Librarian
Online Resources: Concise Information
- Oxford Dictionary of PhilosophyEntries include over 500 biographies of famous and influential philosophers, in-depth analysis of philosophical terms and concepts, and coverage of themes from Chinese, Indian, Islamic, and Jewish philosophy
- Oxford Companion to PhilosophyCovers all areas of philosophy and the ideas of all notable philosophers from antiquity to the present day. Includes articles on current topics, such as animal consciousness, cloning, corporate responsibility, the family, globalization, and terrorism.
- Who's Who in the Classical WorldDictionary of ancient biography, covering Greek and Roman history and politics, literature, philosophy, science, and art
Online Resources: In-depth Information
- Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy OnlineArticles can be browsed alphabetically or by philosophical themes, philosophies, historical periods, and religions. Full text entries can be searched by keyword, contributor, or bibliography.
- Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Dynamic reference work refereed by experts in the field
- The Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy (IEP)Peer reviewed. Scholarly information on key topics and philosophers in all areas of philosophy.
- Philosophy CompassAlthough this is an online journal, it contains peer-reviewed surveys of current research from all areas of philosophy. It is a good starting place for the non-specialist or for someone branching out into an unfamiliar topic or area of philosophy.
