Skip to Main Content

A-Z Database Management Guide

List of Titles Not to be imported from Serial Solutions

Subject Guide

Librarian

Profile Photo
Miki Goral
Contact:
220 Powell Library
310-825-5096

Librarian

Profile Photo
Courtney Hoffner
Contact:
Strategic Communications and Marketing
Website

Librarian

Profile Photo
Diana King
she/her

Head of Search & Usability

Documents

Log of Work/Decisions so Far

  • 5/7 - Stick with definitions developed by Discovery Team (linked above)
  • 5/7 - First pass through list, deletion only, using Google doc (linked above) as a guide.
    • Discovered that Disco review was incomplete, only finished A-L, parts of S and W.
  • 5/19 - First part of first pass complete, now need to apply same criteria to remainder of list.
  • 8/14 - Second pass by individuals complete, now need to meet as a group to decide issues and develop policies for the many problematic titles. Mostly a matter of level of description. When is a database a database, and when is it part of a larger database? When do individual journal or reference titles constitute a database?
  • 8/21 - Create publisher-level records for: NewsBank, EBSCOhost, Proquest, Alexander Street Press, Adam Matthew, + more TBD
  • 8/21 - When title includes Initialism, include full form of name in database description, either public or hidden (though preferably public).
  • 8/21 - When the title includes ordinal numbers, use whichever form is used on the site but include the alternative (numerals or spelled out) in the hidden div. Ordinal numbers in the description should be numerals to save space. (Style note: Ordinals take no hyphen when directly modifying a noun: "the 20th century". But they do when producing a compound adjective: "20th-century literature".)
  • 11/3 - Updated working document with current database list from both Intota and A-Z.

Workflow Scenarios

  • DB = database
  • AZ = LibGuides A-Z List
  • KB = Intota (formerly Serials Solution) Knowledge Base
Task Workflow Examples
Someone wants to change a DB description
  • Edit AZ
  
Existing DB has title or URL change
  • Edit Intota
  • Import record to overwrite AZ info, or edit AZ manually
  
New DB subscription
  • Add/track record in Intota
  • Import new asset to AZ
  • Write new description in AZ
  
Existing DB has platform change (with a new record in KB)
  • Track new record in Intota
  • Untrack old record in Intota
  1. Import new asset to AZ, re-map guides from old asset to new (*vaporware feature), delete old asset
  2. Import new asset to AZ, individually create new mappings in all affected guides, delete old asset
  3. Edit existing asset in AZ
  • Digital National Security Archive
New DB adds to an existing one (multiple records with same URL, no "union" record in Intota)
  1. Maintain separate assets in A-Z (A-Z mimics Intota)
  2. Use first imported A-Z asset as a union, change title and description, don't import others (title now differs between records)
  3. Create an original A-Z asset to serve as a union, delete/don't import others
  • Ethnographic Video Online II
  • HeinOnline
DB cancelled
  • Untrack in Intota
  • Delete asset from A-Z
  

 

The More Info field

class="box-in-box">

Using hidden div tags

The code for the hidden tags is <div style="display: none;">term1, term2</div>

In LibGuides 1, the More Info field in the A-Z list to hold alternative search terms. The field was searchable and only seen by users if they clicked on the Info icon.

In LibGuides 2, the More Info field is not searchable, so we copied that info into hidden div tags in the main Description field, and used CMS to block display of the Info icons.

We now have the option of emptying the More Info field, turning its display back on, and using it for its intended purpose: offering more detailed info that we don't want cluttering up the displayed description (with the caveat that this info is non-searchable).