The department to contact for on-campus and off-campus housing, assisting students with stay-overs, move in/move out, dining payments, and housing options.
Immediate, emergency housing for students in crises. Students may have access to university-owned housing for up to 14 days.
Student-run organization providing temporary housing for students experiencing homelessness
Off ers students who commute long distances to campus as well as those experiencing some form of housing insecurity a space for study and napping on campus. Two locations are based at the John Wooden Center and Strathmore Building.
Edelman Westside Mental Health Center provides mental health services to adults 18 years old and up. They can help those experiencing homelessness, who may be low-income, or who may not have the ability to pay.
CAPS o ffers services designed to support the mental health needs of UCLA Students. CAPS provides both in-person and telehealth services. For urgent matters or after-hours counseling by phone, please contact CAPS at 310-825-0768
The Arthur Ashe Student Health and Wellness Center (The Ashe Center) is devoted to providing quality, accessible, state-of-the-art healthcare and education to support the unique development of all UCLA students.
Their comprehensive services include Primary Care, Gynecology Services, Immunizations, Travel Medicine, Physical Therapy, Specialty Clinics, Radiology & Laboratory, and Acupuncture – all under one roof! Students can schedule appointments online, in person, or by phone and can communicate with their primary care providers via secure electronic messaging. AfterHours, students can call our 24/7 Nurseline for advice and information or log in to LiveHealth Online for a telemedicine visit on their mobile device.
The Ashe Center is also offers additional services in the Ackerman Student Union, a full-service optometry center, U See LA Optometry, on Ackerman B-Level and the Bruin Health Pharmacy (Ackerman A-Level).
The RISE Center's core mission is to uplift and support every Bruin’s well-being by providing the education, resources, and tools needed to foster health, healing, and hope for themselves and the world around them.
As an extension of UCLA Counseling and Psychological Services (CAPS), the RISE Center is committed to helping students build a strong foundation of resilience that includes caring for their mental wellness through daily practice.
All services are free of cost and include an array of workshops, trainings, drop-in consultations, and self-directed resources. Programs are offered both in the RISE Center and in collaboration with students, staff, and partners across campus.
The Collegiate Recovery Program (CRP) within the Bruin Resource Center supports UCLA students who are in or interested in recovery from substance use disorders and addictive behaviors through campus advocacy, education, academic assistance, and sober social events.
CRP hosts open AA meetings every Wednesday from 2:30 to 4 PM in Ackerman Union Meeting Room #2410.
The UCLA Teaching Kitchen was developed as an educational, interactive space to meet the needs of the campus community in areas of nutrition education, food insecurity, culinary skills, and community engagement.
The UCLA Community Programs Office (CPO) Fitness Improvement Training through Education and Diet [FITTED] is a student retention project dedicated to providing free fitness and nutrition education classes for students.
In partnership with the Semel Healthy Campus Initiative Center at UCLA, envisioned and supported by Jane and Terry Semel, the jane b semel Healthy Campus Initiative Community Garden provides an on-campus space for the UCLA community to grow healthy food and foster education of urban gardening practices.
Students may apply to receive meal vouchers through this ECRT program for up to 3 quarters. More information about eligibility should be viewed on the website.
Bruin Dine | Student Activities Center, Conference Room 1 and 2
Distributing food from campus dining halls. Interested students are encouraged to come by during weeks 1-10 with their own containers and utensils to receive food.
The CPO Basic and Essential Needs Collective Pantry and Food Closet
provides food to students experiencing hunger and/or struggling to attain food due to fi nancial hardship. Food closet also provides items for basic needs.UCLA Students experiencing food insecurity are welcome to stop by the Food Closet or Basic and Essential Needs Collective Pantry to grab snacks and essentials, no questions asked or sign in necessary.
CalFresh is a federally funded program that allows students to receive up to $291/month for groceries. If approved, students receive an EBT-card that is reloaded monthly and can be used at most grocery stores.
Community cafe with special emphasis on healing justice and providing care to UCLA community members. Resources include weekly fresh produce from local farmers market, daily food cupboard and grocery cards.
Text-message opt-in notifying students of available food at on campus events.
The Community Programs Office (CPO) was established in 1970 and became an official department in 2003 under the Campus Life Division of Student Affairs. Initially located in Dodd Hall, it moved to the Student Activities Center, a space developed through student-led efforts and the passage of the Student Programs Activities Resource Complex (SPARC) referendum in 2000.
As a resource for students from various backgrounds, the CPO provides academic, professional, and personal support. It offers programs and services that assist students in their educational journey, career development, and access to basic and essential needs, while fostering collaboration and engagement within the campus community.
Their services include, but are not limited to:
UCLA Basic Needs aims to eliminate student hunger and homelessness, and believes every student should not have to sacrifice their health and nutrition in pursuit of their degree.
The UCLA Basic and Essential Needs Resource Guide is a comprehensive list of on-campus and off-campus services/programs for students, staff, faculty, and other members of the Bruin community including, but not limited to: Housing, Health, Food Resources, Legal Services, and Employment Relief/Social Services. This document is updated on a rolling basis.
Edelman Westside Mental Health Center provides mental health services to adults 18 years old and up. They can help those experiencing homelessness, who may be low-income, or who may not have the ability to pay.
All counseling center appointments, information, and referrals are handled via our two 24-hour crisis lines: (818) 505-0900 or (323) 681-2626.
The pantry provides a 5 day supply of free groceries and personal hygiene products (when needed) for each family member. Within each JFS/SOVA food pantry facility there is also a Resource Center. The Resource Center’s staff provide information and referrals to other community services and help people find solutions to other challenges (e.g., shelter, health care, employment, legal advocacy, job counseling, food stamp enrollment, etc). New clients are advised to arrive by the time the pantry first opens in the morning in order to register as a new participant and receive the complete program orientation. They request official photo identification of first-time participants as well as identification for all additional dependent family members showing that all are living at the same address. We also require proof of residence within their service area. You may visit the SOVA pantry once in each calendar month and receive groceries for all eligible household members. Grocery orders are sized according to the number of household members. If you are homeless and do not have refrigeration and/or cooking facilities, you may visit twice each month.
Food pantry every Sunday at 1 pm
UCLA student/PATH collaboration bringing lunches weekly to the PATH West LA center, serving veterans residing in the shelter
PATH connects Veterans experiencing homelessness to a number of services such as case management, mental health support, employment opportunities, assistance in finding housing. PATH works with the Department of Veteran Affairs (VA) in securing temporary shelter for Veterans trying to find permanent housing.
Student-run organization from the School of Dentistry providing subsidized dental care to homeless veterans and the UCLA student veteran population.
Center dedicated to supporting Veterans and their families - provide welcoming space and referrals to needed services, including mental healthcare referrals, counseling, and workshops on a number of wellness topics.
The UCLA Basic and Essential Needs Resource Guide is a comprehensive list of on-campus and off-campus services/programs for students, staff, faculty, and other members of the Bruin community including, but not limited to: Housing, Health, Food Resources, Legal Services, and Employment Relief/Social Services. This document is updated on a rolling basis.