Hungarian Studies

On the 1956 uprising in Hungary.

English translations of documents from Russian and Bulgarian archives related to the uprisings.

The largest Hungarian database containing scientific journals, encyclopedias, newpapers and series. Supported by EISZ, Hungarian National Consortium.

Hungarian Digital Archives serves the purpose of making accessible the digitized and born digital documents stored by the National Archives of Hungary and the Budapest City Archives. It also provides help to the research of paper-based documents, thanks to its digital research catalogues and aids.

Online photo archives. All of the images are licensed under Creative Commons CC-BY-SA-3.0 and can be freely used. If you wish to publish any of them, please give the credit in the following format: FOTO:FORTEPAN / name of donor.

The Hungarian Digital Archive of Pictures is developed by the Department of E-library Services of the National Széchényi Library.

Hungarica, which constitute the majority of the library’s holdings, form part of the Hungarian cultural heritage.

Free, full text access to content from public collections, including visual material, books and journals, archival documents, maps and folk music. Also hosts the 'Budapest Time Machine', with searchable multi-layered maps, linked databases and historic photographs.  

The Electronic Periodicals Archive & Database (EPA) -  is the initiative of the Hungarian Electronic Library (MEK) aimed at creating a bibliographic database and register of the Hungarian e-periodicals and providing hosting services to certain ongoing resources. The main task of the EPA is to produce and maintain a centralized, well-organized, and searchable database of the metadata and access information of the Hungarian e-journals, and to promote the publication and distribution of these resources, with technical support and good practice standards, thus providing better access to this type of content.
HUMANUS is a bibliographic database. It aims to collect the bibliographic data of all essays and articles of periodicals, annuals, memorial volumes, and volume of essays that are related to Hungary in a broader sense: authors, topics, culture, etc. (as Hungarica defines).
MATARKA offers searching and browsing of the contents of scientific and technical journals mostly published in Hungary. Over 35 libraries, 30 editorial offices, and 8 private persons participate in the building of the database. Beside its basic functions, MATARKA offers links to the websites of periodicals, and includes links to the full texts of open access articles. It is also possible to order copies of articles from the National Széchényi Library. MATARKA has over half a million uses every year, and the amount of records is more than 2 million from 1,600 journal titles. Full text of about 500,000 articles can be accessed freely.

More than 7000 digitized documents, images and more related to Hungarian life and history.

Magyar Evangelical Digital Library: Archives.

Homepage of the Hungarian National Archives; in Hungarian.

The Vera and Donald Blinken Open Society Archives (OSA) at Central European University (CEU) is a complex archival institution. OSA is both a repository of important collections, primarily related to the history of the Cold War and grave international human rights violations, and a laboratory of archival experiments on new ways of assessing, contextualizing, presenting, and making use of archival documents.

Homepage of the Vera and Donald Blinken Open Society Archives at the Central European University. Contains a number of important holdings related to the Cold War and to human rights.

Collection of primary sources compiled by the University of North Carolina Chapel Hill for the study and understanding of the challenges facing the European people in the aftermath of World War II.

Romania-based digital library of Transylvanian periodicals. Includes several Hungarian titles.