More from UCLA
- Research Guide: 2019 Novel Coronavirus/COVID-19This guide is dynamic and will be updated as new resources become available. It is intended to serve those interested in the illness caused by the novel coronavirus, CoViD-10, or SARS-CoV-2,
- UCLA Library Digital Collections This link opens in a new window
- Interlibrary Loan (ILL)Instructions for making an interlibrary loan request for materials not located at UCLA.
- eScholarship, University of California This link opens in a new window
UC's open access repository. Contains books, journals, working papers, conference publications, postprints, theses, and dissertations.
Katherine Kapsidelis
Matthew Vest
Temporary Expanded Access to Online Resources
Update (June 2021): This guide was created in April 2020 to provide information about resources that have been made available by publishers and vendors in response to the COVID-19 crisis. Access to many of these resources has now expired, but this guide will be maintained at least through the summer of 2021 to keep track of those that are still freely available. Please note, however, that we are no longer actively adding resources to this guide.
Some resources are offered for free for a limited period of time; others require authentication using the VPN or a proxy server and are marked with a key icon: 
. (If you need help setting up the VPN/proxy server, check out these remote access tutorials.) This guide will be continually updated for the duration of the crisis.
If you are looking for ebooks, start with this helpful guide to finding ebooks or watch this short video tutorial.
Key Resources
- HathiTrust Digital Library This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
A repository of scanned books contributed from academic institutions across the United States, including UCLA. Books still in copyright are scanned and searchable, but the full text scans will not become available online until their copyright expires. - Open Library (Internet Archive) This link opens in a new windowAn open, editable library catalog that offers lending of online books. Open Library is a project of the non-profit Internet Archive, and has been funded in part by a grant from the California State Library and the Kahle/Austin Foundation. More information on use available online.
Ebooks, Journals, & Databases
- American Psychological AssociationFree ebooks and resources, including APA Style tutorials.
- IFORS Developing Countries OR Resources WebsiteThis page was developed to offer the Operational Research worker all publicly-available materials on the topic of OR for Development. It also aims to provide a venue for people who are working in the area to share their completed or in-process work, learn from others, and stimulate comments and discussions on the work.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text of core scholarly journals from their beginning to approximately five years ago. Disciplines include botany, business, ecology, general science, humanities, mathematics, social sciences, statistics. Browsable by discipline and full-text searchable across all disciplines. UCLA has access to selected JSTOR e-books.
JSTOR is offering free expanded access during the COVID-19 crisis. More information.
- LawiLawi offers (in Spanish) to libraries and the general public free online access to nearly all of its resources (including more than 2000 e-books, encyclopedias, reports and guides in key reference HTML format) to help overcome the disruption caused by the global response to the pandemic.
- Public Books DatabaseHundreds of publicly accessible ebooks and many journals published by university presses.
- Social Justice eBooks - Los Angeles Public LibraryThe Los Angeles Public Library has made a selection of social justice books available on demand.
COVID-19 Resources
The following publishers and vendors are offering free access to scholarly articles, clinical studies and reports, and other sources of information related to COVID-19. For more information, please also see the UCLA Library's research guide on COVID-19.
- American Medical AssociationThe JAMA Network's COVID-19 collection.
- BioOnePeer-reviewed research related to COVID-19.
- ElsevierElsevier's Novel Coronavirus Information Center includes research, clinical information, and guidelines for clinicians and patients.
- McGraw-Hill MedicalAccessMedicine COVID-19 Central
- MIT Press - Understanding Pandemics, Epidemics, & Their EffectsMIT Press is making a selection of ebooks freely available for the foreseeable future.
Subscription-based resource (UCLA authentication required) that provides information about COVID-19.
- ProQuest: Coronavirus Research Database
- This link opens in a new window
Audio and Video
- Berliner Philharmoniker Digital Concert Hall This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Digital Concert Hall of the Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra transmits the concerts of the Berlin philharmonic orchestra to the internet for registered users to access on demand. Users must register as an Institutional User at the site for access.
Some performances by the Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra are offered for free. More information.
- Boston Symphony OrchestraSelected performances from the Boston Symphony Orchestra archives.
- Detroit Symphony OrchestraAn archive of past performances, as well as virtual watch parties hosted by an orchestra member.
- Free Musicals and Plays You Can Now Stream During the Coronavirus OutbreakFrom Filmed on Stage, a list of temporarily unlocked streaming performances from PBS, Cirque du Soleil, and more.
- From the Vaults (The Met)In celebration of its 150th anniversary, the Met is releasing films from its moving-image archives.
- International Documentary Film Festival AmsterdamSeveral hundred documentaries streaming from the International Documentary Film Festival Amsterdam.
- Met Opera on Demand: Student Edition This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Online streaming access to more than 650 full-length Metropolitan Opera performances.
The Metropolitan Opera offers free nightly streams of a selected past performances.
- Netflix US YouTube ChannelA selection of Netflix documentary features and series made available for educators online. More information.
- Paris OperaRecent Paris Opera performances streamed free of charge. More information.
- PlayBACThe Baryshnikov Arts Center presents weekly, never-before-seen videos from its archive of performances filmed over the past 15 years. Each Thursday at 2 p.m. PST, a new video is posted on the center’s website and stays up for a week.
- (Re)Live Arts StreamingNew York Live Arts and its resident troupe, the Bill T. Jones/Arnie Zane Company, present a rotating selection of talks and performances from their archives. The queue changes every Thursday and stays up for a week.
- Seattle Symphony OrchestraThe Seattle Symphony Orchestra streams live performances on YouTube or Facebook.
- The Social Distancing FestivalAn online artists' community made to celebrate and showcase the work of the many artists around the world who have been affected by the need for social distancing that has come about due to the spread of Coronavirus (COVID-19).
- UpstreamingThis series from the Fisher Center for Performing Arts at Bard College features past performances, with new video content added each Wednesday.
- VDB TV: DecadesVideo Data Bank is re-releasing each program in the VDB TV: Decades series online and free to the public. VDB TV: Decades, a five-part curated screening series exploring VDB's unique archive, casts a distinctive eye over the development of video as an art form. Each program in the series will be available for a period of two weeks.