Skip to main content

Image Resources

This Library Research Guide is intended as a starting place for UCLA researchers, pointing to resources and strategies for finding and using image resources.

New Image Content!

Several additional modules of Archivision have been acquired by the library and are being added to the UCLA Institutional Collections in Artstor. In addition, the library recently licensed a new digital art and architecture history portal that includes excellent image content. See:

Art and Architecture ePortal

The portal allows you to locate images that accompany scholarly texts and to discover images that appear in multiple eBooks on the platform. Portal features include embedded image zoom within the online reader; 3D images and 360° views; links to repositories as available.

Added spring 2020:

UCLA Public Art Collection

The Public Art Collection consists of artwork located in public spaces across the UCLA campus that has value and aesthetic merit. It includes paintings, prints, drawings, sculpture, mosaics, and murals. It does not include decorative items, reproductions, posters, loaned work, portraits of founders (unless by noted artists), rotating student work, and photographs of campus history. It also does not include work under the curatorial purview of the Fowler Museum, the Hammer Museum, or the Medical Center Art Collection.

Added June 2019:

Archivision Library - Module 3

The third Archivision Module spans contemporary (Millennium Park in Chicago; works by Gehry, Pelli, Calatrava and Libeskind) to the ancient world (the mosaics from Villa Romana del Casale in Piazza Armerina, Sicily; Ephesus and other monuments of the Roman empire) and in between (French chateaux and gardens; Byzantine architecture in Mystras; Venice). Other highlights include holdings on Frank Lloyd Wright; major murals of Diego Rivera and coverage of Oxford photographed in May of 2007.

Archivision Library - Module 4

Module four features new architecture in London and in Los Angeles, including Gehry's Disney Concert Hall and the Franklin D. Murphy Sculpture Garden at UCLA. Two important works by Mackintosh are included: the Glasgow School of Art and the House of an Art Lover. London content also includes Chiswick House and grounds, many of Wren's churches, and art (including the cast collection) from the Victoria and Albert Museum. Classics content includes ancient Roman drawings scanned from original 19th century volumes (348 plans, sections and elevations) and Elgin marbles. Over 2000 images document Russia, notably major palaces and gardens around St Petersburg and coverage in Moscow. Mexico City, Cuernavaca, Puebla, and Taxco are also represented, as are important hôtels in Paris.

Archivision Library - Module 5

Module 5 spans a mix of time periods and geography, from works by Niemeyer in Brasilia to Bled Castle in Slovenia and Asian content such as images of the Olympic Village in Beijing and the Humble Administrator's Garden (Zhuozheng yuan) in Suzhou. Barcelona content features the work of Antonio Gaudi (Park Guell, Casa Mila and Sagrada Familia), the Barcelona Pavilion by Mies and the Fundacio Antoni Tapies. Calatrava is represented by five works, including the City of Arts and Science in Valencia. The module also includes additional works by Mackintosh, such as Queen's Cross Church. The Guggenheim Museum Bilbao and public art in Spain and the US, notably details of the mosaics at Queen Califia's Magical Circle Garden by Niki de Saint-Phalle, are also included.

Archivision Library - Module 6

Module Six contains European and Asian content photographed in 2009, including work by Le Corbusier in Paris and near Lyon, and new work in Rome, Berlin, Stockholm and Oslo. The Bauhaus in Dessau is covered extensively (including the Master houses and other important works in Dessau), as well as early modern and recent works in Berlin. For Asia, the module features extensive coverage of the Forbidden City and the Youngang Grottos in Datong, new works in Hong Kong, Shanghai and Beijing, and more.

Added July 2019:

Archivision Library - Module 7

Module Seven contains European and Asian content photographed from 2009-2011, including extensive documentation of the Pergamon Altar in the Pergamon Museum, Berlin; Georgian Architecture in Edinburgh; the Glasgow Science Center by Building Design Partnership; the Albert Hall, Albert Memorial and Hyde Park, London; and the Ara Pacis Museum in Rome by Richard Meier. Highlights from China include the Hanging Monastery and the all wood Pagoda of Fogong Temple of the Eleventh Century, both south of Datong. Content from Japan features extensive coverage of the Meiji Jingu Shrine and Audi Forum Tokyo by CDI. From the USA, the High Line Park and Apple Cube in New York, the Biglow Chapel and Guthrie Theater in Minneapolis, plus details of the National Farmer's Bank of Owatonna by Louis Sullivan, are covered among other structures (including several in Los Angeles). Cambodia content features Ankor Wat, the Royal Palace of Phnom Penh (with details of the Ramayana Frescoes), and more.

Archivision Library - Module 9

For Module Nine, Archivision undertook a major documentation of important works in the Netherlands during the summer of 2013, including Het Schip and Spaarndammerplantsoen (north and south) by Michel de Kierk. Other important works in the Netherlands include the Hilversum City Hall by Dudok, the colourful Institute for Sound and Vision by Neutelings Riedijk Architecten, the early modern (Nieuwe Bouwen) Zonnestraal estate by Jan Duiker, the famous De Stijl Schröder House by Rietveld, and a selection of art works from the Rijksmuseum Garden and museum. For new architecture from Asia this module includes Taipei 101 by C.Y. Lee & Partners, the Beijing Capital Airport, the Shanghai Tower by Gensler (still under construction) and 21_21 Design Sight by Tadao Ando in Tokyo. Palm Springs projects by Albert Frey, Richard Neutra, William Krisel, and others are also included.

Added August 2019:

Archivision Library - Module 8

Module Eight holds extensive new photography in the USA, including: Watts Towers, non-traditional vernacular architecture in Los Angeles, built over a 33-year period by Sabato Rodia; the beautiful pre-weathered steel Arabian Public Library by Richard + Bauer Architecture in Scottsdale AZ; Simmons Hall at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology by Steven Holl; and additional Los Angeles buildings, including several by Greene & Greene. Important works in Germany are covered—the modern Bauhaus Archive by Walter Gropius in Darmstadt, and in Berlin, the Library for the Faculty of Philosophy by Foster + Partners, the German Historical Museum by IM Pei, the German Chancellery by Charlotte Frank and Axel Schultes, other new government buildings around the Reichstag, and art objects in the Bode Museum, such as The Lamentation of Christ by Juan de Valmaseda.

Archivision Library - Module 10

The focus for Module Ten is the USA, with over 3500 images, many from a photo campaign in the west and southwest in 2014. Highlights in New Mexico include the UNESCO World Heritage site, the Taos Pueblo; El Rancho de Las Golondrinas near Sante Fe (a living Spanish hacienda); the New Mexico Museum of Art by Isaac Rapp (Pueblo Revival Style); and the organic architecture of the Prince House & Studio by Bart Prince. Highlights in Los Angeles include the Theme Building LAX, by Pereira & Luckman and Union Station by the Parkinsons. San Francisco content features the De Young Museum by Herzog & de Meuron; The Terrace at the California Academy of Science by Mark Cavagnero; and the Japanese Tea Garden, Golden Gate Park. Projects in Palm Springs, San Diego, and elsewhere in California are also included.

Archivision Library - Module 11

Module Eleven contains many important recent works from China, including the futuristic forms of the Dalian City Sport Center; the Dalian International Conference Center; the Dalian Shell Museum; and the Lingering Garden in Suzhou. India content features documentation of the Taj Mahal, and coverage of the Devi Jagadambi Temple complex, the Secretariat in New Delhi, the Indian Institute of Management by Louis Kahn, and more. In the USA, Colorado is featured, including through the Clyfford Still Museum in Denver by Allied Works Architecture and Iris Hollow, a New Urbanism Boulder development by Coburn. California is also represented with Bernard Maybeck works in Berkeley and additional projects in Los Angeles, Oakland, and San Francisco.

Archivision Library - Module 12

This Module features important works in Italy, including interior & exterior documentation of the Basilica of Saint Francis of Assisi; the House of Augustus in Rome; the newly opened Santa Maria Antiqua, in the Roman Forum; the Basilica of Saint'Andrea in Mantua; San Vitale and the Mausoleum of Galla Placidia in Ravenna; the Tempio Malatestiano in Rimini; and the Palazzo Pubblico, Siena. Artifacts photographed from the 2016 "Pompeii" exhibit are included, as is a signature work by I. M. Pei – Mesa Laboratory – in Boulder, innovative housing there, and two new museums in Canada. Non-Western coverage includes Tiger Hill, Suzhou, China, the Jahangir Mahal, in Orchha, India, the Temple of the Emerald Buddha (Wat Phra Kaew) in Bangkok, and from the Dakar region of Senegal, the infamous House of Slaves (now a museum and memorial) and the Sobo Bade theatre complex at Toubab Dialaw (Dialao), built in 2009. A photographic documentation of everyday life in Cambodia rounds out the module.

Archivision Library - Module B (Italian Art)

The second Italian Art Module provides 3,000 more images of art in Italy, from Ancient Roman frescoes, mosaics and sculpture to more works by the masters—paintings and sculpture—from the Medieval to Baroque periods. Extensive details, not available from other sources, were photographed during the summer of 2016.

Added September 2019:

Archivision Module C (World Art)

This art-only module expands beyond Italy to include art from France, North America and Asia. From France, highlights from the extensive oeuvre of Marc Chagall, both from the Chagall Museum in Nice and the Chagall: Colour and Music exhibit in Montréal (2017) are included. Among the works are costumes he designed for the ballet and opera, and details of the hard-to-find Chagall mosaic, ‘Moses Saved from the Waters,’ found in Vence Cathedral. The module also documents art works from the Matisse Museum in Nice, including several of his well-known cutouts, such as the striking and colorful ones made to illustrate the book ‘Jazz.’ From this part of France also come objects in the Renoir Museum at Cagnes-sur-Mer, including portraits of Renoir by Albert André.

Archivision Module D (World Art II)

This Module contains a complete documentation of the cutting-edge replica of prehistoric cave art at the new International Centre for Cave Art, Lascaux, France. Also from France are more works from both the Chagall and Matisse Museums in Nice, as well as works from the nearby Fondation Maeght. From Italy, the Legend of the True Cross frescoes by Piero della Francesca (in San Francesco, Arezzo) are featured. Florence coverage includes the newly redesigned Museo dell'Opera del Duomo, featuring the original sculptures relocated on a magnificent recreation of the original façade (destroyed 1587) as well as coverage of Santissima Annunziata, Chiostrino dei Voti frescoes. This module also completes the interior coverage of the Palazzo del Te, Mantua, by Giulio Romano, including the Sala dei Giganti.

Archivision Module 13

Module Thirteen's focus is new architecture in Italy, France and the USA. From the USA is a complete documentation of the futuristic Florida Polytechnic University by Calatrava; from Italy, the CityLifeMilano Residential Complex by Zaha Hadid, the nearby Allianz Tower by Andrea Maffei and Arata Isozaki, the green Bosco Verticale by Boeri Studio (all in Milan); and the 25 Verde (Green) by Luciano Pia in Turin. Works from France include the amazing Pierres Vives (library) by Zaha Hadid; and the Green Cube (Euronews Headquarters) and Orange Cube (a wharf redevelopment project) by Jakob + MacFarlane in Lyon. The module showcases many Modernist works including the Lingotto Building (auto factory built by Fiat) in Turin by Giacomo Matté-Trucco.

Added December 2019:

Archivision Module 14

This Module's focus is Islamic architecture in Andalusia, Spain; including the Alhambra complex in Granada. The module also documents the Mezquita in Cordoba, including the building phases of this from Visigothic/Byzantine to Umayyad and Renaissance; included are the Villaviciosa, Royal and Santa Teresa Chapels. Important works from Portugal, such as the garden of the Palace of the Marquesses of Fronteira, with its playful azulejo tiles and grottoes; selections from the National Tile Museum, and the famous Convent of Madre Deus are also featured. The Bom Jesus do Monte pilgrimage church outside Braga is included, with documentation of the Baroque stairs. Also from Portugal is the Palace of Sintra with azulejos found throughout the palace and the 16th C. Sala dos Brasões.