Additional Resources for Seminar 6
This page has links to resources especially useful for GE 80CW Seminar 6, Birthdays & Earth Days: Environmental Impacts on Aging & Sustainable Solutions Ahead. You can also check out the pages in the rest of this guide.
The first two links will help you find information about specific neighborhoods.
- Neighborhood Info (City of Los Angeles)Find basic facts about an area after entering and address or intersection (e.g., Westwood/Santa Monica Blvd)
- Mapping LA NeighborhoodsThe Los Angeles Times’ neighborhood map of Los Angeles County. This regional view is your portal to individual maps and statistics for 158 cities and 114 neighborhoods within the city of Los Angeles. Includes average income statistics by neighborhood. In addition, there are maps of 42 unincorporated areas collapsed inside of adjacent cities.
These databases can be searched for articles in both journals and newspapers. Be sure to look under the Finding Articles tab on this guide for other databases.
- Family & Society Studies Worldwide This link opens in a new windowIndexes articles, books, conference papers, and reports in the fields of family science, human ecology, human development, and social welfare. Covers research, policy, and practice literature from 1970 to the present.
- Los Angeles Times This link opens in a new window
Full text (no ads or pictures) from 1985 to the present. For access to older issues, see ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Los Angeles Times [1881-1995].
- Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Complete text of articles from 1959 to the present from publications of the ethnic, minority, and native press. Covers news, culture, and history, and is searchable in both English and Spanish.
- APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new windowAbstracts and citations to journal articles, books, book chapters, conference proceedings, and dissertations relevant to students, researchers, and professionals working in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences.
- Social Services Abstracts This link opens in a new windowCitations (with abstracts) of current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development. Coverage: 1980-present.
- Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences from 1,800+ serials publications; also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. Coverage from 1952-present.
