Newspapers and Magazines
-
U.S. Major Dailies This link opens in a new window
Contains full-text dating back to the 1980s for five of the nation’s major newspapers, including the New York Times, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and the Wall Street Journal.
-
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Full-text news (including broadcast transcripts), business, legal, and reference information. Useful for finding full-text of current performing arts and media industry news in major newspapers. Includes biographical information from Who's Who titles. Formerly LexisNexis Academic.
-
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Complete text of articles from 1959 to the present from publications of the ethnic, minority, and native press. Covers news, culture, and history, and is searchable in both English and Spanish.
-
Vanderbilt Television News Archive This link opens in a new windowIndexes network evening news broadcasts from the major US national broadcast networks: ABC, CBS, NBC, and CNN, and hours of special news-related programming including ABC's Nightline since 1989. Includes historical streaming video from NBC (since 1968) and CNN.
-
TV News Archive (Internet Archive)Contains 350,000 news programs collected over 3 years from national U.S. networks and stations in San Francisco and Washington D.C. The archive is updated with new broadcasts 24 hours after they are aired.
Film and Media
-
Film Scripts Online This link opens in a new windowFilm Scripts Online (volumes I and II) contains full text of copyrighted screenplays, with additional information on scenes, characters and individuals.
-
SimplyScriptsFree internet resource with downloadable scripts, movie scripts, screenplays, and transcripts of movies, television, and radio. Also includes some treatments.
-
Listen NotesA search engine for locating podcasts online.
-
Ted Corpus Search EngineFull-text, searchable transcripts of Ted Talks.
-
Google BooksWhile not every book is available for full text viewing in Google Books, it can be a useful tool for identifying books that might have hidden content on a topic.
Lyrics databases like lyrics.com and genius.com allow you to search across millions of song lyrics.
Other Corpora
-
Corpus of Contemporary American EnglishThe corpus contains more than one billion words of text (25+ million words each year 1990-2019) from eight genres: spoken, fiction, popular magazines, newspapers, academic texts, and (with the update in March 2020): TV and Movies subtitles, blogs, and other web pages. Requires (free) registration to use.
-
The Wikipedia CorpusThis corpus contains the full text of Wikipedia, and it contains 1.9 billion words in more than 4.4 million articles.This corpus allows you to search Wikipedia in a much more powerful way than is possible with the standard interface. You can search by word, phrase, part of speech, and synonyms. You can also find collocates (nearby words), and see re-sortable concordance lines for any word or phrase.
-
Coronavirus Corpus"The Coronavirus Corpus is designed to be the definitive record of the social, cultural, and economic impact of the coronavirus (COVID-19) in 2020 and beyond." This is a subset of the COCA.
Using Google
Use the advanced search of Google to search across other domains, including instagram.com, reddit.com, twitter.com, tiktok.com. That way, you can search across lots of possible tokens quickly and use date ranges and exact terms.