Data Set and Repository Lists
The following sites provide lists of data sets and data repositories, compiled by trusted psychological authorities.
- APA Links to Data SetsA list of publicly available data sets and repositories compiled by the American Psychological Association.
- The Kinsey Institute - Data ArchivesData archive sources primarily related to human sexuality, compiled by the Kinsey Institute at Indiana University Bloomington.
- re3data.orgGlobal registry of research data repositories that covers repositories from different academic disciplines.
Other Data Repositories and Resources
- Data.World — PsychologyData sets tagged "Psychology" on data.world, an open platform for sharing and finding data sets. See also their collection of datasets tagged "education."
Sources for Psychological Datasets
These repositories and archives house data sets that are available for scholarly use. Be sure to thoroughly read the terms of use to ensure that you are using the data within the guidelines stipulated by the data creator or repository.
- Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
ICPSR offers more than 500,000 digital files containing social science research data. Disciplines represented include political science, sociology, demography, economics, history, gerontology, criminal justice, public health, foreign policy, terrorism, health and medical care, early education, education, racial and ethnic minorities, psychology, law, substance abuse and mental health, and more. For assistance with ICPSR data, please contact the Social Science Data Archive.
- Substance Abuse and Mental Health Data ArchiveThe Substance Abuse and Mental Health Data Archive (SAMHDA) provides public use data files and documentation related to collection, analysis, and dissemination of behavioral health data. Data sets can be downloaded in variety of formats, including SAS, SPSS, Stata, etc.
- National Archive of Criminal Justice DataThe mission of the National Archive of Criminal Justice Data (NACJD) is to facilitate research in criminal justice and criminology, through the preservation, enhancement, and sharing of computerized data resources; through the production of original research based on archived data; and through specialized training workshops in quantitative analysis of crime and justice data.
- Odum Institute DataverseThe Odum Institute provides services for researchers in managing, archiving and preserving social science data. The Institute houses one of the oldest and largest catalogs of machine readable data in the United States. Data sets are searchable and browsable.
- Data Archiving and Networked ServicesThe collection includes datasets from the Humanities, e.g. History and Archaeology, Social sciences, and Geospatial sciences, primarily with a European focus. DANS is an institute of the Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences (KNAW) and the Netherlands Organisation for Scientific Research (NWO).
- Child Care and Early Education Research ConnectionsResearch Connections offers public access to child care and early education research data, some of which have never before been publicly available. Researchers can download analysis-ready data directly to their desktop or analyze selected data online free of charge. Data training workshops and an archive for research projects serve the entire field.
- Neuroscience Information FrameworkThe Neuroscience Information Framework is a dynamic inventory of Web-based neuroscience resources: data, materials, and tools accessible via any computer connected to the Internet. Access datasets via the NIF Navigator at the right side of the page.
- Roper Center Public Opinion Archives (with iPOLL) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Roper Center for Public Opinion Research is one of the world's leading archives of social science data, specializing in data from surveys of public opinion. The data range from the 1930s, when survey research was in its infancy, to the present. On the Roper iPOLL page, you can search with keywords or filter by country, organization, etc.
- UK Data ArchiveUK Data Archive acquires, curates and provides access to the UK's largest collection of social and economic data.