Collections of Blacklisted Persons
Red Channels Hell Over Hollywood
- Anne Edwards papers, 1965- : Anne Edwards (1927- ) was a blacklisted freelance film and television writer, and an author. The collection consists of Edwards' literary manuscripts, galleys, screenplays, research materials and notes, correspondence, interviews, videocassettes, tape transcriptions, photographs and negatives, publicity material, newspapers, magazines, and a poster.
- S. Guy Endore papers, 1925-1970 : S. Guy Endore (1901-70) was a prolific author of books as well as television and movie scripts. His script, G.I. Joe, was nominated for an Oscar in 1945. He was reputedly blacklisted by the Hollywood studios for his political views in the late 1940s. Endore devoted much of his time to the Synanon Foundation after being blacklisted. The collection consists of Endore's manuscripts and typescripts for plays, novels, and television shows. Other materials include clippings and printed materials, many of which address and review Endore's writings. The collection also contains materials related to the House Un-American Activities Committee and the Hollywood Blacklist, the Sleepy Lagoon Defense Committee, the assassination of President Kennedy, and the Warren Commission Report. Books from Endore's library and correspondence (including fan mail) are also included. The finding aid contains an extensive name index.
- Abraham Polonsky papers, 1946-1999 (bulk 1970s-1990s): Abraham Polonsky was a director, screenwriter and novelist. In 1951, he refused to confirm or deny membership to the Communist party before the House Un-American Activities Committee and as a result, he was blacklisted by the entertainment industry. The collection consists of script material, manuscripts, books, and a small amount of clippings, photographs, correspondence, and other ephemera reflecting Polonsky's activities from the 1970s-1990s.
- Jerome Robinson Theatrical Photographs collection: Robinson worked as a photographer in Hollywood. In 1950, he was called before the House Un-American Activities Committee and was declared an unfriendly witness because he refused to testify. He never worked in motion pictures again. The collection consists of approximately 10,000 photographs and 20,000 negatives taken by Robinson of theatrical performances and performers in New York, Pasadena, and Los Angeles.
- Waldo Salt Papers, 1936-1987: Collection consists of of material related to the career of scree n writer Waldo Salt. Includes correspondence, scripts, research, and personal pa pers. Personal materials include biographical information, family, legal, financial and medical papers, writings by and about Salt, projects not authored by Sal t, photographs, and artwork.
- Alexander Saxton Papers, 1846-1990 bulk 1936-1990: Alexander Plaisted Saxton (b.1919) taught at UC Berkeley and Wayne State University before joining the Department of History at UCLA in 1968. His writings include Grand crossing (1943), The great midland (1948), Bright web in the darkness (1958), The great fear (1970), and The indispensable enemy: labor and the anti-Chinese movement in California (1971). The collection consists of manuscripts, correspondence, notes, and clippings related to Saxton's professional life, materials related to his teaching in the Department of History at UCLA, and family papers (1846-1943). The collection also contains the transcript of Saxton's testimony before the House Committee on Un-American Activities.
- Jackson Stanley Papers, 1929- : The collection consists of materials related to the career of writer Jackson Stanley. Boxes 1-98 include correspondence, manuscript material related to novels, story ideas for television, scripts for television, radio, and motion pictures, material connected to civic activities, and ephemera. Also includes material related to Stanley's career at UCLA.
- Gene Stone papers, 1947-1989: Gene Stone was a blacklisted writer for radio, television and theater. The collection contains scripts and ephemera related to his career.
- Dalton Trumbo Papers, 1934-1976: James Dalton Trumbo (1905-1976) was a screenwriter who became one of the Hollywood Ten and was blacklisted by the motion picture industry (1947). He was one of the first blacklisted writers to emerge from the underground when he received screen credit for his work on the 1960 releases of Spartacus and Exodus. The collection consists of materials related to Trumbo's career as a screen writer and novelist. The majority of material in the collection includes scripts, correspondence, manuscripts, clippings, and notes.
- Michael Wilson papers, 1942-1977 : Michael Wilson was a successful screenwriter during the late-1940s and early-1950s. In 1951, he was named an “unfriendly witness” by the House Un-American Activities Committee and blacklisted from the motion picture industry for the next 13 years. The collection consists of correspondence, screenplays, treatments, research materials, clippings, legal papers, outlines, and notes. Additionally, there is personal documents and material relating to the blacklist. Among the projects represented in the collection are Lawrence of Arabia (1962), A Place in the Sun (1951), Che! (1969), Planet of the Apes (1968), and Salt of the earth (1953), among others.