Librarian for Urban Planning
Suggest an Addition to This Guide!
Email Kelsey to suggest resources you've found helpful in your research for this course.
Business Research Support
Need help with business research? Email Rosenfeld librarians at RosenfeldLibrary@anderson.ucla.edu.
Quick Links
- Off-Campus (VPN or Proxy Server) Access to Library eResourcesHow to access licensed online content from off-campus.
- Other Research GuidesA complete list of all UCLA Library online guides.
- UC Library Search This link opens in a new windowThe Library has many books and reports that may help your projects. Do not overlook those resources.
- Advanced Google Search StrategiesHelpful guide from the University of Texas San Antonio Libraries.
Quick Reference
- NAICS & SIC Identification ToolsNorth American Industry Classification System and Standard Industrial Classification look-up tool.
Overview and Additional Readings
- 1st — The Big Picture — Industry OverviewConsiderations for beginning industry-level research.
- 2nd — The Specifics — Industry OverviewFurther considerations for industry research.
- 3rd — The CloseupLabor-focused approach to industry research.
- Elements of Developing a Company WebThis graphic was developed for the Organizing Department of the Los Angeles County Federation of Labor in 1999 to help identify the factors that should be considered when seeking to aid workers in unionizing a company or when in contract negotiations.
Note on Dun and Bradstreet Data - As of Winter, 2024
Unfortunately, the Library does not provide access to D&B Hoovers or D&B Credit Reports, however, the Los Angeles Public Library provides access to card holders to Mergent Intellect, which includes D&B company information. UCLA Library provides access to Simply Analytics and Nexis Uni databases which include some D&B data.
- Mergent Intellect via LAPLAccess private and public U.S and international business data, industry news, facts and figures, executive contact information, the ability to access industry profiles and much more. Company information from Dun & Bradstreet. Requires LAPL library card or e-card to use outside the library.
- Los Angeles Public Library E-Card ApplicationRequest a LAPL card/account online.
- SimplyAnalytics This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
A web-based mapping, analytics, and data visualization application with 100,000+ data variables, including: demographic data from the US Census dating back to 1980, the American Community Survey (ACS), consumer spending data from the Consumer Expenditure Survey (CEX), and D&B's Premium business directory providing access to over 20 million US business profiles. Additionally, users have access to the MRI-SimmonsLOCAL consumer behavior dataset, which includes data on over 8,000 brands and 450 categories as well as crosstab functionality with the Simmons NCS data. Premium market segment data is available from the PRIZM, ConneXions, and P$YCLE datasets enabling researchers to identify target market segments based on lifestyle, tech usage, and income. Localized survey data is available from the Nielsen Scarborough dataset, along with detailed financial data from the Financial CLOUT dataset. Data is available down to the Census Block Group level. - Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text news (including broadcast transcripts), business, legal, and reference information. Useful for finding full-text of current performing arts and media industry news in major newspapers. Includes biographical information from Who's Who titles. Formerly LexisNexis Academic.
