Broadcast News Transcripts
- World News Connection This link opens in a new window
Translated and English language news compiled from foreign media sources. Coverage includes political, environmental, scientific, technical, and socioeconomic issues and events from 1995 through 31 December 2013. Includes FBIS Reports from 2002-2005.
- Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports This link opens in a new window
The United States' principal record of political and historical open source intelligence, including transcripts of foreign broadcasts and news translated into English. Translations of print and broadcast news, Foreign Broadcast Information Service Publications 1996-2004, are available on CD-Rom. Years 1941-1996 are online in Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports.
- Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) PublicationsTranslations of print and broadcast news, 1996-2004, available on CD-Rom. Years 1941-1996 are online in Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports.
- Vanderbilt Television News Archive This link opens in a new windowIndexes network evening news broadcasts from the major US national broadcast networks: ABC, CBS, NBC, and CNN, and hours of special news-related programming including ABC's Nightline since 1989. Includes historical streaming video from NBC (since 1968) and CNN.
Online Current Newspapers
UCLA subscribes to a number of databases with current newspaper content from the last few years. If connecting from home, make sure your computer is configured for off-campus access.
- Access World News — Historical and Current This link opens in a new windowFull text world newspapers, mostly post-1980s in coverage. Especially useful for local and state news and reviews, including many California papers. Includes La Opinion.
- Alt-PressWatch This link opens in a new window
A full text database comprising more than 200 newspapers, magazines, and journals of the alternative and independent press, providing an alternative perspective to the coverage of mainstream media. Coverage is from 1970--present.
- New York Times This link opens in a new window
Full text (no ads or pictures) from 1980 to the present. For access to older issues, see ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times [1851-2020]
- Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window
Full text, from 1984 to present. For access to older issues, see ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Wall Street Journal [1889-2012].
- Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Complete text of articles from 1959 to the present from publications of the ethnic, minority, and native press. Covers news, culture, and history, and is searchable in both English and Spanish.
- Factiva This link opens in a new windowIncludes a range of recent full text international newspapers and industry/company news.
- Latin America Digital Beat / Data Base This link opens in a new windowAn online news service that produced three weekly electronic news bulletins about Mexico (SourceMex), Central America and the Caribbean including Cuba (NotiCen) and South America (NotiSur) which ceased publication April 30, 2018. Produced by the University of New Mexico. The LADB webpage and archive will remains online and accessible to current subscribers.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowFind recent newspaper and some magazine articles, biographies, legal and business news.