Why Dictionaries?
You want to sure you are using the correct word to express your ideas. If you are not sure, you should check the definition in a dictionary.
- Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new windowIncludes the complete text of the Oxford English Dictionary, 2nd ed. plus quarterly updates of new and revised entries. Trace the origin and history of words and their meanings in this etymological dictionary.
- Merriam Webster OnlineA commercial site that has both a dictionary and thesaurus.
Why Encyclopedias?
Encyclopedias are a good place to start if you need an overview of a topic you are unfamiliar with. They will often include a bibliography of sources that you can consult for more information.
The links below lead you to a selection of encyclopedia titles/collections that might be relevant to your topics. Some of the links are to groups of titles from a single publisher--you can select those that seem appropriate to your topic.
- Gale E-Books (formerly Gale Virtual Reference Library) This link opens in a new windowA volume on this website, Gender: Matter has an article on Labor that provides interesting background.
- International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral SciencesSearching for "women AND labor" results in over 600 hits -- you may want to add another term to narrow the results.
- Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
Spans 25 different subject areas, bringing together digitized entries across Oxford University Press’s Dictionaries, Companions and Encyclopedias. UC subscription allows limited simultaneous users, so if you can't connect try again later. Please note: UCLA Library has access to a selected number of Oxford reference titles, and not the entire set.
- SAGE Knowledge This link opens in a new windowE-books and reference works in the social sciences. Includes scholarly monographs, reference works, handbooks, series, professional development titles, and more. Includes books published by both Sage and CQ Press. UCLA subscribes to only a small fraction of the books available, and not all content from Sage.