Other Resources
- ClipConverterMedia conversion application, which allows you to record, convert and download an audio or video URL to common formats.
- KeepVid (video downloader)KeepVid is one of several video clip downloading tools, and it is free.. Other examples include Clip Converter.
- HandbrakeOpen source tool that can extract clips from most DVDs directly to mp4.
- Squared 5 - MPEG StreamclipVideo converter, player, and editor for Mac and Windows.
- Citing Film, Video and Online Media (MLA Style)Guide from UCB Media Center. Consult latest edition of the MLA handbook for any changes to formatting.
Library Databases with Streaming Video
Subscription databases from the UCLA Library with streaming video content. If connecting from home, make sure your computer is configured for off-campus access.
- Kanopy This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
On-demand streaming video service for educational institutions with thousands of documentaries, training films and theatrical releases across diverse subjects and disciplines. More information on Kanopy access and use is available on this guide.
- TV News Archive (Internet Archive)Contains 350,000 news programs collected over 3 years from national U.S. networks and stations in San Francisco and Washington D.C. The archive is updated with new broadcasts 24 hours after they are aired.
- UCLA Library Broadcast NewsScape This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Digitized television news programs from cable and broadcast sources in the Los Angeles area (2005-present) as well as news programs from other domestic, international, and online sources (2004-present). Includes both streaming media and searchable closed caption text. Use of UCLA VPN for off-campus access is required. - Vanderbilt Television News Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes network evening news broadcasts from the major US national broadcast networks: ABC, CBS, NBC, and CNN, and hours of special news-related programming including ABC's Nightline since 1989. Includes historical streaming video from NBC (since 1968) and CNN.
- Academic Video Online
- This link opens in a new window
Cross-search of all UCLA subscriptions to Alexander Street Press video databases: Filmakers Library, Ethnographic Video, Dance in Video, and Theatre in Video.
- Access World News — Historical and Current This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
In addition to full text newspapers, this database also includes online video from major network news organizations for recent coverage. Select "Source Types" to specify video.
UCLA Collections
While individual academic departments may also have their own collections of film and video, the repositories below house collections that are publicly cataloged or listed. Each has a different access policy and many are administered by separate campus entities, so it is important to check individual websites even though many holdings appear in the UCLA Library Catalog.
- Instructional Media Collections & Services (Office of Instructional Development)Video collection funded for instructional on-campus use. Though holdings are also listed in the UCLA Library Catalog, users can double-check the separate IMCS catalog available from the website. Students must use IMCS videos on site.
- UCLA Film & Television ArchiveThe Film and Television Archive has research copies of many titles, with particular strength in Hollywood film. The catalog is also distinct, and can be accessed via the Archive's homepage.
- UCLA Film & Television Archive News and Public Affairs (NAPA) CollectionConsists of over 100,000 news programs and broadcasts taped off air from 1979 to 2003. Titles from the collection can be made available for research viewing on the UCLA campus in the Instructional Media Lab (IML), located in room 270 of the Powell Library. Viewing requests must be made in advance through the Archive Research and Study Center (ARSC).
- Outfest UCLA Legacy Project (UCLA Film & Television Archive)In 2005, UCLA Film & Television Archive partnered with Outfest (founded at UCLA in 1982) to create the Outfest UCLA Legacy Project for LGBTQ Moving Image Preservation. It is the largest publicly accessible collection of LGBTQ films in the world. Some of the Legacy Project film holdings and public program recordings are available on the Archive's YouTube channel.
- UC Library Search This link opens in a new windowIndividual libraries with very selective video and DVD holdings: Music, East Asian, Biomedical, Law (for Law students only), Arts, YRL, and SRLF. You can limit to “Visual Materials” in the catalog to search all of these. Access and loan options vary.
- UCLA Ethnomusicology ArchiveThe Archive’s collection of more than 150,000 audio, video, print, and photographic items documents musical expressions throughout the world and includes unique field recordings as well as rare commercial recordings.
- UCLA Ralph J. Bunche Library and Media Center (Center for African American Studies)Video holdings are also listed in UCLA Library Catalog. More information about access and equipment are on the Center's website.
Video on the Internet
Selection of freely available online video collections.
- AdViewsDigital archive of vintage television commercials dating from the 1950s to the 1980s.
- American Archive of Public Broadcasting (Library of Congress & WGBH))Discovery tool for collections of U.S. public radio and television content from 1950s-present. Contains thousands of original PBS and NPR broadcasts from the mid-20th century to the present.
- Library of Congress Digital Collections: Motion PicturesFrom the Library of Congress, online video from subject-specific collections, including early Edison films, animation, and rare vaudeville performances.
- ArtBabbleAn online community showcasing art-based video content.
- Bing VideoMicrosoft search advertised as a "decision engine" that organizes results. Includes videos from numerous sources, including Hulu and MySpace.
- CBS VideosContains select video for Daytime, Primetime, Late Night, and full coverage of TV Classics such as Star Trek and The Twilight Zone.
- Civil Rights Digital Library: Moving ImagesOnline films and other recordings related to the U.S. Civil Rights Movement.
- Google VideoSimilar to YouTube, with some differences in coverage and searchability.
- Hemispheric Institute of the AmericasDigital project from NYU Libraries and NYU's Hemispheric Institute of Performance and Politics that "provides a digital venue for documenting the expression of social and political life through performance."
- HuluIncludes television shows, movie trailers, and more.
- Internet Archive: Moving Image ArchiveVast online library of freely available movies and videos, mostly public domain and ephemeral film.
- Library of Congress National Screening RoomThe National Screening Room showcases the Library’s vast moving image collection, designed to make otherwise unavailable movies freely accessible and downloadable.
- The Living Room Candidate: Presidential Campaign Commercials, 1952-2008From the Museum of the Moving Image, this online exhibition features hundreds of commercials from every American presidential campaign since 1952.
- MovieclipsSelection of online movie trailers and clips from major film scenes.
- NBC Universal ArchivesOnline site for recent and historical NBC clips, particularly broadcast news. Although the site itself is free, note that downloading content and licensing for use are fee-based.
- Open Video ProjectVideo clips from a variety of sources, particularly video programs obtained from U.S. government agencies.
- Paley Center Screening RoomOnline video from the Paley Center for Media, including historical political convention coverage, pop culture, documentaries, and more.
- PBS Video OnlineSelected online video from PBS shows, including Frontline, The News Hour, American Experience, and Art: 21
- Scripps Library and Multimedia ArchiveIncludes streaming video of State of the Union addresses from Kennedy to Obama, White House recordings, hundreds of presidential oral history interviews, and audio and video recordings of Miller Center Forums.
- TED: Technology, Entertainment, DesignHundreds of recorded talks, arranged by subject categories: Technology, Entertainment, Design, Business, Science, and Global Issues.
- UCLA on iTunesVideos of tours, lectures, and more at UCLA
- Universal Newsreels (1929-1967)Subset of the Internet Archive, with online access to several hundred newsreels.
- VeohFree online video, including movies and television shows.
- WGBH Open VaultProvides online access to historical content produced by the public television and radio station WGBH. Contains video, audio, images, and searchable transcripts.
- YouTubeThe current giant of freely available online video, with the ability to share easily and add comments.