Life Sciences

Covering every aspect of animal behaviour from adaptation to warning, this accessible A-Z also includes terms from the related fields of ecology, physiology and psychology. Clear and informative entries on topics such as communication, learning, and navigation are backed up by examples and illustrations where appropriate. The new edition adds 80 new entries, expands coverage of behavioural ecology, cognitive ethology, and evolutionary theory, and brings the text up to date with new theories and research

Written in a clear, accessible style, this authoritative and wide-ranging dictionary contains entries on all aspects of ecology and related environmental scientific disciplines such as biogeography, genetics, soil science, geomorphology, atmospheric science, and oceanography. Entries cover topics such as plant and animal physiology, animal behaviour, pollution, conservation, habitat management, population, evolution, environmental pollution, climatology, and meteorology. It also includes many line drawings and useful appendices.

Completely revised and updated with over 250 new entries, the third edition of this dictionary offers broad coverage of all aspects related to the field of plant sciences including biochemistry, plant physiology, cytology, ecology, genetics, evolution, biogeography, earth history, and earth sciences. New entries such as evo-devo, sister relationship, polytomy, and parallel sequencing make this the most up-to-date and comprehensive dictionary available.

The dynamic nature of science and scientific progress has required a completely revised, updated and expanded version of this hugely successful book, which remains the most wide-ranging and comprehensive dictionary for the study of natural history in its broadest sense. There are over 11,000 entries, providing a working dictionary for students, teachers, researchers and others having an interest within the broad arena of biodiversity studies. The coverage cuts across classical disciplines (botany, zoology, bacteriology, mineralogy, palaeontology, etc.), focusing particularly on concepts, strategies and methodologies. New information in the book reflects major scientific developments, hence special attention is given to terminology relating to molecular techniques and to terminology generated by recent initiatives in the study of biological diversity and global climate change.

Animal Behavior Desk Reference, A Dictionary of Behavior, Ecology, and Evolution, Third Edition contains more than 800 new terms and definitions, 48 new figures, and thousands of additions and improvements. Using a dictionary format to present definitions in a standard, easily accessible manner, the book's main body emphasizes conceptual terms, rather than anatomical parts or taxonomic terms, and focuses on nouns, rather than verbs or adjectives. Term hierarchies are handled with bulleted entries and terms with multiple definitions are included as superscripted entries. All sources are cited and most are paraphrased to conform to uniform style and length. The dictionary also includes nontechnical and obsolete terms, synonyms, pronunciations, and notes and comments, as well as etymologies, term originators, and related facts. Appendices address organism names, organizations, and databases. Devoted to the precise and correct use of scientific language, this third edition of a bestsellingastandard enables students and scientists alike to communicate their findings and promote the efficient advancement of science. "

The lingo of soil science is a language unto itself. Soil and Environmental Science Dictionary is a glossary of terms used in soil and environmental science, including terms from related disciplines. Designed for teachers, students, researchers and others interested or involved in environmental sciences related to soils, this compilation includes all terms and definitions from the current Canadian Society of Soil Science (CSSS) glossary as well as from various other sources such as the Soil Science Society of America and the Soil and Water Conservation Society. Soil and Environmental Science Dictionary defines terms accurately and clearly for professionals working in areas such as agronomy, building construction, civil engineering, forestry, environmental science and planning, geology, hydrology, petrology, and plant science.

The Concise Illustrated Dictionary of Biocontrol Terms includes basic terminology related to the biological control of pests, together with state-of-the-art scientific and practical terms, for expedient comprehension and analysis of present, forecasted or in situ pest management problems. In addition, it also provides the names of the most common pesticides and predators commercially available in different continents (Americas, Europe, Asia, Australia, Africa), as well as target pests and diseases of these agents, making it a tangible tool for prompt management actions. The dictionary is copiously illustrated with original pictures clarifying the most commonly used terms and the identity of organisms in biocontrol technology, with content that is both scientifically rigorous and clear. The biological control of pests using living organisms, or products from their activities, is an independent branch of science based on multiple disciplines including general biology, zoology, entomology, phytopathology, microbiology and others. As a result, the field of biological control has its own specific terminology that needs to be understood and applied correctly across this variety of disciplines, including among those approaching the field from a different area of expertise and who may have difficulty understanding the terms used by experts in the field. This compact illustrated guide will appeal to the scientific community working in integrated pest management disciplines, as well as those researching, studying, and working with interest in protecting natural resources at a global, local, and individual level, in a variety of locations including the lab, garden, field, or forest.

The Encyclopedia of Animal Behavior has engaged the efforts of many behavioral biologists of the 21st century. Section editors have enrolled an international cast of thinkers and writers in illuminating every imaginable corner of animal behavior. This work covers not only the usual topics such as communication, learning, sexual selection, navigation, and the history of the field, but also emerging topics in cognition, animal welfare, conservation, and applications of animal behavior.

With its 104 chapters, this Encyclopedia of aquatic ecotoxicology reveals the diversity of issues, problems and challenges that have faced, and are facing today, receiving environments. It also indicates ways by which tools, strategies and future investigations can contribute to correct, minimize, solve and prevent water quality degradation. Structured homogeneously, the chapters convey salient information on historical background, features, characteristics, uses and/or applications of treated topics, often complemented by illustrations and case studies, as well as by conclusions and prospects. This work is most suitable for teaching purposes. Academics, for example, could literally deliver comprehensive lectures to students simply based on chapter outlines and contents.

This two-volume set provides a one-stop resource on invasive plants, animals, fungi, and microorganisms that are threatening native ecosystems, agriculture, economies, and human health in the United States. * 79 entries on animal species and 89 entries on plants, including some fungi and microorganisms * State-by-state lists of invasive animals and plants designated as noxious or invasive * Maps accompany each entry, depicting the organism's original habitat and the regions to which it has now spread * Tables on pathways of introduction and impacts of invasive plants * Hundreds of photographs of featured plants, animals, and fungi * A glossary of terms related to the biology and ecology of invasive species * Appendixes containing information on organizations and legislation related to the prevention or control of invasive species

This volume is a comprehensive reference work on the life, labors and influence of the great evolutionist Charles Darwin. With more than sixty essays written by an international group representing the leading scholars in the field, this is the definitive work on Darwin. It covers the background to Darwin's discovery of the theory of evolution through natural selection, the work he produced and his contemporaries' reactions to it, and evaluates his influence on science in the 150 years since the publication of On the Origin of Species. It also explores the implications of Darwin's discoveries in religion, politics, gender, literature, culture, philosophy and medicine, critically evaluating Darwin's legacy. Fully illustrated and clearly written, it is suitable for scholars and students as well as the general reader. The wealth of information it provides about the history of evolutionary thought makes it a crucial resource for understanding the controversies that surround evolution today.

The language of ecology has grown rapidly and changed extensively over the last decade. From Arrhenotoky to Psammosere; from the One-tailed test to Zoocoenosis, the Blackwell Concise Encyclopedia of Ecology provides concise, non-technical definitions of over 2000 ecological terms, covering the complete spectrum of pure and applied ecological research. The definitions are drawn from the Encyclopedia of Ecology and Environmental Management, and are fully cross-referenced. This is the most comprehensive and up-to-date dictionary of ecological terms available. It should be invaluable to students and researchers alike.

Earth is home to an estimated 8 million animal species, 600,000 fungi, 300,000 plants, and an undetermined number of microbial species.  Of these animal, fungal, and plant species, an estimated 75% have yet to be identified.  Moreover, the interactions between these species and their physical environment are known to an even lesser degree.  At the same time, the earth's biota faces the prospect of climate change, which may manifest slowly or extremely rapidly, as well as a human population set to grow by two billion by 2045 from the current seven billion.  Given these major ecological changes, we cannot wait for a complete biota data set before assessing, planning, and acting to preserve the ecological balance of the earth.  This book provides comprehensive coverage of the scientific and engineering basis of the systems ecology of the earth in 15 detailed, peer-reviewed entries written for a broad audience of undergraduate and graduate students as well as  practicing professionals in government, academia, and industry.  The methodology presented aims at identifying key interactions and environmental effects, and enabling a systems-level understanding even with  our present state of factual knowledge.

The four volumes of Plant Life suvey 379 topics, alphabetically arranged from Acid precipitation to Zygomycetes. In the tradition of Magill reference, each essay is offered in a statndard format: title by key work, categories(subdisciplines), brief definition or synopsis, text broken by infomative subheads, see also cross-references, and annotated Sources for Further Study. The Key concepts are italicized throughout. These features are designed to help students navigate through the text and identify passages of interest in context.

The Handbook identifies all aspects of Regulatory Plant Biosecurity and discusses them from the standpoint of preventing the international movement of plant pests, diseases and weeds that negatively impact production agriculture, natural plant-resources and agricultural commerce.

This comprehensive handbook provides a unique resource covering all aspects of forest ecology from a global perspective. It covers both natural and managed forests, from boreal, temperate, sub-tropical and tropical regions of the world. The book is divided into seven parts, addressing the following themes:  forest types  forest dynamics  forest flora and fauna  energy and nutrients  forest conservation and management  forests and climate change  human impacts on forest ecology.  While each chapter can stand alone as a suitable resource for a lecture or seminar, the complete book provides an essential reference text for a wide range of students of ecology, environmental science, forestry, geography and natural resource management. Contributors include leading authorities from all parts of the world.

It is estimated that roughly 1000 new ecological and environmental models join the ranks of the scientific literature each year. The international peer-reviewed literature reports some 20,000 new models spanning the period from 1970-2010. Just to keep abreast of the field it is necessary to design a handbook of models that doesn't merely list them, but rather draws the state-of-the-art development of models for ecosystem and environmental management. Published first in 1996, Handbook of Models Applied in Ecosystem and Environmental Management applies precisely this approach to review current models applied in ecosystem-wide as well as environmentally specific management.

Continuing in the tradition of its bestselling predecessor, the Handbook of Ecological Indicators for Assessment of Ecosystem Health, Second Edition brings together world-class editors and contributors who have been at the forefront of ecosystem health assessment research for decades, to provide a sound approach to environmental management and sustainable development. Significantly updated and expanded, this authoritative resource details a proven framework for selecting, evaluating, and validating ecological indicators for ecosystem health assessment. It guides readers through the application of this framework to a wide range of ecosystems, including wetlands, estuaries, coastal zones, lakes, forests, marine ecosystems, lagoons, agricultural systems, landscapes, and rivers. The text synthesizes material from a variety of books, journals, and private research, to consider biodiversity, energy needs, ecological economics, and natural capital in the measurement of ecological health. Organized for ease of reference, the first part of the handbook provides the required theoretical background. It presents a complete overview of all relevant ecological indicators, oincluding thermodynamics, resilience estimates, exergy, and emergy indicators. The second part focuses on how to effectively apply the ecological indicators to a number of important ecosystems. It includes many examples and case studies that clearly illustrate the advantages and disadvantages of each method for specific applications.