James O. Page Papers
The Professional Archives of the Father of Modern EMS
The James O. Page Collection is an umbrella for what will be a continuously growing archive and library of EMS history absed on the work of numerous participants in and contributors to the field.
The James O. Page Papers are a subset of the Collection. The Papers are the individual archives of Page himself—his correspondence, publications, speeches, photographs, recordings, and other files which he generated and used throughout the course of his career.
A finding aid to the dozens of cartons of Page's files is available on the Online Archive of California: James O. Page Papers (Collection 461)
A.J. Heightman, current editor-in-chief of JEMS and a member of the collection’s Advisory Committee, described the Papers’ value: “Part of Jim Page’s legacy was his ability to sense and capture important and historic events and projects as they were occurring. His files and records he left us reflect this and will enable us to preserve and pass on this important information to future generations of emergency responders and system administrators.”
Online Selections From The James O. Page Papers
The following is a small sample from the thousands of documents in the James O. Page Papers. We are working with our Advisory Committee to identify important speeches, reports, publications, conference materials and other items from Jim Page’s professional files, to digitize and make available online. Items may be downloaded from this website and used for “fair use” personal reading and research, but please contact us for permission to excerpt or re-publish. When many more documents are mounted online, they will be presented through the UCLA Digital Library and will be fully searchable. Our next goal will be to provide opportunities for readers to interact with documents in a “wiki” manner by providing commentary and sharing insights about the importance and impact of items from the collections.
The list of online documents, below, will continue to grow as we select more manuscripts, publications, and audio and video excerpts from the Page Papers.
In each of the descriptions listed below, “JOP” stands for “James O. Page.”
History of EMS: Landmark documents and historical reviews
Emergency Medical Services Act of 1973
California Assembly Select Committee on Fire Services
CPR (Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation)
Mobile Intensive Care
EMS Education: Courses, curricula, and syllabi
AUPHA (Association of University Programs in Health Administration) EMS Services Planning Course (1975-1977)
AUPHA (Association of University Programs in Health Administration) EMS Services Manpower and Training Course (1976)
EMS Today
University of Pennsylvania EMS Administration Course (Philadelphia, PA: 1975)
Publishing and Publications
JEMS
Paramedics International
Speeches and Lectures
-
“The second generation of paramedics” (video) by JOP (his final speech, about the history of EMS); Emergency Medical Services Academy 2004 Graduation, University of New Mexico Health Sciences Center (Albuquerque, NM: 2004)
Media
class="panel-pane pane-entity-field pane-node-body"> class="pane-content"> class="field field--name-body field--type-text-with-summary field--label-hidden"> class="field__items"> class="field__item even">The Towering Inferno
Harwood County Rescue Squad
A teleplay by JOP, “based on real people and real events. The characterizations are largely derived from the writer’s personal experiences with the volunteers of Haywood County rescue Squad in Canton and Waynesville, North Carolina.”