Urban Planning Reference Materials
- ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the U.S. This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States, from 2013 to the present. Volumes covering 1879-2012 are on the US Census site.
Major Online Encyclopedias, Reference Sources, and Dictionaries
The links below lead you to encyclopedias and online reference tools.
These resources are often great starting points because they give broad subject coverage and lists of recommended readings. They provide full-text online access, and you can search down to the article or chapter level.
- Cambridge Histories Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to the complete 250-plus volumes of Cambridge Histories reference series. Provides political, economic, and social history, philosophy, and literature of selected countries and subjects. Continually updated with new volumes taken from the print series as soon as they become available.
- Encyclopedia of Social Problems
- This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive approach to the field of social problems, utilizing experts from anthropology, biology, business, chemistry, communications, criminal justice, demography, economics, education, environmental studies, geography, health, history, languages, political science, psychology, social work, sociology, and women's studies.
- Gale E-Books (formerly Gale Virtual Reference Library) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedias, dictionaries, and specialized reference sources in the many disciplines, including Arts, Biography, Business, Education, Environment, History, Law, Literature, Multicultural Studies, Nation and the World, Religion, Science, and Social Science.
- International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences
- This link opens in a new window
Describes the state of the art in all the fields encompassed within the social and behavioral sciences.
- Reference Universe This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search for books, book chapters, or encyclopedia entries. - SAGE Knowledge This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
E-books and reference works in the social sciences. Includes scholarly monographs, reference works, handbooks, series, professional development titles, and more. Includes books published by both Sage and CQ Press. UCLA subscribes to only a small fraction of the books available, and not all content from Sage.
- Merriam Webster OnlineA commercial site that has both a dictionary and thesaurus.
- Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes the complete text of the Oxford English Dictionary, 2nd ed. plus quarterly updates of new and revised entries. Trace the origin and history of words and their meanings in this etymological dictionary. - Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Spans 25 different subject areas, bringing together 2 million digitized entries across Oxford University Press’s Dictionaries, Companions and Encyclopedias. UC subscription allows limited simultaneous users, so if you can't connect try again later.
- SAGE Research Methods This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Books, reference works, and instructional videos about qualitative and quantitative methodologies in the sciences and social sciences. Includes Research Tools (online tools for planning research and choosing methods), Cases (examples of real research), Video (research process, data science, and methods) and Datasets (sample data chosen specifically to support practice with various statistical analysis methods). Includes Diversifying and Decolonizing Research, and Sage Research Methods Video: Quantitative and Mixed Methods.