State and Local Level
- California Department of Public Health Data and StatisticsThe Vital Records Data and Statistics cover a wide variety of health topics suitable for community health assessments, research for government and private studies, and public inquiry. Further, the programs within the Vital Records Data and Statistics include the Medical Marijuana Identification Card Program and the End of Life Option Act.
- California DHCS Data and StatisticsThis site is sponsored by the California Department of Health Care Services and provides statistics and reports produced by Department programs as well as links to other data related to DHCS programs.
- California Health Interview SurveyProvided by the UCLA Center for Health Policy Research, the California Department of Health Services, and the Public Health Institute, this site offers data gathered in the California Health Interview Survey, performed every two years. (Requires free registration)
- State and County QuickFactsQuickFacts is a part of the U.S. Census Bureau site, and provides demographic information on a state and county level. In addition to summary data, the site also provides links to more in-depth information sources.
- State Health Facts OnlineThis site is sponsored by the Kaiser Family Foundation and provides information on a number of health and demographic indicators.
- North American City Reports (via Policy Commons) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Full text of surveys, budgets, statistical records, case studies, planning documents, training manuals, policy guidelines, reports, and news from the five hundred largest cities in North America. It also includes select materials from hundreds of related agencies and non-governmental organizations.
United States, National Level
- Explore Census Data (formerly American FactFinder)This is a new platform for accessing U.S. census data. American FactFinder moved to this new platform on March 31, 2020.
- CDC Health PublicationsThe National Center for Health Statistics provides detailed health statistics for the United States. See “Hints for Use” for help on how to use the files.
- Dartmouth Atlas of Health CareUsing Medicare data, this project analyzes national and regional distribution of health care resources, such as cost of care, hospital and physician distribution, and Medicare reimbursement. The interactive website allows users to customize maps and charts.
- DATA2010DATA2010 reports results of the “Healthy People 2010: Objectives for Improving Health” program. The program tracks data on 487 objectives in 28 focus areas for the United States as a whole and at the state level.
- FastStats A-ZProvided by the National Center for Health Statistics, this site is composed of an index that links to quick statistical information sheets on a multitude of topics and geographic areas. The fact sheets in turn link to relevant statistical sources.
- Morbidity and Mortality Weekly ReportThe Center for Disease Control's weekly report provides up-to-date information about illness compiled from state health departments.
International Level
- ChildinfoThis UNICEF site provides access to current statistical data from around the world, with a focus on children and women.
- Demographic and Health SurveysThis site provides data compiled by the U.S. Agency for International Development regarding health in developing nations.
- IDB Summary Demographic DataThe U.S. Census Bureau provides summary demographic data on a country-by-country basis.
- United Nations Statistics DivisionThis site provides a listing of national statistical publications and websites, as well as detailed information about how data are collected and analyzed.
- WHO Global Health ObservatoryThe World Health Organization (WHO) provides a wide variety of health-related statistics on an international level.