Research Guides: Archaeology: Books

Research Assistance

Research assistance in the social sciences and humanities is available at the Charles E. Young Research Library. See Reference and Research Help for complete reference service options.

UC Library Search This link opens in a new window
UC Library Search is the unified discovery and borrowing system for all 10 UC Campuses. Select the UCLA Library Catalog scope to search holdings of materials owned by the UCLA Library and other UCLA collections, whether online or in print. Does not contain full-text articles or article citations. Select the Articles, books and more scope to search for materials in all 10 UC campuses. More information in this guide.
OPAC, SRLF, UCLA Library Catalog

The advanced search in UC Library Search will help you conduct a more complex search of the system.

In advanced search you can:

use radio buttons to toggle between search profiles
search a specific field of the catalog record (title, author, call number, subject heading etc.)
decide whether your search contains, is (exact wording), or starts with the words you type in
select boolean operators from a dropdown menu
add additional lines to your search to search different fields or keep track of your search terms
limit by material type or format, language, and date (see refining your results for additional options)

To use the advanced search feature, select the advanced search button to the right of the search bar.

The bar will expand and display the advanced search menu.

Some full-text books can be found in these databases:

eHRAF Collection of Archaeology This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text, indexed collections of documents on archaeological traditions, subtraditions, and important sites worldwide, from Human Relations Area Files, Inc.
Anthropology;archeology
Anthropology; hraf; human relations area files; file; archeology
eHRAF World Cultures This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides complete text of ethnographic resources (mainly books, also articles and manuscripts) on cultures from around the world, past and present, indexed by culture and subject in a unique scheme. The electronic version of the Human Relations Area File.
ethnography, cultural anthropology, outline of world cultures, hraf; human relations area file; files; ethnographic
ethnography, cultural anthropology, outline of world cultures, hraf; human relations area file; files; ethnographic

Is there a book that you think the library should have? You can recommend a book purchase here.