Lists publication details for more than 300,000 worldwide periodicals (journals, magazines, newspapers). Includes information on which databases index specific journals and online availability of periodicals.
Features 280 newspapers from 35 states published for or by African Americans, including many rare and historically significant 19th-century titles. Beginning with Freedom’s Journal (NY)—the first African American newspaper published in the United States—titles include The Colored Citizen (KS), Arkansas State Press, Rights of All (NY), Wisconsin Afro-American, New York Age, L'Union (LA), Northern Star and Freeman’s Advocate (NY), Richmond Planet, Cleveland Gazette, The Appeal (MN) and hundreds more. See also African American Newspapers Series 2.
African American Newspapers, Series 2, 1835-1956 complements and expands on African American Newspapers, Series 1. Published in 22 states and the District of Columbia, titles include Frederick Douglass’s New National Era (Washington, DC), Washington Tribune (Washington, DC), Chicago Bee (Chicago, IL), The Louisianian (New Orleans, LA), The Pine and Palm (Boston, MA), National Anti-Slavery Standard (New York, NY), New York Age (New York, NY), Harlem Liberator (New York, NY), North Carolina Republican and Civil Rights Advocate (Weldon, NC), Southern News (Richmond, VA) and more. See also See also African American Newspapers Series 1.
Digitized collection of print journalism from Indigenous peoples of the US and Canada over more than 9,000 individual editions from 1828-2016. The 45 unique titles also include bilingual and Indigenous-language editions, such as Hawaiian, Cherokee and Navajo languages.
Open Access collection of newspapers produced by people who have been incarcerated. Includes two of the first prison publications, Forlorn Hope and Supporter, with more than 350 titles identified for inclusion.
This collection, earlier published in a microfiche collection by IDC Publishers, makes available periodicals and monographs for the study of Czechoslovak avant-garde and architecture in the period before the Second World War. Individual title list available online.
An expanding series of handbooks on a wide variety of subjects and persons from Classical Antiquity, and their reception in European culture. UCLA subscribes to Companions to Classical Studies Online I-V.
Brill’s Encyclopedia of Buddhism is the first comprehensive academic reference work devoted to the plurality of Buddhist traditions across Asia, offering readers a balanced and detailed treatment of this complex phenomenon in six thematically arranged volumes, with new content added over time.
Central Daily News was first published in Shanghai in February 1928, and has been the official news media for the KMT (Kuomintang) government for years. This online database covers page image access from 1928 to 2006.
Project documentation (detailed architectural drawings, sketches, and photographs) from more than 55 years of DETAIL: Zeitschrift für Architektur & Baudetail & Einrichtung and other DETAIL publications including Structure and DETAIL Green. Updated regularly with all of the projects published in current DETAIL issues.
The Gale Digital Scholar Lab is designed to access and analyze Gale’s primary source content by integrating digital primary source content with popular digital humanities tools. Analysis options include clustering word analysis, named entity recognition, Ngram, topic modelling, and more. A personal account is needed to create and save personalized datasets, using Google or Microsoft OneDrive credentials.
Includes digitized resources on disability history and disability studies, including history, media, the arts, political science, education, and other subject areas. Includes primary sources, videos (documentaries, interviews, art films, performances), archival materials, advertising, and secondary monographs.
EAI's Educational Streaming Site is a subscription-access layer of the EAI Online Catalogue. Full-length streaming videos are available for selected artists, with an emphasis on video and media art, performance art, and experimental film. Artists and titles are added on an ongoing basis. The campus subscription to Electronic Arts Intermix is being funded by the UCLA Art Department.
Online access to historical graphic magazine Fuzoku Gaho, which was originally published in Tokyo between February 1889 and March 1916. Covers social and cultural trends and conditions in the Edo, Meiji, and Taisho periods. Limited to 4 simultaneous users.
UC-wide trial (through June 2022) to selected History Vault modules, including content derived from primary source digitized microfilm that is cross-searchable. Modules include Civil Rights and the Black Freedom Struggle; Southern Life, Slavery, and the Civil War; American Indians and the American West; American Politics and Society; International Relations and Military Conflicts; Women's Studies; Workers, Labor Unions, and Radical Politics. More information on History Vault sets available online.
Library Stack is a catalog and index of born-digital media from artists, designers, critics, theorists and philosophers. The collection includes PDF zines made by curators; downloadable exhibitions curated by artists; experimental sound compositions; magazines about experimental sound art; fonts channeling cultural histories; and political artworks in the form of custom browser extensions.
The M&C Synthesis Series is a collection of lectures available online, including an electronic book format that synthesizes an important research or development topic, authored by a prominent contributor to the field.
Search and discovery for plays using indexing terms for facets like playwright demographics, cast information, themes, etc. The database provides details about playwrights and creative works (generally unpublished), and also includes full text for some plays.
Online version of the print journal Oriental Economist originally published in Japan monthly between 1934 and 1985 and weekly between January 1946 and August 1952. One of few commercial journals in English with a focus on the Asian economy that lasted over 50 years from the pre-war period. Limited to 4 simultaneous users.
Policy Commons is a one-stop community platform for research and grey literature from the policy experts, nonpartisan think tanks, IGOs, and NGOs. It covers many disciplines—agriculture, energy, pharmaceuticals, diversity, crime, history, area studies, economics, sociology, political science, health, climate, diversity, sustainable development, and more.
Primary source documentation of 20th Century (1900s-2010s) fringe groups from both the right and left of the political spectrum in the U.S., Europe, and Australia. Supports researchers addressing historical questions on philosophical, social, political, and economic ideologies as well as on contemporary issues surrounding gender, sexuality, race, religion, civil rights, universal suffrage, and more. UCLA subscribes to parts I and II. Content note: this database contains visual and textual material representing various historical viewpoints related to race, gender, sexuality, terrorism, and other subjects, including terminology and concepts that may be considered offensive by modern standards.
Interdisciplinary reference articles on modernism, including sections on Literature, Architecture, Visual Arts, Music, Dance, Theatre, Film, and Intellectual Currents. Regularly updated with new content.
The database covers the period from the year Taiwan Nichinichi Shinpo was launched (1898) to March 31, 1944, after which date Taiwan Daily News merged with other newspapers into Taiwan shinpo (Taiwan News). It includes any articles that involve musical sound, including performing arts ((such as dance, opera, drama), mass media (such as records, radio broadcasts, and films), activities (such as ceremonies, rituals, temple festivals, parades), etc. The content of the database mainly concerns Taiwan and Japan, but it also covers China, Korea, Southeast Asia, and other parts of the world.
Online archive of documents that views the history of modern empires through women’s eyes, with an emphasis on the voices of the colonized. Includes documents related to the Habsburg Empire, the Ottoman Empire, the British, French, Italian, Dutch, Russian, Japanese, and United States Empires, and settler societies in the United States, New Zealand and Australia.
Includes the modules Women's Issues and Identities, and Voice and Vision. Focuses on the 19th and 20th centuries, including documents such as diaries, letters, photographs, news clippings, organizational records, and journals. Primary sources include a record of the issues that have affected women, societal contributions, social status, and women's movements. Topics cover abolition of slavery, alcohol and temperance movements, pacifism and political activism, domestic service, education, health and hygiene, divorce and social reform.
Online version of the 3rd edition of the World Christian Encyclopedia, which documents the changing status of World Christianity over the past 120 years from historical and social scientific perspectives.
The mission of the UCLA Library is to provide access to and delivery of information resources to UCLA students, faculty, and staff in support of the research and instructional mission of the university. Relying on its highly skilled staff, the Library encourages innovation, capitalizes on appropriate technologies, forges effective partnerships and aggressively promotes excellence.