Skip to main content

Image Resources

This Library Research Guide is intended as a starting place for UCLA researchers, pointing to resources and strategies for finding and using image resources.

Architecture and Design Librarian, and Team Lead for Collections

Janine Henri's picture
Janine Henri
Contact:
Arts Library
1400 Public Affairs Building
Box 951392
Los Angeles, CA 90095-1392

Janine is available for reference and research consultations for:

Architecture and Urban Design
Design Media Arts
Image Resources
310-206-4587
Website

Access to Print Resources (as of 3/20/20)

 

As part of UCLA's transition to remote instruction, and the Library's necessary decision to close all Library locations, access to print resources and special collections is not available. Please take advantage of electronic resources such as ebooks and article databases. The UCLA community can connect to these online resources off-campus via the VPN or proxy server. Interlibrary loan is still available for electronic journal articles; however, ebooks cannot be borrowed on interlibrary loan. You can also temporarily access digitized print books via HathiTrust.

The library is also extending access to our print collection beyond what's available in HathiTrust through the Pilot Emergency Temporary Digititzation on Request Service (PETDOR). Please review the PETDOR FAQ for guidance on using this service. 

For help with any of our resources, please schedule an appointment with a librarian (audio/video Zoom appointments available), contact your subject librarian directly, or use our 24/7 chat service.    

    

Image Research in the UCLA Library

Welcome to the UCLA Library guide for locating image resources. 

You may wish to begin by reviewing the Finding Images: Image Research at the UCLA Library presentation. This presentation was prepared for a UCLA Library Workshop Offered in May 2020.

This guide is intended as a starting place for UCLA researchers: use the tabs on the left to locate frequently recommended resources such as how to cite images, rights and reproductions, and a list of online image collections.

If you need additional assistance with your research, please do not hesitate to contact me!

How to Select a Database or Reference Source for your Image Research Topic

Factors to consider:

  • Subjects included 
  • Time periods covered
  • Descriptive Information provided (and the reliability or sources of this information)
  • How comprehensive or how selective the collection might be
  • Special features that allow you to refine searches
  • Display, download resolution, or citation generation options
  • Rights and Permissions

You might ask yourself:

  • Who (what institution, organization, profession, or expert) might have collected images relevant to your topic? (Do they provide access to their collections?)
  • Where might relevant images have been published or distributed? (In a database? Through an institutional or professional group's website?)
  • Has a research guide, book, encyclopedia article, exhibition catalog, or dissertation, been published on the topic? (Check bibliographies and lists of illustration sources.) More information about print indexes to published images is available on the Find Images in Books page.

Image Formats