Why Dictionaries?
You want to sure you are using the correct word to express your ideas. If you are not sure, you should check the definition in a dictionary.
- Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new windowIncludes the complete text of the Oxford English Dictionary, 2nd ed. plus quarterly updates of new and revised entries. Trace the origin and history of words and their meanings in this etymological dictionary.
- Merriam Webster OnlineA commercial site that has both a dictionary and thesaurus.
Encyclopedias & Other Reference Sources
- Early English Books Online (EEBO) This link opens in a new windowCitations from early English texts from 1475 to 1700, presented as digital images. Includes works by Malory, Bacon, More, Erasmus, Boyle, Newton, Galileo; musical exercises by Henry Purcell and novels by Aphra Behn; prayer books, pamphlets, and proclamations; almanacs, calendars, and many other primary sources.
- The Oxford Companion to British HistoryCovers the history of Britain from 55 BC to the present day. The entries, written and signed by over 100 specialist contributors, provide information on the following aspects of British history: political, economic, social, military, people, events, and institutions.
- Oxford Research Encyclopedias This link opens in a new windowOxford Research Encyclopedias is a series of digital works that present peer-reviewed articles on a wide range of topics, such as Anthropology, Business and Management, Climate Science, Communication, Criminology, Economics, Education, Global Public Health, History, Linguistics, Literature, Planetary Science, Politics, Psychology and Religion.
- A Dictionary of British HistorySearchable database of information based on the Oxford Companion to British History. The resource is devoted to the history of Britain from 55 BC to the present.