English Reading Room Librarian
Research Help
Need more research help? We're here for you.
Chat with us online
Email us your quick questions
Connect with a subject specialist
A small selection of journal titles relevant to Postcolonial Literature
Journal Article Indexes and Bibliographic Databases
You can find scholarship about your topic in secondary resources such as scholarly and peer-reviewed journal articles, academic monographs and book chapters. Here is a short list of useful databases, including resources for researching scholarly resources in religion, history, and literature. You can locate other relevant databases by going to the Library's electronic resources database and looking up articles databases by subject area. For this class you may also be interested in looking at several different subject areas! If connecting from home, make sure your computer is configured for off-campus access.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database that indexes over 10,000 publications, with the complete text of over 5,500 periodicals, including a mix of peer-reviewed journals, magazines, and newspapers.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text of core scholarly journals from their beginning to approximately five years ago. Disciplines include botany, business, ecology, general science, humanities, mathematics, social sciences, statistics. Browsable by discipline and full-text searchable across all disciplines. UCLA has access to selected JSTOR e-books. - Gale Literature Criticism This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Searchable database that provides access to the literary criticism collections Classical and Medieval Literary Criticism (CMLC), Contemporary Literary Criticism (CLC), Drama Criticism (DC), Literature Criticism from 1400-1800 (LC), Nineteenth-Century Literary Criticism (NCLC), Poetry Criticism (PC), Shakespeare Criticism (SC), Short Story Criticism (SSC), and Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism (TCLC). - Literature Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Also known as LION. An array of literary databases (including the full text of poems, plays, and fiction), reference works (including bibliographies, encyclopedias, etc.), and links to other Web resources for the study of literature. The complete text of journal articles is available on the database for all or some of the journals indexed. Fully searchable texts of over 250,000 works in English and American Literature. - Gale Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Biographies, bibliographies, and critical analysis of authors from every age and literary discipline. Covers more than 120,000 novelists, poets, essayists, journalists, and other writers. Combines the core Gale Group literary databases: Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Criticism, and Dictionary of Literary Biography. Complements Literature Criticism Online. - MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes worldwide publications on literature, language, linguistics, folklore, film, television, and theater from 1923 to the present. See also the MLA Directory of Periodicals. - Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text of current issues (from about 1990) of scholarly journals published by university presses, chiefly in the arts, humanities and social sciences. Browsable by discipline and full-text searchable across all disciplines. UCLA has access to Muse e-books published from 2017-present, plus a selected number of other e-book titles.
What about Google Scholar?
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.
Since Google Scholar will give you search results including books from Google Books, articles, citations, papers in institutional repositories, etc., you will need to carefully examine the search results to see if the resource is what you need for your project. You may need to track down a print or electronic copy through UCLA library resources if the full content of the work is not available online through Google Scholar.