Research Assistance
Research assistance in the social sciences and humanities is available at the Charles E. Young Research Library. See Research Help for complete Library research support options.
Library Catalogs
-
UC Library Search This link opens in a new window
UC Library Search is the unified discovery and borrowing system for all 10 UC Campuses. Select the UCLA Library Catalog scope to search holdings of materials owned by the UCLA Library and other UCLA collections, whether online or in print. Does not contain full-text articles or article citations. Select the Articles, books and more scope to search for materials in all 10 UC campuses. More information in this guide.
-
WorldCat (OCLC FirstSearch) This link opens in a new window
OCLC FirstSearch catalog includes citations for books, journals, manuscripts, maps, music scores, sound recordings, films, computer files, newspapers, slides, videotapes, archival material, etc., in libraries around the world.
English language E-Books
-
Understanding Ukraine and Belarus : A Memoir
by
David R. Marples is a Distinguished University Professor of Russian and East European History at the University of Alberta. His memoir describes the dramatic changes of the late Soviet and post-Soviet periods and the Stalinist legacy in Ukraine and Belarus. It includes the author's visits to Chernobyl and the contaminated zone in the late 1980s and 1990s. Visiting Belarus more than 25 times since the 1990s, he was banned for seven years before the visa rules were relaxed in 2017.
Call Number: Online resourceISBN: 9781910814543Date: 2020 -
Cultural Dissent in Soviet Belarus (1968-1988): Intelligentsia, Samizdat and Nonconformist Discourses
by
Soviet Belarus has been considered the most loyal of all Soviet republics, where there were no protests and no signs of nonconformism. This image persisted into the next decades, when Socialism collapsed, Belarus gained its independence, and democratic development was once again endangered by the establishment of authoritarianism. This book focuses on the dissent ideas that circulated in the milieu of the Belarusian Soviet Intelligentsia in both samizdat and officially published literature.
Call Number: Online resourceISBN: 3447111887Date: 2019 -
Historical Dictionary of Belarus
by
This third edition of Historical Dictionary of Belarus contains a chronology, an introduction, appendixes, and an extensive bibliography. The dictionary section has over 500 cross-referenced entries on important personalities, politics, economy, foreign relations, religion, and culture.
Call Number: Online resourceISBN: 9781538117064Date: 2018 -
Jewish Revolution in Belorussia: Economy, Race, and Bolshevik Power
by
Jewish life in Belorussia fundamentally changed when Jews started joining the Bolshevik movement and populating the front lines of the revolutionary struggle. In the eyes of the Bolshevik leadership, the project of transforming Jews into integrated Soviet citizens was bound inextricably to labor. Sloin stresses the fundamental relationship between economy and identity formation as party officials grappled with the Jewish Question in the wake of the revolution.
Call Number: Online resourceISBN: 9780253024633Date: 2017 -
War and Memory in Russia, Ukraine and Belarus
by
This collection contributes to the current vivid multidisciplinary debate on East European memory politics and the post-communist instrumentalization and re-mythologization of World War II memories. Russia, Ukraine, and Belarus comprise the epicentre of Soviet war suffering, and the heartland of the Soviet war myth.
Call Number: Online resourceISBN: 9783319665238Date: 2017 -
Democratization and Instability in Ukraine, Georgia and Belarus
by
This monograph analyzes the interconnections between the democratic institutionalization of the newly independent states on the examples of Ukraine, Georgia, and Belarus, their political (in)stability, and economic development and prosperity.
Call Number: Online resourceISBN: 9781584876281Date: 2014 -
Marching into Darkness: The Wehrmacht and the Holocaust in Belarus
by
On October 10, 1941, the entire Jewish population of the Belarusian village of Krucha was rounded up and shot. This particular atrocity was not the work of the SS but was committed by a regular German army unit acting on its own initiative. By meticulously reconstructing the German army's activities in Belarus in 1941, Marching into Darkness reveals in stark detail how the army willingly fulfilled its role as an agent of murder on a massive scale.
Call Number: Online resourceISBN: 9780674725508Date: 2014 -
Reassessing Lukashenka: Belarus in Cultural and Geopolitical Context
by
What are the factors of Lukashenka's longevity at the helm of power? This question is addressed in the context of Belarusian history and identity, not as an outcome of a form of government deceitfully imposed on an allegedly benighted people whom better positioned and informed outsiders seek to enlighten and liberate.
Call Number: Online resourceISBN: 9781137436757Date: 2014 -
Belarus: The Last European Dictatorship
by
This book is the first in English to explore both Belarus's complicated road to nationhood and to examine in detail its politics and economics since 1991, the nation's first year of true independence.
Call Number: Online resourceISBN: 9780300177589Date: 2012 -
Belorussia: The Making of a Nation, A Case Study
by
Call Number: Online resourceISBN: 9780674436640Date: 1956
-
HathiTrust Digital Library This link opens in a new windowA repository of scanned books contributed from academic institutions across the United States, including UCLA. Books still in copyright are scanned and searchable, but the full text scans will not become available online until their copyright expires.
-
Internet Archive: eBooks and TextsScanned public domain books from numerous research libraries, including some from the UC system.
-
Project GutenburgProject Gutenberg is a volunteer effort to digitize and archive cultural works, to "encourage the creation and distribution of eBooks".