Libretto Collections
Opera, Operetta and Musical Theater libretti are available by individual work or composer.
Browsing the Library Shelves for Libretti
Check call numbers ML 47 through ML 54.8, which are located on the second floor of the Music Library. The Reference Collection (first floor) also has libretti.
Browsing the Library Catalog for Libretti
In the catalog, use Subject Headings, Title, or Author (lastname, firstname) to browse libretti. The following is a non-exhaustive list of subject headings that can guide your libretti searches. (For a full list follow the link above.)
| Subject Headings |
|---|
| Librettos |
| Operas--Librettos |
| Musicals--Librettos |
Score Collections
Opera, Operetta and Musical Theater scores are available by individual work, composer or compilation (excerpts).
Browsing the Library Shelves for Scores
Check call numbers ML 1500 through ML 1508, which are located on the second floor of the Music Library. Specifically:
| Call Number | Subject Headings |
|---|---|
| M 1500 | Full Scores — Operas and Musicals |
| M 1503 | Vocal/Piano Scores — Operas and Musicals |
| M 1505 | Vocal Selections — Operas |
| M 1508 | Operettas and Musical Revues |
Browsing the Library Catalog for Scores
In the catalog, use Subject Headings, Title, or Author (last name, first name) to browse scores. The following is a non-exhaustive list of subject headings that can guide your libretti searches. (For a full list follow the link above.)
| Subject Headings |
|---|
| Operas — Scores |
| Revues — Scores |
| Musicals — Scores |
- Art Song Transpositions This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Art Song Transpositions provides access to over 12,000 art songs and Baroque aria pdfs. Users may find transpositions that have been professionally translated into different keys. - Contemporary Music Score Collection, UCLA Music Library This link opens in a new windowPublished by the UCLA Music Library in eScholarship, the Contemporary Music Score Collection includes the digital, open access scores from the Contemporary Score Edition series, the first open access edition of new music published by a library, and scores from the Kaleidoscope 2020 Call for Scores, an open access collaboration with the UCLA Music Library.
- Music Online: Classical Scores Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A series of four volumes with a mission to provide a reliable and authoritative source for scores of the classical canon, as well as a resource for the discovery of lesser-known contemporary works. The collections encompass all major classical musical genres and time periods from the Middle Ages to the 21st century. With full, study, piano, and vocal scores, this comprehensive collection will enhance the study of music history, performance, composition and theory for a variety of scholars.
Archive of Popular American Music
The Archive of American Popular Music (APAM) is part of the UCLA Library Digital Collections. It features sheet music of the 20th-century, including hits from popular musicals and operas.