Connect from Off-Campus
UCLA students, faculty, and staff can access Library subscription databases from off-campus using either of the following options.
- UCLA Virtual Private Network (VPN)A program you install on your computer. Already built-in on most mobile devices.
- UCLA OnLine Proxy ServerA simple browser setting which will automatically divert you to a UCLA logon page when you first access a restricted site.
Research Databases
- Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive (EIMA) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
EIMA is an historical archive of major trade and consumer magazines in film, television, music, radio, and theater, from their inception to 2000. Includes weekly Variety, Hollywood Reporter, American Cinematographer, Back Stage, Billboard, Broadcasting, Picturegoer, Screen International, Spin, and more. UCLA has access to parts I, II and III of this database.
- Musical America This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Music industry news, database of artists, performing organizations, artists managers, and music industry contacts. - Music ID (Industry Data) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Music ID delivers the narrative of music in its cultural, economic and social context. International sales of all artists across 74 countries for all genres are displayed in vivid graphs and representations. - Music Periodicals Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and abstracts for several hundred international music periodicals from over 20 countries, plus full text for more than 140 of the indexed journals. Former database title: International Index to Music Periodicals (IIMP) Full Text.
Company Information Databases
- EMIS Emerging Markets Information Service This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Current country, company, industry, economic, and legal information for over 80 emerging markets in Asia, Australia, Central, Eastern, Southeastern Europe, and the Middle East/North Africa. Country profiles; macroeconomic statistics, forecasts, analysis, reports on financial markets, companies and industries; exchange rates; analyst reports; legal information; and business news. Documents from more than 13,000 local and global providers. Dates of coverage vary; updates are daily. - Factiva This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text business and general news content covering thousands of sources from more than 200 countries in 26 languages. Includes US and international newspapers, magazines, wire services, web sites, photographs, and trade and industry publications. Also: company and industry profiles; company-to-company/company-to-industry financial comparisons; stock price data; and stock charting.
NOTE: Text mining of Factiva is strictly prohibited.
- Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Current and historical (up to 30 years) balance sheet and income statement data for 15,000+ US and 30,000+ international public companies. Includes links to annual reports to shareholders, and other SEC filings. Also included (access from tabs): "Supply Chain" (formerly "Horizon"), for analysis of public company customers and suppliers, and "Investext," which provides current and historical equity analyst reports from leading investment banks, brokerage houses, and consulting firms, as well as "non-brokerage house" analyses of companies and industries.Limited to 500 simultaneous users. - Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text news (including broadcast transcripts), business, legal, and reference information. Useful for finding full-text of current performing arts and media industry news in major newspapers. Includes biographical information from Who's Who titles. Formerly LexisNexis Academic.
- Uniworld Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Information on multinational firms operating around the world. Formerly American Firms Operating in Foreign Countries and Foreign Firms Operating in the United States. Database may be searched by country, region, state, keyword, zip code or postal code, industry code, revenue, and number of employees.
Copyright and Licensing Databases
- ASCAPAmerican Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers (ASCAP): a not-for-profit performance-rights organization that protects its members' musical copyrights by monitoring public performances of their music. Provides a database of works registered to ASCAP.
- BMIDatabase of copyright or license holders of musical compositions registered with BMI. BMI is the bridge between songwriters and the businesses and organizations that want to play their music publicly.
- U.S. Copyright OfficeThe Office’s registration and recordation systems provide the world’s largest database of copyrighted works and copyright ownership information.
Websites
Copyright and Music Law
- University of California Copyright and Fair Use SiteUC Copyright and Fair Use policies and information.
- Creative Commons OrganizationOrganization providing alternative forms for limiting and sharing intellectual property rights.
- Stanford Copyright and Fair Use CenterCopyright, Fair Use, and IP News. What can you use without permission?
Music Business, Industry, and Statistics
- International Federation of the Phonographic IndusryIFPI is a non-profit organization representing the recording industry internationally.