Miscellaneous but Useful
Complementing the items listed in your class syllabus are other resources.
-
Quotations can be found in many places. Bartlett's Familiar Quotations has been around for decades. The 18th edition has been digitized and is available in the Internet Archive. Once you get to the Internet Archive website, you can create an account and check out the book for an hour at a time.
Primary resource databases often include diaries. You just have to search in them to see what is there. Here are a few databases that might help.
- The Sixties: Primary Documents and Personal Narratives This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This searchable database brings the 1960s alive through diaries, letters, autobiographies and other memoirs, written and oral histories, manifestos, government documents, memorabilia, and scholarly commentary. The database covers subjects in arts, music, and leisure, civil rights, counter-culture, law and government, mass media, new left and emerging neo-conservative movement, student activism, Vietnam War, women's movement, etc.
- North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries, and Oral Histories This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Personal view of what it meant to immigrate to America and Canada between 1800 and 1950. Composed of contemporaneous letters and diaries, oral histories, interviews, and other personal narratives, the series provides a rich source for scholars in a wide range of disciplines. In selected cases, users will be able to hear the actual audio voices of the immigrants. - Manuscript Women's Letters and Diaries This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Manuscript Women's Letters and Diaries from the American Antiquarian Society brings together 105,000 pages of the personal writings of women of the 18th, 19th, and 20th centuries, displayed as high-quality images of the original manuscripts, Semantically Indexed and online for the first time. The collection is drawn entirely from the extensive holdings of the American Antiquarian Society. It currently contains over 103,000 pages.
Online Archive of California
The Online Archive of California has finding aids for primary source collections in all UC campuses and other contributing institutions, including libraries, special collections, archives, historical societies, and museums throughout California. To find items that are at UCLA, search the words diary or diaries or journal. You will have look at the resulting list to see if any are related to your topic. If you find something you want to look at, you will need to request it through the UCLA Library Catalog.
Why Dictionaries?
You want to sure you are using the correct word to express your ideas. If you are not sure, you should check the definition in a dictionary.
- Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes the complete text of the Oxford English Dictionary, 2nd ed. plus quarterly updates of new and revised entries. Trace the origin and history of words and their meanings in this etymological dictionary.
- Merriam Webster OnlineA commercial site that has both a dictionary and thesaurus.