They may contain specific information or introductory articles. Types of reference sources include encyclopedias, dictionaries, almanacs, handbooks, atlases, bibliographies, and so on.

On this page, I have included anthropological encyclopedias, dictionaries, and handbooks. I have also included some resources for doing fieldwork, since fieldwork is an essential part of anthropological research.

Use these electronic reference resources to provide an overview of your topic. If connecting from home, make sure your computer is configured for off-campus access.

Encyclopedias

Unless otherwise stated, these selected general anthropology encyclopedias are available in print only. Click on the title to get to the catalog record. To find more encyclopedias, search for "anthropology encyclopedia?" as keyword in the UCLA Library catalog.

To find more archaeology encyclopedias, search for "archaeology encyclopedia?" or "prehistoric encyclopedia?" as keyword in the UCLA Library catalog.

To find more linguistics encyclopedias, search for "linguistics encyclopedia?" or "languages encyclopedia?" as keyword in the UCLA Library catalog.

To find more socio-cultural anthropology encyclopedias, search for "ethnology encyclopedia?," "culture encyclopedia?," or "ethnography encyclopedia?" as keyword in the UCLA Library catalog.

Loading

Dictionaries

Unless otherwise stated, these selected anthropological and archaeological dictionaries are available in print only. Click on the title to get to the catalog record. To find more topical dictionaries, search for "anthropology dictionaries," "archaeology dictionaries," or "ethnology dictionaries" as subject list in the UCLA Library catalog.

Handbooks

Recommend a Reference Resource

Is there a reference resource that you think the library should have?  You can recommend a book purchase here or make a comment below.