Skip to main content

Los Angeles and Southern California Punk in the UCLA Library

This guide will point researchers to relevant collections and resources. If you have any questions or suggestions for additions to the guide, please contact Peggy Alexander

About the UCLA Library Special Collections Punk Collections

LSC Punk banner for the archive

UCLA Library Special Collections created its Punk Archive to document punk music and lifestyle as it has developed and been expressed in Los Angeles both within and outside of the traditional LA/Hollywood punk narrative. We are collecting the primary source materials of punk musicians, promoters, producers, managers, photographers, roadies, groupies, reviewers, artists, and any voices involved to highlight the diverse music and culture of LA punk. By archiving and preserving personal and business papers, photographs, sound recordings, oral histories, 'zines, publications, ephemera, flyers, buttons, and other items, it is our mission to inspire punk discovery and advance punk research.                                                                       

If you have questions or comments about this research guide, please contact the Performing Arts Curator, Peggy Alexander

Los Angeles Punk Collections in the LSC Punk Archive

The zines and ephemera assembled in this collection document the California punk music scene, primarily the greater Los Angeles scene, from 1977 to 2016.

Better Youth Organization issue     Superdope issue


   

Slash Magazine was published by Steve Samiof and Malanie Nissen from 1977 to 1980. Contributors include Claude Bessy, Philomena Winstansley, David Allen, Robert Biggs, Pleasant Gehmen, V. Vale, and many others.

        


Maximumrocknroll is a San Francisco based punk rock fanzine established in 1982. The collection includes a nearly complete chronology of issues from 1991-2003, along with a small assortment of punk rock zines from 1992-2003 including Book Your Own Fucking LifeRazorcakeSuburban VoiceHeartattack, and Linfit.

Maximumrocknroll issue


The collection contains production materials, administrative records, press and promotional materials, and correspondence from late 1970’s San Francisco punk zine Search & Destroy and subcultural publishing outfit RE/Search Publications (briefly V/Search Publications). Established in 1981, RE/Search documents underground trends including body modification, industrial culture, and zines, as well as countercultural literary figures such as J. G. Ballard and William S. Burroughs. Material represented in this collection was accumulated by San Francisco-based publisher, writer, musician, and artist V. Vale. 

save the masque flyer     In Fact by Louis R. Biro     Hell and How it Happened by Robyn Hitchcock

Blog posts by students who processed this collection:


Razorcake is a Los Angeles-based punk rock fanzine established in 2001 and published by Sean Carswell and Todd Taylor. The collection includes zine issues, microcassettes of interviews, and punk memorabilia and ephemera.

Razorcake 49     Razorcake 70


S.A. Griffin is a poet, performance artist, publisher, and actor with deep roots in the Los Angeles poetry and punk scenes beginning in the 1980s. The collection contains monographs, serials, manuscripts, correspondence, ephemera, audiovisual material, artwork, and memorabilia reflective of Griffin’s extensive connections to Los Angeles poets and performance, including the Venice West Beat scene. The collection also includes the papers of fellow poet Scott Wannberg. 

      


The American Hotel and Al's Bar Project was a grassroots creative complex on the corner of Hewitt Street and Traction Avenue in downtown Los Angeles. Conceptual artist Marc Kreisel designed the project as a work of functional sculpture to circulate money and creative support back into the community. The collection spans from 1976-2004 and consists of flyers, posters, photographs, correspondence, scripts, Rolodexes, calendars, theater programs, press releases, financial records, and bar memorabilia such as the cash can, the jukebox records, the beer taps, t-shirts, signs, and a microphone. 

      


Collection, assembled by Deborah "Darby" Romeo, consists of privately printed and distributed arts and literary magazines. Zines are heavily illustrated. Romeo created LA-based zine, Ben is Dead, and is one of the editors of the book Retro Hell.

Ben is Dead issue             Ink zine issue 15


The collection consists of materials collected by drummer Max Ward related to the powerviolence scene from the 1990s to early 2000s. Includes original fliers, posters, handbills, correspondence, photographs, stickers, zines and patches, documenting the emergence of the scene in the San Francisco Bay Area through to when Ward moved to Japan in the early 2000s.

Neurosis flyer     Black Flag flyer     Spazz flyer

Find Punk in the Library Catalog

The search described below will bring up all punk-related materials in the UCLA Library Catalog and will not be limited to materials held by the UCLA LSC Punk Archive.


Navigate to the UCLA Library Catalog: https://catalog.library.ucla.edu/vwebv/searchBasic

Click on the "Advanced" tab.

In the Search: box, type in SCPC (SCPC is the identifier for "Southern California Punk Collection") and in the within pulldown menu, select Special Coll/Archive SPAC. Refer to the image below:

Library Catalog image illustrating how to locate punk materials

Click on Search at the bottom of the search page. You will be met with all of the punk-related results in the Library Catalog. It will look like the image below:

Results of the SCPC search in the UCLA Library Catalog.

Download Punk Zines for FREE!

circulation zero

Circulation Zero - Ryan Richardson is one of the United States’ foremost collectors, archivists, and dealers of punk rock records and ephemera. He describes Circulation Zero as "an experiment, my attempt to 'give back' by parlaying the preservation of some beloved punk publications into a greater good." Richardson's website allows you to download, FOR FREE, 29 issues of Slash, 14 issues of No Mag, 13 issues of Damage, and 14 issues of Dry.

Help Build the Collection!

Help us create a Los Angeles Punk Archive banner

 

BE A PART OF LOS ANGELES PUNK HISTORY!!

Library Special Collections is seeking donations of personal collections related to bands, venues, record labels, radio shows, record shops, punk houses, publications, and local scenes. These may include materials in various formats: photos, zines, audo recordings, film footage, oral histories, correspondence, tour diaries, flyers, posters, set lists, and other ephemera.

Material will be cared for and stored in accordance with best archival practices, and made accessible to students, researchers, and the community at large.

If you would like to make a donation, please submit the form in the box below.