Archives
- AM Search This link opens in a new window
UCLA subscribes to selected AM (formerly Adam Matthew) databases comprised of digitized archival material and primary sources. You can use AM Search to search across all of them. UCLA has access to licensed AM content published through 2024. Formerly known as Adam Matthew Archive Explorer.
- Area Studies: Japan This link opens in a new window
A wide range of sources - by writers, diplomats, tourists, businessmen, and missionaries - documenting the political, cultural and social history of Japan from 1400 to the 20th century.
- Area studies: China and Southeast Asia This link opens in a new window
Digitized materials with Western perspectives and sources on China and Southeast Asia spanning several centuries, from the first British mission to China in 1792-1794 through to the mid 20th century.
- China, America and the Pacific This link opens in a new windowExplore an extensive range of archival material connected to the trading and cultural relationships that emerged between China, America and the Pacific region between the 18th and early 20th centuries. Manuscript sources, rare printed texts, visual images, objects and maps document this fascinating history
- China: Culture and Society This link opens in a new windowSpanning three centuries (c1750-1929), this resource makes available for the first time extremely rare pamphlets from Cornell University Libraryâs Charles W. Wason Collection on East Asia. The resource is full-text searchable, allowing for the collection to be comprehensively explored and studied.
- China: Trade, Politics and Culture, 1793-1980 This link opens in a new windowSources from the School of Oriental and African Studies and the British Library, London.
- East India Company This link opens in a new windowDigitized India Office Records from the British Library. Containing royal charters, correspondence, trading diaries, minutes of council meetings and reports of expeditions, among other document types, this database charts the history of British trade and rule in the Indian subcontinent and beyond from 1600 to 1947.
- Foreign Office Files for China, 1919-1980 This link opens in a new windowBritish Foreign Office files dealing with China, Hong Kong and Taiwan between 1919 and 1980. The documents combine eyewitness accounts, weekly and monthly summaries, annual reviews, reports and analyses, with a synthesis of newspaper articles and conference reports, economic assessments, and synopses on leading Chinese personalities
- Foreign Office Files for Japan, 1919-1952 This link opens in a new windowPublished in three parts, this collection covers British Foreign Office files dealing with Japan between 1919 and 1952. Parts include: Japanese Imperialism and the War in the Pacific, 1931-1945; Occupation of Japan, 1946-1952; and, Japan and Great Power Status, 1919-1930.
- Global Commodities: Trade, Exploration and Cultural Exchange This link opens in a new windowPortal that includes visual, manuscript and printed materials sourced from multiple libraries, companies, and trade organizations. It charts the history of 15 major commodities, including chocolate, coffee, oil, and sugar.
- Japanese American Internment: Records of the Franklin D. Roosevelt Library (Archives Unbound) This link opens in a new windowThis collection provides the background for a reassessment of how a leader and his advisors, who were fighting a war to preserve democracy, could have implemented such a profoundly unjust and undemocratic policy.
- Meiji Japan This link opens in a new windowIn addition to preserving the household records of a samurai family and many accounts of the tea ceremony, Morse made notes on subjects as diverse as shop signs, fireworks, hairpins, agricultural tools, artistsâ studios, music, games, printing, carpentry, the Ainu, gardens, household construction, art and architecture.
- U.K. Parliamentary Papers This link opens in a new windowAccess to the British Parliamentary Papers, 1801-2016. Includes bills and acts, command papers, House of Commons papers, and more.
Historical Newspapers
- Japanese-American Relocation Camp Newspapers: Perspectives on Day-to-Day Life (Archives Unbound) This link opens in a new windowThis collection, consisting of 25 individual titles, documents life in the internment camps.
- Japan Times Archives This link opens in a new windowSearchable collection of digitized issues of The Japan Times, The Japan Advertiser, The Japan Times & Mail, The Japan Times and Advertiser, and The Nippon Times; includes issues from March 22, 1897 through the final issue of 2023.
- North-China Daily News & Herald Newspapers and Hong Lists (1850-1951) This link opens in a new windowFrom the largest British-founded press agency in Shanghai, searches a number of historical Chinese and English newspapers. Titles include The Chinese Shipping List & Advertiser, Hu Bao, Han Bao, and Xiao Xian Bao. Select English or Chinese interface from the drop down list at the upper right corner. Limited to two simultaneous users.