Skip to Main Content

Cluster M1: Food: A Lens For Environment and Sustainability

Your guide to Food Cluster research resources at the UCLA Library

Your Peer Research & Writing Specialist

Your Peer Research and Writing Specialist ("Pro" for short) for the Food Cluster is Taylor Sieverling. Set up a consultation with Taylor to talk about research, writing, assignments, study skills, and getting settled in the Cluster program and at UCLA!

Office Hours: 11am-12pm: Wednesdays Online
2pm-3pm: Fridays In-person between Kaplan and Powell

Appointments: Schedule here

Learn more about Taylor

Your Library Liaison

Profile Photo
Ashley Peterson

24/7 Research Help

Articles, Journals, and Databases

Quick take

When you find articles for your research, typically these will be scholarly and peer-reviewed. These types of articles are published in journals, and increasingly these journals are electronic and searchable via databases.


Articles: what makes them scholarly?
  • Originality: The work represents an original, unique argument that is based on carefully cited research.
  • Expertise: The author(s) is an expert in their field and usually has a terminal degree (PhD, MFA, etc.).
  • Specialized publication: The publication is typically (but not always!) intended for a narrow audience comprised of specialists (e.g., a scholarly journal).
  • Peer review: Most scholarly journals adhere to the principle of peer review. Before an article is selected for publication, it is read by other experts in its field and critiqued for the quality of its arguments and research methods.

Journals: where scholarly articles live

Journals are specialized publications that publish scholarly research. Gaining expertise in a subject area typically involves learning which journals publish research relevant to that field. For undergraduate research, you will usually access journals via databases, though it can be helpful to explore certain individual titles (see the "Food Studies eJournals" box for titles relevant to the Food Cluster).


Databases: where journals live

The UCLA Library provides access to hundreds of databases where you can search for scholarly articles.

  • For a comprehensive overview of how to select and search databases for your research, see Choosing and Using Library Databases
  • For database recommendations relevant to the Food Cluster, see below!

Food Cluster Database Recommendations

Subject-specific databases

 

Interdisciplinary Databases

Food Studies E-Journals