Librarian/Curator for Slavic, East European and Eurasian Studies.
Alena Aissing
Contact:
A1540 Charles E. Young Research Library
Box 951575
Los Angeles, CA 90095
Box 951575
Los Angeles, CA 90095
310-206-0324
Using Electronic Databases
Multi-disciplinary Electronic Databases for Central, Eastern European, and Eurasian Studies
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database that indexes over 10,000 publications, with the complete text of over 5,500 periodicals, including a mix of peer-reviewed journals, magazines, and newspapers.
- Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains records from Anthropological Literature and Anthropological Index for journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, ethnography, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies. Covers the late 19th century to the present.
- AnthroSource This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes backfiles and current issues of American Anthropologist, American Ethnologist, Anthropology and Education Quarterly, Anthropology and Humanism, Archaeological Publications of the American Anthropological Association, Cultural Anthropology, Ethos, Journal of Linguistic Anthropology, Medical Anthropology Quarterly, NAPA Bulletin, and PoLAR: The Political and Legal Anthropology Review, plus a complete electronic archive of all AAA journals through 2003.
- Art & Architecture Source This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text coverage of more than 600 journals and 220 books on "a broad range of related subjects, from fine, decorative and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design." It wholly incorporates and significantly expands on the coverage and contents of the Art Full Text and Art Index Retrospective databases. Indexes illustrations. Coverage: late 1920s-present. - ATLA Religion Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all scholarly fields of religion; includes articles written in 36 languages. - ERIC (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index to journal articles and gray literature on educational research and practice from 1969 to the present and ERIC documents since 1966. - Family & Society Studies Worldwide This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes articles, books, conference papers, and reports in the fields of family science, human ecology, human development, and social welfare. Covers research, policy, and practice literature from 1970 to the present. - GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Full text database of publications that focus on the impact of gender across multiple subject areas. Publications include scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books, and more. - Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index and abstracts for articles on the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life) published since 1955. - Historical Newspapers Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes Palmer's Index to the (London) Times, 1790-1905, with Palmer's Full Text Online, 1785-1870 (currently available: 1800-1870); The Official Index to the Times, 1906-1980; and The Historical Index to the New York Times, 1851-1923 (currently available: 1863-1905 and 1913-1922). - Music Periodicals Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and abstracts for several hundred international music periodicals from over 20 countries, plus full text for more than 140 of the indexed journals. Former database title: International Index to Music Periodicals (IIMP) Full Text.
- Linguistic Bibliography OnlineFormerly "Bibliographie linguistique online"; Provides bibliographical references to scholarly publications on all branches of linguistics and all the languages of the world, irrespective of language or place of publication.
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes worldwide publications on literature, language, linguistics, folklore, film, television, and theater from 1923 to the present. See also the MLA Directory of Periodicals.
- Periodicals Archive Online (PAO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text access to international, scholarly literature in the arts, humanities and social sciences journals from the first issue to 2005 or ceased date that indexed are in the Periodicals Index Online. This is a static collection, and there may be some missing issues/gaps for specific titles. - Periodicals Index Online (PIO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index to articles published in over 7,000 periodicals in the arts, humanities and social sciences, covering the period 1665-1995. Full text of many articles can be found in Periodicals Archive Online. - Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text of current issues (from about 1990) of scholarly journals published by university presses, chiefly in the arts, humanities and social sciences. Browsable by discipline and full-text searchable across all disciplines. UCLA has access to Muse e-books published from 2017-present, plus a selected number of other e-book titles. - ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index to doctoral dissertations from 1637 to the present, with abstracts since 1980. A number of master's theses are also indexed, with abstracts since 1988. Many are available for download in pdf format. UCLA has access to all full text dissertations in the database. Non-UCLA users may use Dissertations Express to purchase digital or print copies of individual dissertations.
- RILM Abstracts of Music Literature This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes scholarly music journals, essay collections, music articles in non-music journals, dissertations, and non-English resources. UC-eLinks provides access to online content if it is available. - Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences from 1,800+ serials publications; also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. Coverage from 1952-present. - Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database, with searchable author abstracts, covering the journal literature of most disciplines. Indexes major journals with all cited references captured. Combines the following citation databases: Science Citation Index Expanded; Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI); Arts & Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI); Conference Proceedings Citation Index. - Women's Studies International This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to citations for a wide range of topics in the study of women and gender, 1972-present. - Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international literature in political science, international relations, law, and public policy.
Slavic Studies Databases
- Central and Eastern European Online Library (CEEOL) This link opens in a new windowArchive of scholarly and cultural publications from Central and Eastern Europe.
- American Bibliography of Slavic, East European, and Eurasian Studies (ABSEEES) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers North American and some European scholarship since the late 1980s on East-Central Europe, Russia, the former Soviet Union and former Soviet republics. Indexes journal articles, books, book chapters, book reviews, dissertations, and selected government publications.
- Electronic Journals (Ústav pro českou literaturu)The Digital Archives of the Czech Journals is a project supported by the Academy of Science of the Czech Republic. The project was launched in 2001 and it is based on collections of the Institute of the Czech Literature. Provide free accses to the back issues of many important Czech literary journals like Literarni Noviny, Zlata Praha, and Ceska Literatura. In Czech.
- American Bibliography of Slavic, East European, and Eurasian Studies (ABSEEES) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers North American and some European scholarship since the late 1980s on East-Central Europe, Russia, the former Soviet Union and former Soviet republics. Indexes journal articles, books, book chapters, book reviews, dissertations, and selected government publications.
Contemporary Journals Online
- American Slavic and East European ReviewContinues Slavonic and East European Review. American Series and continued by Slavic Review. JSTOR Coverage: Vols. 4 - 20 (Issue 2), 1945-1961
- Czech-polish historical and pedagogical journalJournal of the Faculty of Education of the Masaryk University in Brno. The reviewed scientific journal is published twice a year since 2009 in cooperation with the University of Wrocław.
The goal: Knowing the history and culture of not only the two neighbouring countries - Poland and the Czech Republic, but also the Central and Eastern Europe, Near East and the Middle Asia. - Gender a výzkum/Gender and ResearchA peer-reviewed transdisciplinary journal of gender studies and feminist theory. The territorial focus is on Central and Eastern Europe as well as other global macro-regions. The journal publishes articles in Czech or English in the fields of sociology, philosophy, political science, history, cultural studies, and other branches of the social sciences and humanities [in Czech and English].
- Historica Olomucensia - Sborník prací historickýchA semi-annual History journal published by the Palacký University Olomouc.
- Slavic ReviewContinues American Slavic and East European Review. JSTOR Coverage: Vols. 20 (Issue 3) - 63, 1961-2004
- Soudobé Dějiny (Contemporary History)A quarterly journal of modern Czech history published by the Institute of Contemporary History at the Academy of Sciences in Prague.
- Sociologický časopis / Czech Sociological ReviewUnder the new editorship and led by an international board, bimonthly Czech Sociological Review intends to: • assist to a stronger integration of Czech sociology into the international mainstream • invite authors interested in “transformation issues” worldwide • introduce post-graduate students from abroad to the local and regional public • inform international community about the Czech and CEE social research.
- Politologická revue Czech Political Science ReviewPolitologická revue is a peer-reviewed scholarly journal of political science edited in Czech or Slovak language. It was founded in 1994 by the Czech Political Science Association, since then it is one of the leading political science academic journals in the Czech Republic. The journal publishes original articles from Czech and foreign authors, news from the political science community's life, interviews and book reviews.
- Politologický časopis - Czech Journal of Political ScienceThe quarterly "Politologický časopis" ("Czech Journal of Political Science", until 2005 "Journal of Political Science", ISSN 1211-3247) has been published since 1993. It is the first title in the field of political science published in the Czech Republic that is scientifically reviewed. Among its contributors are scholars specialising in the social sciences, not only from the Czech Republic, but also from abroad.
- Česká literatura Czech LiteratureČeská literatura is an internationally respected scholarly journal which focuses on the history of Czech literature and literary theory. The journal publishes original studies, translations, documents, reviews of specialist papers and other information on activities in the field of Czech literary studies.
- Czech Journal of Social Sciences Business and EconomicsCzech Journal of Social Sciences, Business and Economics is an international, multidisciplinary, refereed (peer-reviewed) journal aiming to promote and enhance research in all fields of social sciences, business and economics. The journal is published four times per year by the University Service Publishing, Trnkovo náměstí 1112/2, CZ-15200, Prague, Czech Republic.
- Czech Economic ReviewCzech Economic Review - until 2012 published as AUCO Czech Economic Review presents (ISSN 1802-4696) original, rigorously peer-reviewed research in economics with solid microeconomic grounds. Coverage includes both theoretical and methodological articles (game theory, mathematical methods in economics) as well as empirical articles (political economy, institutional economics, and public economics).