Synthesis Resources
- SciFinder-n This link opens in a new window
SciFinder-n is the new interface for the most comprehensive index to the chemical literature and related sciences, including chemistry, chemical engineering, materials science, & nanotechnology. Search 52 million article, patent, and conference references, the CAS Registry of 161 million chemical substances (many include property data) & CASREACT database of 126 million chemical reactions and preparations. Search by topic, reaction, or chemical substance (Registry number, structure, substructure). Already registered? Go directly to SciFinder-n.
Physical and Chemical Properties
- Aluminum Alloys DatabaseKnovel Aluminum Database is a comprehensive summary of mechanical, physical, and chemical properties of both wrought and a wide variety of types of cast aluminum alloys. The values are "typical," as used in aluminum industry publications, to represent the average or mean and not any statistically calculated values intended for design.
- ASM Alloy Phase Diagram Center This link opens in a new windowExplore, search, and view more than 36,500 binary and ternary phase diagrams and associated phase data for more than 6200 systems. Metals and metallurgy.
- ASM Handbooks Online This link opens in a new windowThe complete content of twenty ASM Handbook volumes plus two ASM Desk Editions. Metals and metallurgy.
- ChemIDPlusDictionary of over 400,000 chemicals (names, synonyms, and structures) produced by the National Library of Medicine.
- CHEMnetBASE This link opens in a new window
Complements the databases of CHEMnetBASE with dozens of resources, references, and CRC handbooks. Chemistry topics covered include: analytical, industrial and applied, inorganic, materials, medicinal, organic, physical, polymer, and surface & colloid. Also covers electrochemistry, geochemistry, fuels and petrochemicals, photochemistry, separation science/chromatography, and spectroscopy.
- International Critical Tables of Numerical Data, Physics, Chemistry and TechnologyData on inorganic compounds, inorganic compounds, and pure substances on: physical, thermodynamic, and mechanical.
- Knovel Critical Tables (2nd Edition)Interactives tables including: heat capacity, thermal, conductivity, and reaction thermodynamics.
- Knovel Library This link opens in a new windowCollection of technical reference works and online tools for engineers.
- MatWeb: Material Property DataDatabase of material properties.
- The Materials ProjectProvides open web-based access to computed information on known and predicted materials as well as powerful analysis tools to inspire and design novel materials.
- National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) Chemistry WebBookElectronic resources on the following: thermochemical data for organic & small inorganic compounds and reaction thermochemistry for reactions.
- National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) Physical Reference DataVarious sets of data on the elements including: elemental data index, atomic properties, and physical constants.
- NIST Data GatewayThe NIST Data Gateway provides easy access to NIST scientific and technical data. These data cover a broad range of substances and properties from many different scientific disciplines. The Gateway includes links to selected free online NIST databases as well as to information on NIST databases available for purchase.
- Perry's Chemical Engineers' Handbook (9th ed)The 9th edition (2019) of Perry's is the gold standard for chemical engineering information—from the fundamentals to the state of the art.
- Physical Properties Source Index (PPSI)Searchable index by properties including: absolute absorption spectroscopy, absolute lethal concentration, absorbance, and absorption.
- Polymers: A Property DatabaseFrom CHEMnetBASE, database of polymers' properties including: synonyms, CAS classification, volumetric & calorimetric properties, surface properties & solubility.
- Wolfram AlphaComputational knowledge engine contains chemical data.
- Yaws' Critical Property Data for Chemical Engineers and ChemistsProvides access to a wide spectrum of substances, materials and their properties (physical, thermophysical, thermodynamic, transport, safety, and environmental).
- Yaws' Handbook of Properties for Environmental and Green EngineeringContains basic environmental and green properties of hydrocarbons and chemicals that are advantageous in design, operations, research, development, manufacturing and safety for the petroleum, chemical and environmental engineer.