These sites allow you to search across archives, libraries, museums, and other repositories and look at descriptions of their archival materials. For digitized collections of archival material, see Digital Libraries and Collections.
ArchiveGrid is a collection of over four million archival material descriptions. ArchiveGrid provides access to detailed archival collection descriptions such as documents, personal papers, family histories, and other archival materials held by thousands of libraries, museums, historical societies, and archives. It also provides contact information for the institutions where these collections are kept.
The Online Archive of California provides collection guides for archival materials at all UCs campuses and other contributing institutions, including libraries, archives, museums, and historical societies across California.
Armenian Manuscripts at the Bodleian Libraries, University of Oxford
Armenian Manuscripts at the Bodleian Libraries is a free online catalogue of manuscript descriptions. It is not a digital library but links are provided if digital copies exist online. As for the printed books in Armenian and about Armenia please refer to the Bodleian's SOLO online catalogue.
British Library
The British Library has a large collection of Armenian books and manuscripts, which can be searched through the catalogs below:
National Association for Armenian Studies and Research (NAASR), Edward and Helen Mardigian Library
The Edward and Helen Mardigian Library at NAASR consists of nearly 30,000 books, pamphlets, periodicals, and documents, primarily in Armenian and English, dating as far back as the 1600s. The collection encompasses a broad range of topics including history, literature, art, architecture, linguistics, poetry, as well as law, anthropology, cooking, and natural sciences.
Union Catalog of Armenian Libraries
This is a union catalog that searches the combined holdings of dozens of libraries in Armenia, including the National Library of Armenia, American University Library of Armenia, and Yerevan State University.
WorldCat is a union catalog that allows you to search across libraries worldwide.
400 Years of Armenian Printing
Celebrating 400 years of Armenian printing, this website houses digitized materials, which were selected for historical value and cultural importance. The digitized collection includes books, anthologies, and articles.
Archives Unbound presents topically-focused digital collections of historical documents that support the research and study needs of scholars and students at the college and university level. Collections in Archives Unbound cover a broad range of topics from the Middle Ages forward-from Witchcraft to World War II to twentieth-century political history. Collections are chosen for Archives Unbound based on requests from scholars, archivists, and students.
American University of Armenia Digital Library of Armenian Literature
The American University of Armenia’s Digital Library of Classical Armenian Literature (DIGILIB) has been established as a platform for the collection, digitization, preservation, and dissemination of texts from the holdings of Armenian national repositories worldwide.
ArmenianHouse.org is an electronic library featuring a large collection of documents on Armenian literature, history, religion and anything else Armenia-related. It includes texts in Armenian, English, and Russian.
British Library Endangered Archives Programme
The Endangered Archives Programme partners with applicants to digitize manuscripts and archives and make them available online. Its digital collections include many Armenian books, newspapers, and manuscripts, viewable here.
Calisphere provides free access to digital collections of over one million photographs, documents, letters, artwork, diaries, oral histories, films, advertisements, musical recordings, and more. The collections on Calisphere have been digitized and contributed by all ten campuses of the University of California and other important libraries, archives, and museums throughout the state.
Digital Public Library of America
DPLA provides online access to digitzed materials from America’s libraries, archives, museums, and other cultural heritage institutions, including photographs, books, maps, news footage, oral histories, personal letters, museum objects, artwork, government documents, and more.
The Hakob Meghapart Project is a database that compiles information about Armenian publishers across the world, from the 17th century onward, and their associated publications.
HayBook is a website devoted to Armenian digital books and libraries. It gives access to free electronic resources about literature, language and history. On the site you will find electronic books in Armenian or in translation.
The Internet Archive is a non-profit library of millions of free, digitized books, archival materials, movies, software, music, websites, and more.
The Matenadaran (Մատենադարան), officially the Mesrop Mashtots Institute of Ancient Manuscripts, is a museum, repository of manuscripts, and a research institute in Yerevan, Armenia. It is the world's largest repository of Armenian manuscripts. It provides online access to thousands of its digitized manuscripts.
National Library of Armenia Digital Collections
The National Library of Armenia is the largest repository of Armenian printed material in the world. It provides access to a digital collection of books, periodicals, and maps from the 16th century to the present.
World Digital Library (Library of Congress & UNESCO)
The World Digital Library (WDL) provides online access to digitized primary materials from all countries and cultures, including books, manuscripts, maps, newspapers, journals, prints and photographs, sound recordings, and films.
Project Save: Armenian Photographic Archive
Project SAVE Armenian Photograph Archives, Inc. collects, documents, preserves, and shares images of all subjects and time periods relating to the Armenian people and the work of Armenian photographers.
The Arab Image Foundation, based in Beirut, Lebanon, houses a collection of over 500,000 photographic objects and documents from and related to the Middle East, North Africa and the Arab diaspora that has been gradually assembled by artists and researchers and through donations. This includes several photograph collections by Armenian photographers working in the Middle East.
The Getty Research Institute, located at the Getty Center in Los Angeles, focuses on the history of art, architecture, and archaeology from prehistory to the contemporary period.
The Library of Congress is the largest library in the world, with millions of books, recordings, photographs, newspapers, maps and manuscripts in its collections. The Library is the main research arm of the U.S. Congress and the home of the U.S. Copyright Office.
The Armenian Film Foundation was established in 1979 as a non-profit, educational and cultural organization dedicated to the documentation and preservation of Armenian heritage in multi-media formats.
USC Shoah Foundation’s Visual History Archive
USC Shoah Foundation’s Visual History Archive includes Armenian Genocide testimonies of Armenian Film Foundation (AFF) and the Richard G. Hovannisian Armenian Genocide Oral History Collections. The Armenian Film Foundation’s collection consists of 333 audio-visual interviews with over 380 people. These interviews were filmed internationally by J. Michael Hagopian for documentary film purposes. The Richard G. Hovannisian Armenian Genocide Oral History Collection is made up of more than 1,000 audio-only interviews. Dr. Hovannisian trained his students at UCLA to conduct full life-histories of Genocide survivors.
Houshamadyan ("Memory Book") is an organization that reconstructs and preserves the memory of Armenian life in the Ottoman Empire through research. This research encompasses all aspects of the history of the Armenians in the Ottoman Empire, including social history, the history of daily life, local microhistory, dialects, music, literature, and material culture. It is involved in the collection and preservation of culturally valuable artefacts of all kinds produced by Ottoman Armenians, such as musical recordings, photographs, clothing and artifacts, film footage, writing, and so on.
Manual of Armenian Codicology and Palaeography, Bodleian Libraries, University of Oxford
MACaP provides a digital teaching tool and short reference guide for analyzing and describing Armenian manuscripts.
Armeniapedia is a wiki dedicated to Armenian topics.
Calfa is a classical and modern Armenian dictionary that offers translations in English and French, with synonyms, with etymology, conjugations, and declensions.
Classical Armenian Online, UT Austin Linguistics Research Center
An online resource for learning Classical Armenian that includes lessons, a glossary, and a base form dictionary.
Lexilogos offers a set of resources for studying various languages. If offers an Armenian/English dictionary built on several language tools and resources.
Nayiri Armenian/ English dictionary
Nayiri.com is a library of electronic Armenian dictionaries. The site has its roots as a Western Armenian dictionary with integrated spell checker, word stemmer, and virtual keyboard. Over the years, the site has grown to incorporate Eastern Armenian as well as bilingual Armenian dictionaries.
The English-language Wiktionary is a collaborative project to produce a free-content multilingual dictionary. It aims to describe all words of all languages using definitions and descriptions in English. It includes words in both modern and Classical Armenian.
EVN Report is an online weekly magazine that features reporting, analysis and commentary on politics, economy, culture, tech and innovation, the arts, as well as compelling narratives, podcasts and multimedia storytelling.
Produced by the Hamazkayin Armenian Educational and Cultural Society, this website combines the in-depth features of an online magazine with the interactive functionality of a virtual portal.
IanYan magazine was established in 2008 and provides news, features, and storytelling around the Armenian experience.
Jadaliyya is an independent ezine produced by the Arab Studies Institute. It occasionally features writing about the Armenian experience in the Arab world and broader Middle East.
Collectives: