General Reference
Research assistance in dentistry is available at the Louise M. Darling Biomedical Library. See Reference and Research Help for complete reference service options.
Patient Care Handouts
- Access Medicine This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
From the AccessMedicine homepage, click on the "Patient Ed" tab to view the titles of the handouts. This resource includes approximately 100 patient education handouts on broad, common topics such as "macular degeneration." Each handout summarizes basic information about a condition and provides treatment options, and is between 1-3 pages in length. The handouts are drawn from the archive of McGraw-Hill's Postgraduate Medicine: The Practical Peer-Reviewed Journal for Primary Care Physicians.
- ADA Evidence DatabaseThis database contains guidelines, systematic reviews, and critical summaries for clinicians, and plain language summaries for patients.
- MedlinePlus This link opens in a new windowMedlinePlus is a service of the National Library of Medicine and the National Institutes of Health. MedlinePlus pulls together quality health information from a variety of sources, and includes information on drugs and supplements, an illustrated medical encyclopedia, interactive tutorials, health news, and much more. Most content is available in Spanish and various other languages. It does not include printable patient care handouts, but it is free. It can be accessed on any computer with a web browser and an Internet connection.
- MICROMEDEX Healthcare Series This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
From the Micromedex splash page, select "CareNotes System." Use the search box to search for topics, or use the tabs at the top to browse the available handouts. - Stat!Ref This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
All STAT!Ref products provide access to AAFP Conditions A-Z, and USP DI Advice for the Patient.
Finding Drug Information
These specialized sources may prove useful at various points in your research. All items listed below are located in the Biomedical Library's Reference Stacks, (located behind the elevators on the 1st floor) unless otherwise indicated.
- Lab and FormularyOnly available for users on the MedNet network.
- MICROMEDEXSearch for information about drugs and substances. MICROMEDEX includes the full-text of the PDR, USP-DI, Martindale’s, and many others. It also includes information about alternative therapies, patient handouts, and dosing tools. The database is updated quarterly, making it an ideal resource for information about new drugs.
Clinical Guidelines
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowUse the Article Types filter to limit to guidelines or practice guidelines.