Core Women Studies and Gender Studies Databases
- Women's Studies International This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Provides access to citations for a wide range of topics in the study of women and gender, 1972-present.
- Contemporary Women's Issues This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive coverage of issues that influence women’s lives across the globe on topics including civil rights, health, education, professional development, and entrepreneurship. Full-text access to journals, newsletters, and research reports from non-profit groups, government and international agencies. Information on women internationally includes cross-disciplinary methodology. - GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text publications focusing on the impact of gender across multiple subject areas. Include scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books, and more.
- LGBTQ+ Life This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains indexing and abstracts for LGBTQ-specific core periodicals, core books and reference works. In addition, other source-types such as grey literature, including newsletters, case studies, speeches, etc. are represented. Former database title: LGBT Life.
Important feminist and women art journals
- Make
- This link opens in a new window
Content listing also available at http://www.gold.ac.uk/make/backissues/ - n.paradoxaAlso available in print at: N72.F45 N73 Arts Stacks; Current issues in Unbound Journals
- Women Artists Slide Library journal
- This link opens in a new window
Content listing also available at http://www.gold.ac.uk/make/backissues/ - Woman's art journal
- This link opens in a new window
* N72.F45 W64 Arts Stacks Oversize*; Current issues in Unbound Journals; older issues in SRLF; ONLINE ACCESS: v.1(1980)- [Latest 3 years not available online]. JSTOR. - Women's art magazine
- This link opens in a new window
Content listing also available at http://www.gold.ac.uk/make/backissues/
Women's art news sources
Core Art, Architecture and Design Indexes
is your link to full-text! Note that some sources only index journal articles—they don't actually have the full text. Use the button to find the full text or search for the journal title in the UCLA Library Catalog.
The most important databases for locating journal articles about design and media arts topics are:
- A&AePortal (Electronic Art and Architecture) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Special Focus Databases with Art, Architecture, or Design Content
Depending on your research topic, you might find that some of the following databases include relevant information.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search the Arts & Humanities Citation Index file within the Web of Science. - Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) and Répertoire international de la littérature de l'art (RILA) This link opens in a new window
- Index to 19th Century American Art Periodicals This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- International Bibliography of Art (IBA) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The International Bibliography of Art is the successor to the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA), and covers from 2008 to the present. Contains some retrospective coverage, but for comprehensive research before 2008 it is essential to use BHA. Publications covered include at least 500 core journals, with an emphasis on specialist and rare titles that are not covered by other indexes, plus detailed coverage of monographs, essay collections, conference proceedings, and exhibition catalogs. - Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Combines Grove Art Online, the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, the Oxford Companion to Western Art, Benezit Dictionary of Artists, and the Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms. Includes image partnerships with ARTstor, the British Museum, the Museum of Modern Art, the Metropolitan Museum of Art, Art Images for College Teaching, Art Resource, Artists Rights Society, and numerous international art galleries and artists.
Interdisciplinary Indexes and Databases
These interdisciplinary databases can also help you locate design and media arts topics.
- Eighteenth Century Collections Online (Gale Primary Sources) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
- ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Online Current Newspapers
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text news (including broadcast transcripts), business, legal, and reference information. Useful for finding full-text of current performing arts and media industry news in major newspapers. Includes biographical information from Who's Who titles. Formerly LexisNexis Academic.
- New York Times This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text (no ads or pictures) from 1980 to the present. For access to older issues, see ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times [1851-2020]
- Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text, from 1984 to present. For access to older issues, see ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Wall Street Journal [1889-2012].
- Access World News — Historical and Current This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- Black Studies Center This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Historical and current material for researching the past, present and future of African-Americans, the wider African Diaspora, and Africa itself. It is comprised of several cross-searchable component databases, including International Index to Black Periodicals, Black Literature Index and Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience (interdisciplinary essays written by leading scholars on the Black Experience). - Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Complete text of articles from 1959 to the present from publications of the ethnic, minority, and native press. Covers news, culture, and history, and is searchable in both English and Spanish.
- Factiva This link opens in a new window Includes a range of recent full text international newspapers and industry/company news in magazines like Hollywood Reporter.
- This link opens in a new window
- Irish Newspaper Archives This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text of many Irish newspapers, including both historical and current content from the 1700s to current day.
Online Historical Newspapers
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Los Angeles Times This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full page and article images with searchable full text from the first issue in 1881 to 2015. For access to current issues, see Los Angeles Times [1985-present].
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Chicago Tribune This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full page and article images with searchable full text, covering 1849-2014 of the paper. For access to current issues, see Chicago Tribune [1985-present].
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Chicago Defender This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Chicago Defender (including Daily Defender) is included as part of Black Studies Center (1921-2010). Proquest's Chicago Defender content does not include the newspaper's "City Edition," which is currently only available on microfilm.
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers: the Wall Street Journal. This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full page and article images with searchable full text, from 1889 to 2012. For access to current issues, see Wall Street Journal [1984-present].
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Washington Post This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full page and article images with searchable full text from the first issue in 1877 to 2007. For access to current issues, see Washington Post [1987-present].
- Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers (Gale Primary Sources) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- Times of London Digital Archive, 1785-2019 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes full text and page images of the entire newspaper, including articles, editorials, advertising and images (excluding the Sunday Times) for 1785-2019.
- Irish Newspaper Archives This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text of many Irish newspapers, including both historical and current content from the 1700s to current day. - Facts on File World News Digest This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
World news digest for 1940-present. Includes stories on people, stats, and world events from the top news stories for each decade. - World Newspaper Archive (Center for Research Libraries) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
American, African, Latin American, and South Asian newspapers published in the 19th and 20th centuries. UCLA subscribes to a subset of this collection.
- Chronicling America: Historic American NewspapersDigital project from the Library of Congress including online access to newspapers published from between 1690-present. Search newspaper pages digitized through the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP).
- Old Fulton Post CardsIn addition to digitized post cards, this site also contains searchable New York State historical newspapers.
- Google News ArchiveIncludes scanned full text of historical newspapers, from select local and national papers.