Finding Full Text
is your link to full-text! Note that some sources only index journal articles—they don't actually have the full text. Use the button to find the full text or search for the journal title in the UCLA Library Catalog.
History of Science Databases
History of Science
- History of Science, Technology and Medicine This link opens in a new windowThis database integrates four bibliographies: the Isis Current Bibliography of the History of Science, the Current Bibliography in the History of Technology, the Bibliografia Italiana di Storia della Scienza, and the Wellcome Library for the History and Understanding of Medicine.
- Instituto de Historia de la Medicina y de la Ciencia López Piñero(Historical Bibliography on Science and Technology in Spain)A database of scholarship in the history of science and technology published in Spain or by Spanish authors all over the world.
- Royal Society PublishingAccess to archived issues of all Royal Society scientific journal publications, January 1665-present. Please note that recent articles may not be included in the archive until 12-24 months after publication.
General and Regional History
- America: History & Life This link opens in a new windowHistorical coverage of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Indexes articles from over 1,700 history journals published worldwide since 1964.
- Bibliography of British and Irish History This link opens in a new windowIndex of books, book chapters, and journal articles dealing with the British Isles, and with the British Empire and Commonwealth, from 55BC to the present. Coverage includes Writings on British History (1901-1974) and Annual Bibliographies (1975-2002).
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Index and abstracts for articles on the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life) published since 1955.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowA multidisciplinary database that indexes over 10,000 publications, with the complete text of over 5,500 periodicals, including a mix of peer-reviewed journals, magazines, and newspapers.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text back issues of core scholarly journals, browsable and searchable across multiple disciplines. Coverage starts with first issue, with moving wall for most recent 3-5 years. UCLA has access to selected JSTOR e-books only. JSTOR also includes primary source collections, including images from Artstor.
- Project MUSE This link opens in a new windowFull text of current issues (from about 1990) of scholarly journals and some ebooks published by university presses, chiefly in the arts, humanities, and social sciences. Journals include: Bulletin of the Historical Society, Bulletin of the History of Medicine, and many other History of Science titles.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database, with searchable author abstracts, covering the journal literature of most disciplines. Indexes major journals with all cited references captured. Combines the following citation databases: Science Citation Index Expanded; Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI); Arts & Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI); Conference Proceedings Citation Index.
Atlantic Histories
- Black Studies Center This link opens in a new windowHistorical and current material for researching the past, present and future of African-Americans, the wider African Diaspora, and Africa itself. It is comprised of several cross-searchable component databases, including International Index to Black Periodicals, Black Literature Index and Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience (interdisciplinary essays written by leading scholars on the Black Experience).
- Black Thought and Culture This link opens in a new windowFull text collection of non-fiction published prose and oratory by leading African Americans. Writing is focused on research in black studies, political science, American history, music, literature, and art.
- African American Experience This link opens in a new window
Reference books, monographs, primary documents, manuscripts, speeches, court cases, quotations, advertisements, and statistics concerning African American history and culture. Contains over 4,000 interviews with former slaves; 67 Negro University Press texts from the late 1700s to the early 1970s.
- Africa-Wide Information This link opens in a new windowMaterial on Africa from the 19th century to the present. Sources include books, journal and magazine articles, radio and television broadcasts, newspapers, pamphlets, maps, reports, theses, and music recordings.
- Handbook of Latin American Studies (HLAS Web) This link opens in a new windowCitations for books, journal articles, conference papers, and websites that pertain to the disciplines covered by HLAS. Humanities coverage includes: art, history, literature, music, and philosophy. Social Sciences coverage includes archeology, ethnology, economics, geography, government and politics, international relations, political economy, and sociology.