Research Assistance
Databases
This is a very select list of available article databases. If you want to look for others, go to this page and click through to your discipline (political science, sociology, history, etc.). Here you will find a selection of the most useful databases for each discipline listed.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Full text of core scholarly journals from their beginning to approximately five years ago. Disciplines include botany, business, ecology, general science, humanities, mathematics, social sciences, statistics. Browsable by discipline and full-text searchable across all disciplines. UCLA has access to selected JSTOR e-books.
- Literature Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Also known as LION. An array of literary databases (including the full text of poems, plays, and fiction), reference works (including bibliographies, encyclopedias, etc.), and links to other Web resources for the study of literature. The complete text of journal articles is available on the database for all or some of the journals indexed. Fully searchable texts of over 250,000 works in English and American Literature. - Gale Literature Criticism This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Searchable database that provides access to the literary criticism collections Classical and Medieval Literary Criticism (CMLC), Contemporary Literary Criticism (CLC), Drama Criticism (DC), Literature Criticism from 1400-1800 (LC), Nineteenth-Century Literary Criticism (NCLC), Poetry Criticism (PC), Shakespeare Criticism (SC), Short Story Criticism (SSC), and Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism (TCLC). - Gale Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Biographies, bibliographies, and critical analysis of authors from every age and literary discipline. Covers more than 120,000 novelists, poets, essayists, journalists, and other writers. Combines the core Gale Group literary databases: Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Criticism, and Dictionary of Literary Biography. Complements Literature Criticism Online. - Periodicals Index Online (PIO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index to articles published in over 7,000 periodicals in the arts, humanities and social sciences, covering the period 1665-1995. Full text of many articles can be found in Periodicals Archive Online. - Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text of current issues (from about 1990) of scholarly journals published by university presses, chiefly in the arts, humanities and social sciences. Browsable by discipline and full-text searchable across all disciplines. UCLA has access to Muse e-books published from 2017-present, plus a selected number of other e-book titles.
Journals
- Brontë studies : journal of the Brontë SocietySubjects covered:
Brontë Society -- Periodicals
Brontë family - Victorian studiesSubjects covered:
Littérature anglaise -- 19e siècle -- Histoire et critique -- Périodiques
Civilisation -- Périodiques
Civilization
English literature
English literature -- 19th century -- History and criticism -- Periodicals
Great Britain
4.240
Great Britain -- History -- Victoria, 1837-1901 -- Periodicals
Great Britain -- Civilization -- Periodicals
1800-1901 - Studies in the novelSubjects covered:
Fiction -- History and criticism -- Periodicals
Roman -- Histoire et critique -- Périodiques
Fiction - Victorian literature and cultureSubjects covered:
English literature -- 19th century -- History and criticism -- Periodicals
Civilization
English literature
Cultuur
Victoriaanse tijd
Great Britain -- Civilization -- 19th century -- Periodicals
Great Britain
Browning, Elizabeth Barrett, 1806-1861
Browning, Robert, 1812-1889
1800-1899 - Nineteenth-Century gender studiesSubjects covered:
Sex role in literature -- History -- 19th century -- Periodicals
Sex role in art -- History -- 19th century -- Periodicals
Gender identity in literature -- Periodicals
Gender identity in art -- Periodicals
English literature -- 19th century -- History and criticism -- Periodicals
English literature
Gender identity in art
Gender identity in literature
Sex role in art
Sex role in literature
1800-1899
Literature - General
Additional Documentation
ProQuest, the company that published Early English Books Online and LiON, has put together training guides for both resources. If you'd like additional training on how to use either, please check them out.
Style Manuals and Guides
- Bruin Success with Less StressEverything you need to know about citing sources and avoiding plagiarism in the course of your research.
