People
- Famous BelarusiansBrief descriptions of scientists, artists, athletes, politicians, and more.
Textile Arts
- Belarusian Ruchnik = Belarusian Traditional Ornamental Towel On the symbolic and cultural values of weaving and embroidery in the Belarusian tradition.
- "Embroidery in East Europe, Russia, and the Caucasus," in the Berg Encyclopedia of World Dress and FashionTo access this licensed resource, be sure to login to the VPN or proxy server before clicking on the link.
Museums
- Belarus Google Arts and CultureThis site includes artifacts and exhibits on Belarus from around the world.
- The National Art Museum of the Republic of BelarusThe National Art Museum of the Republic of Belarus holds the largest collection of the Belarusian and foreign art within the country.
- Vitebsk Center of Modern Art"The mission of the center is to study, to support and to promote the creative works of contemporary artists, to develop the traditions of the Vitebsk Peoples Art School."
- Marc Chagall Art CenterArtist Marc Chagall was born in Vitebsk, Belarus. This art center includes the home in which Chagall grew up and a museum of his works.
- Polotsk Art GalleryThis gallery features religious iconography from the medieval and modern periods, secular portraiture from the 18th century, and fine art of the 20th century.
- Virtual Museum of Soviet Repression in Belarus"The main purpose of the initiative group of the Virtual Museum is to preserve the memory of Soviet repression."
- Belarusian Great Patriotic War Museum"The Belarusian State Museum of the History of the Great Patriotic War, created among the ruins and ashes in newly-freed Minsk in October 1944, has been carrying out and continues to carry out its high mission of commemorating the Great Victory over fascism during the whole time of its existence."
- National Historical Museum of the Republic of BelarusThis large national museum features artifacts from life in the region that is now Belarus, from ancient times to the present day. It encompasses five smaller museums with distinctive themes, such as the history of cinema, theater, music, the natural environment, and politics in Belarus.
- Belarusian State Museum of Folk Architecture and Rural LifestyleIn the 1950s and 1960s Belarus underwent a period of intensive development, during which efforts were made to improve the quality of rural life. After economically faltering villages were razed, people began to be concerned about the loss of regional styles of folk wooden architecture. This open-air museum preserves some of these historical buildings and many of the household items that were once part of everyday life.
- Mogilev Regional Museum of Local LoreThis museum features archaeological and historical exhibits spanning ancient times to the mid-20th century, an exhibit on the natural history of the area, and an exhibit on the folklore, festivals, and decorative arts of the region.
Libraries and Archives
Heritage Sites
- Mir Castle ComplexA UNESCO World Heritage site in Grodno.
- Nesvizh PalaceA UNESCO World Heritage site.
- Belovezhskaya Pushcha National ParkA primeval forest, which has been designated as a UNESCO World Heritage site.
Film
- Kanopy This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
On-demand streaming video service for educational institutions with thousands of documentaries, training films and theatrical releases across diverse subjects and disciplines. More information on Kanopy access and use is available on this guide. - Socialism on Film: The Cold War and International Propaganda This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This collection of films from the communist world reveals war, history, current affairs, culture and society as seen through the socialist lens. It spans most of the twentieth century and covers countries such as the USSR, Vietnam, China, Korea, much of Eastern Europe, the GDR, Britain and Cuba. Browse sub-collections for more on subjects covered.
